We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Amazing Room”
Review of La Marina Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Marina Rooms
Ranked #5 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Amazing Room”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We loved everything about this room. Hanging on the edge of the cliff over the sea, you can enjoy the views in your room or out on the balcony. It's incredible to fall asleep to the waves crashing below and wake up to the same sound. We took advantage of our balcony and spent as much time out there as possible. Everything was clean and comfortable.

There is not wifi, but I agree with the reviewers who say you don't need it here. It was a good forced break for us to disconnect. And, while I was reluctant to go without internet for two nights I'm honestly really glad we did.

We were prepared for a painful hike to get to our room, but after spending several days in Umbria and Tuscany, we arrived at our room and both said "that wasn't so bad". Yes, there are stairs and yes you must climb up, but the walk is not very long from the train station.

Note: we had the room with the "private terrace". It's private in the sense that you have wonderfully comfortable chairs with nice cushions that the other guests are not allowed to use. However, you are still sharing the terrace with other guests who can enjoy and share the other side. Was not an issue for us but I thought may be important to some guests, private may mean different things to different people!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    38
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
125
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in the apartment on Piazza Marconi. Access is via a few of sets of stairs and the view looks over the harbour and piazza. The apartment is nicely decorated,the bed was comfortable and the kitchen was quite well provisioned, although could use wine glasses and a new frypan.

Christian was very helpful and gave us tips on the best walks. Our favourite - take the train to Manarola and then the local bus up the hill (leaves from the Post Office - you can check with one when you buy your ticket at the Information Office near the train station), then it's a downhill walk through vineyards and wonderful views to Corniglia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We rented a small room with an ocean front deck for 2 nights. Cristian met us at the train station within 5 minutes of our arrival and carried our bag up the many steps to our room. He gave us great information on hiking the higher trails around Cinque Terre. The room was small, but big enough for us, and the view from and comfort of the deck was unbeatable. We also liked the big window in the room that opened to the deck. It was great for passing items in and out, and we enjoyed sleeping with the sound of the waves crashing in. We recommend these rooms. Cristian is a great host.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscoe1695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We're so glad we finished our stay in Italy here in the apartment on the Piazza Marconi. It was so nice to have the extra living room with sofa and small table and chairs, plus the kitchenette. We loved the window opening onto the square, with the view of the church, and the harbour. Christian was very helpful with tips about the area, including some hiking suggestions which we're so glad we followed and great tips on the best eateries. We didn't find the steps to the apartment to be a problem as they were broken up into shorter flights and Christian helped with the bags.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

After doing our own research on Trip Advisor, we went with La Marina Rooms and are very happy that we did. The room was perfect for our 3-night stay in Vernazza and we'd probably rent the same place if we went back to the Cinque Terre area. We had "Room N2," which had a fantastic view of the ocean, including a little balcony to sit outside and drink wine. We also appreciated that it was away from the town square area, so it's quiet and peaceful at night. Christian was very helpful leading up to and during our stay in Vernazza. Note: the room we stayed required walking up a fair amount of steps, so keep that in mind if you have physical limitations. In general, we'd recommend staying in Vernazza over the other towns of Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Room N2 is small and only fit for a couple, but has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We loved our stay in Vernazza! Christian was really helpful and friendly. We were told to tell him our arrival time, which WE messed up, so when we got to Vernazza, we found someone and asked if they knew Christian. They pointed us to someone who knew Chrstian and called him for us. He met us immediately and helped carry our bags up the many, many steps to the room. The location of the rooms could not be more picturesque. The room was simple, but clean and relatively comfortable. We loved having the balcony overlooking the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjbean4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in the family apartment that sleeps up to 6. It was full of space, beautiful light and had a kitchen for cooking.

Centrally located in Vernazza - walking location to the port, church, restaurants and shops.

Decorated in a traditional, rustic style. The windows faced the water and we could hear the soothing waves all day.

Christian met us at the train station and helped carry our bags, as the apartments are 3 to 4 flights of narrow stone stairs. As this is a family owned business, Christian was extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#11 of 43 in Vernazza
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 43 in Vernazza
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#30 of 43 in Vernazza
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Rooms

Property: La Marina Rooms
Address: Via delle ,19018, Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
La Marina Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre
La Marina Rooms Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing