We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Vernazza
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place! We thought it was a hokey bar when we saw it while doing laundry next door, the pirate out front gives that impression. But, so far the best food and service we've had in Italy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    263
    80
    44
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Entertaining Owners”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The twin Sicilian brothers that run this place are a riot. We had a lot of fun with them. They speak English (and Spanish) very well and made sure we felt comfortable.

Their breakfasts are fantastic as they make an incredible variety of fresh pastries. They have a hot chocolate dessert that's served with ice cream (basically a hot fudge sundae) that is amazing. Their cannolis are also delicious -- I'd stick with the ricotta filled one as the cream-filled was a little too sweet for us.

Also, never tell them that you ate an 'American breakfast' at Blue Marlin. They'll lecture you forever on how you should eat Italian while in Italy. :)

We also had dinner here and the food was very delicious. I had a lasagne al pesto and it's to die for. After all, pesto's birthplace is found within the region.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, friendly entertaining staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we first arrived we were lost and even with tables to attend to they helped us find our hotel we didn't even need to ask!

The twins that run this place are so passionate about food, it radiates through the food, the restaurant and the overall service. We were lucky enough to have this restaurant at the front of our accommodation. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of our stay, all were exceptional and we were even given free samples of the food to try. They also made such an effort to get to know all of the customers, will return again some day! This place is unmissable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fffades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ristorante Panoramico”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Dropping down the hiking trail into Vernazza from Corniglia, you will come to "Ristorante Panoramico" hanging on the cliffs high above the city. Have a seat and enjoy this million dollar view of the city and coastline. Amazing!,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendliest Service and Great Food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here for both breakfast and dinner while staying in Vernazza. The twins who run the place were the friendliest people we met the whole time in Italy. He took the time to "make friends" with each and every table, yet still have prompt service and amazing food. The pastries were melt-in-your-mouth good. The gnocci was also great. It is a little ways off the main road, but worth the very short walk. Make it a priority to find this place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing