We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in Vernazza!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camere Fontanavecchia
Ranked #7 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Value in Vernazza!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Looking for some tranquility in a Cinque Terre village that has become increasingly popular and crowded? Look no further than Camere Fontanavecchia, operated pleasantly by AnnaMaria Meregoni, with help from "Mama". We occupied the new (2 yrs. old) apartment on the ground floor. Modern and clean, with a nice kitchen and great bath! My wife prepared a great home-cooked pasta meal, a nice change from dining out! There is a nice small patio table and chairs just outside the door where I enjoyed my coffee and fresh pastries from nearby Il Pirata bar/restaurant run by the infamous "Canoli" brothers. One small drawback: the ducks and geese in the nearby brook are sometimes annoying. Thanks Annamaria and Mama for a nice visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    46
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

First, the story: On the day that we're suppose to leave from Vernazza to Rome (via La Spezia), there was a regional-wide train strike so that most of the trains were cancelled. The train from Venazza to La Spezia was cancelled, the ferry was not running due to high waves, there were -very- few taxis around and the price was going up by the minute. Annamaria first tried calling someone to drive us to La Spezia without success. She then walked down the main street with me trying to find friends who can drive my wife and I to the La Spezia train station, we finally had success and the guy drove us to the train station which took an hour.

The review of the B&B: Well, it's really just 1 B, because there's no included breakfast. This hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the Vernazza train station. There's a little brook between the street and the hotel and you can hear the water trickling. The room was nice and big, clean and simple. The bathroom was larger than expected. There is no AC, but the room is breezy if you open the windows (which could be a privacy issue if you're on the first floor facing the street). There were quite a few mosquitoes (both in the room and outside on the steets), so bring your OFF. The place is very quiet and you can't hear the train.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend in one of the triple rooms. Since we were busy visiting the local cities, we spent very little time in our room. However, the beds were comfortable, it was clean, and ideally situated for us (close to sea, train station, hiking trails, but not too close). I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiel045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I and our two small children (5 years and 11 months) stayed in one of Anna's rooms and loved every minute of it. Anna was very welcoming and the room was clean and waiting for us when we arrived. Vernazza is tiny but this was still in a good location. It is close to the park, which my older son loved. And the walk to the beach was lovely. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived in Vernazzy, but it ended up being the gem of our month in Europe!
We had a room with a bed and a roll away for our son. Our bathroom was down the hall, but it was private and huge. (My oldest son especially loved having a bidet and used it to wash the sand off his feet after being at the beach. He thought it was ideal and now wants one at our house.)
I'd stay here again and totally recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Camere Fontanavecchia di Anna Maria Meregoni is a lovely little refuge in Vernazza. Anna Maria speaks English and is welcoming without being intrusive. The four rooms are clean, bright and well situated, and come with access to a clothes line, which came in quite handy. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Three2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for three nights with my mother, and its the perfect place to stay in Vernazza. Annamaria was always fast replying to any e-mail enquiries I had prior to arrival, and we were greeted warmly by her mother when we reached Vernazza.

The room was clean, open, and spacious. The bed was comfortable, the fan worked great. We had a kettle with two mugs and tea, and a mini fridge which was a nice touch. Being half way through our trip we did some laundry and were able to hang it on the rack provided out the bathroom window. In general, the room felt like Annamaria put a lot of time and pride into her rooms and we felt very welcome here.

The location is great as well, with the true benefit being no stairs to climb to your room - a rare find in Vernazza. The little creek wtih ducks added to the charm of the place, and although they could get loud at nights I didn't find it interrupted my sleep at all. We visited Il Pirata for breakfast every day since it was right across the street and the pastries are amazing.

I've stayed at a different location in Vernazza in the previous year so I do have some comparison, and I would return without hesitation to Annamaria's rooms if given the choice. The location cannot be beat, and all the little touches that Annamaria has added (kettle, fridge) truly made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Europe_Bound_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

When we arrived at Camere Fontanavecchia we were greeted by "Mamma di AnaMaria". She didnt speak a lot of English but recieved us very warmly nonetheless. The rooms themselves are just near the train station - we were glad not to have to drag anything uphill! It is also just across from the amazing Il Pirata cafe where you must go for the best Sicilian breakfast pastries. Despite being central to everything and a skip away from the beach it was very quiet at night. There was a ceiling fan which was nearly as good as air conditioning and the beds were comfortable, we also had a fridge! Only downsides are that the rooms are somewhat on the small side, but still sufficient and there are no flyscreens, one of our towels was also a bit dirty. Bathrooms were private but across the hall. We paid 70 for 2 per night, very good value! If youre looking for something with character and convenience, but not a luxury resort, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngtrepidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.7 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#29 of 40 in Vernazza
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere Fontanavecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Fontanavecchia

Property: Camere Fontanavecchia
Address: Via Giovan Battista Gavino 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Camere Fontanavecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere Fontanavecchia Di Annamaria Meregoni Hotel Vernazza
Camere Fontanavecchia Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing