We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memory of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belforte

Belforte
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Vernazza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memory of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The restaurant was packed the day we arrived for lunch. Gorgeous weather, and we didn't mind waiting the ten minutes for an outdoor table. Our waiter, Andre, was so incredibly accommodating, helpful, and FUN!!!!. We ordered a house white wine, and shared the pasta pomodoro and the salt encrusted bass.

We had great food, great atmosphere, met fabulous people .... including our waiter and the American couple sitting at the adjacent table. A picture perfect lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spotlight0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    312
    100
    53
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch...it was excellent. Make sure to make a reservation though, the place was packed. The staff was so helpful and we were seated at a table right on the cliff. Food was delicious. A memorable lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Views & Dining Excellence in Vernazza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not only did we have an incredible weather day in Vernazza, but our last dinner here was extra special. We started with mussels in marinara sauce. We did not know the wines of the region, so we ordered the house white. It was fine. My wife ordered the Trofie pasta with pesto and I had the Sea Bass encrusted in sea salt. The waiter de-boned the fish, removing the skin and salt, and it was excellent. My wife also enjoyed the pasta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our very entertaining waiter helped us out by telling us what to order: Hot seafood salad "Vernazza" style, Trofie al pesto, fresh local pasta in a pesto sauce (my husband's dish. I had a bite and it was very good), Spaghetti "Bruno" style with seafood in a tomato sauce (this was my dish and it was delicious!!). We had to order the mixed grilled fish since everyone else around us was eating it. Of course we enjoyed the house white wine. Even though we had to sit inside due to the weather, the inside of the tower is still very beautiful! I would definitely recommend eating at Belforte!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap - mediocre food and disorganized service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The only diners here were other American tourists and Asian tourists - that should have been a sign. The food is mediocre. Not terrible, but any U.S. city with a decent Italian population will have better food. Service was not well trained and was disorganized. View was good, but hey, you can get the same by getting a gelato and sitting in the harbor.

An example of why the service was bad: I tried making a reservation by email but never got a response. So we arrived early at 6:40, 20 minutes before opening. There were like six staff around but none of them wanted to respond about whether my resi had gone through. If you don't like customers, don't work in hospitality! By the time the resto opened, there were about 15 other customers confused and milling about with no hostess to direct them or answer questions.

Then throughout the meal, our server forgot a bunch of things. He left without giving us menus when we were seated - we had to grab them from the menu pile ourselves. He didn't set a fork, so we had to grab one ourselves after our entrees came. Etc etc. Oh, and the food was only mediocre! Will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank chenj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belforte also viewed

 

Been to Belforte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing