We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air”

Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Vernazza
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed September 17, 2015

We were so gald that this cafe was near our less-than-perfect apartment, Le Terrazze. It became our little oasis for our 5 days. It is a sort of local meeting point at all hours of the day and evening and Massimo and Gianluca were always on hand to advise. We ate a lunch, a breakfast, a full dinner and a takeaway dinner from here. The food is simple but tasty and homemade. Value and atmosphere are excellent. You will smile here, no matter how tired you are from travelling or hiking.
We loved the huge cappuccini cups and the utterly delicious pastries. This cafe deserves it's reputation and is a breath of fresh air among the souvenir tea-towels and crowded touristy shops which make up a fair amount of the town. It is worth walking up the hill to this point and being able to breathe.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 648 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2015

We were instantly welcomed into the restaurant by a wonderful host who told us delightful stories, entertained us with his personality and actually took the time to settle us and welcome us (not our normal international experience). He then recommended dishes for us and that's what we ordered. The food was delicious and we followed it up with a shared dessert.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heiferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

We loved the brothers! They were so kind and funny! We ate breakfast here every day we stayed in Vernazza and dinner once. They even opened early to accommodate our train plans on the last day. Wonderful homemade pastries, cappuccino, and great fresh squeezed juice. Ask for a recommendation and take it--Massimo will not steer you wrong!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank btc822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

We didnt have a reservation but we got a table. The service here is good, left and right hands know what they are doing.

We were recommended everything and we took his suggestions for all and were not disappointed. Lasagne meat sauce. Risotto mushroom. Mixed seafood. Mixed salad. Canoli with chocolate.and ricotta and mixed berries Panna Cota, glass of red all for euro 64. Great value. So full. So good. He talked to every table and made sure all were looked after.

Saw his double come out of the kitchen. Knew they were twins. Don't bother with the ones by the piazza by the water. This place.is at the top by the car park. Forget the views and come for better food at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

We eat lunch in this place, the pasta was really ok... The firs he ask you is where you are from, then after After looking in my plate, and saying that only Israelis eat pasta with sea sea food and parmigiano, after he was aggressively pushing every body to take the dessert, when we said that we want the check, and don't want the dessert, he decided to say that Israelis are terrible... Rude man, with aggressive selling method! Looking at you as a euro, and offends you, don't come here!!! He doesn't deserve your money, very bad hospitality.

Date of visit: September 2015
5  Thank T7973LD_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing