We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Marina Rooms
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Vernazza
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Porto Roca(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pasquale(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Colonnina Hotel(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moretto(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Hotel Stella della Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Margherita(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Steno(Monterosso al Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
148
39
9
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
39
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomtrain stationbalcony overlooking the oceancinque terrebed was pretty hardshared balconyfull kitchentwo nightshelped carry our luggagethe perfect hostthe cliffgreat suggestionsan amazing viewsound of the wavesmain bedroomfalling asleepin town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 202 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and i stayed 3 nights in May 2012. We enjoyed almost everything about our stay. The views from our room and from the balcony are wonderful. Christian is a very nice and accommodating host. The only negative of our stay was the mattress, definitely could use an upgrade. The town of Vernazza is still recovering from the flood last fall and many shops are still not open, but it looked like most were close to reopening. The fresh produce and meat/ cheese vendors at the Tuesday market in town were great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at La Marina Rooms in October for two nights just a few days before the terrible storms and floods. Our train reservation was cancelled because of the strikes however we could arrive in to town at midnight. Christian met us at the train station at midnight and escorted us to our room. We were in the room facing the town which provided great views of the colorful buildings. We did get a chance to see the other room, and wow what an amazing view. All guests can enjoy the balcony and its amazing views of the sea.

As for service Christian is a very hospitable inn keeper. He had some amazing stories of the places he has traveled to all over the world. I hope he and Vernazza will soon recover from the storms.

Room Tip: Pack lightly; there are a lot of steps up to your room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmezik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is more of a message for Christian than a review - however we absolutely loved our stay at La Marina in July 2010 - we look at the photos often and remember the stunning beauty of Vernazza. We were so upset when we heard the news about the flooding. Christian, we hope you and yours are OK now and we send all best wishes to the lovely people we met there. It was truly a magical place on our European trip and we very much look forward to returning sometime. You are all in our thoughts. Rob, Belinda and Jan, New Zealand.

Room Tip: The steps might seem a bit daunting when you first arrive - however you get used to them and the view from your room that awaits when you get there is well worth the climb. Best room is the one facing out onto the Ligurian Sea - especially at night with a full moon while you sip red wine on the balcony! However, the room that faces the village is also lovely so it's a win-win situation!
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is an incredible spot! We will never forget sitting on the balcony, drinking wine and watching the sun set over the shimmering Mediterranean. It will always be one of our fondest memories! The only reason not to stay here is if you are unable to climb stairs (there are a LOT of them). Otherwise, you don't want to miss this special spot in a comfortable room (we had room 2) and a very gracious and helpful host (Christian). We enjoyed every minute in this beautiful village!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Overall, I'd say this was a good place to stay, However, and it's a big however, there were a few things which made the stay unenjoyable enough to not stay there again without significant changes. Most of all, the bed was AWFUL!! It was a thin mattress laid on top of a frame. All we could feel were springs in the bed underneath us. Prior to our arrival, we requested (in a special section set aside for such requests) that we be provided extra pillows. When we arrived, upon request, we received one pillow which was as flat as a pancake. We then requested another. We then received a poor imitation of a pillow in a pillowcase - from where it's hard to say. It was like a throw-away from a hospital. We also had the extreme disadvantage of being in Vernazza during the awful flooding/rushing waters and almost lost our lives.
Upon our arrival, the caretaker, Christian, was initially very helpful trying to assist us with luggage, etc. After our escape from the flooding, he was so very helpful to us and led us to the 'castle' for food, drink, etc. The next day, however, when we were hoping to stay a little longer to help the townspeople with the clean-up (and to utilize my skills as a Registered Nurse, if needed), Christian rushed us to pack quickly to get out, and even though this may have been necessary, his attitude and yelling at us during the process was not. I understand his stress as his village had been destroyed, but his attitude and actions that day were uncalled for. He became beligerent and ugly with us and I told him so.
I would say that in the future I will not be seeking these accomodations. For others, perhaps it is fine, but I prefer a proprietor who is more personable, and a bed that is more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you have a hard time with stairs, stay somewhere else. It's a looooong climb!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronandrobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews