We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 2nd time staying here was just as good”
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My 2nd time staying here was just as good”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

was given a chance to go back to italy again, so i jumped at the thought. we were going to florence, and there was no way i wasn't going back to riomaggiore and la baia di rio. this time we were with another couple and we got to stay in 3 different rooms while there. i can now brag that i have stayed at least 1 night in each room there. Emiliano and his mother are such great hosts. we have nothing to complain about. if you come to riomaggiore you must stay here. (be sure to take the elevator from train station)

if you want any pics please email me, im not at my home computer.
GREAT GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    96
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
261
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Wouldn't stay anywhere else ... This place was fantastic and the hospitality couldn't have been better. We arrived on a train and lost our directions to get to the hotel and it was after dark. We had sent Emiliano our arrival information and he came looking for us - we never would have found it if he hadn't! The village is absolutely charming and we couldn't have had better hospitality. Emiliano explained everything to us in great English and was so nice to us. Definitely get a sea view room - it is more than worth the price. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere better than this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecinqueterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This was, the family said, a new room (separate from La Baia di Rio, same owners), located on the first floor below the family's residence. The room itself was really big - the largest we stayed in this trip - with a private terrace with a view of the sea, and an even more immediate view of the clock tower, which was right in front of our faces :) It is a quiet location, located above the city centre, with 144 steps (my friend counted) down to the main street. Perhaps because the first floor is enclosed with stone walls, but the room was a bit damp and cool - we only stayed two nights and the room wasn't cleaned during the day, so the towels the next night were clammy. This might be an advantage in the summer, though! It was convenient having the family right upstairs; if we needed anything we just ran up and knocked, which we had to do because there was no soap. Just a word of advice to anyone not travelling with a cell phone - Emiliano had asked us to call when we arrived at the train station, and it was a bit of work finding a pay phone (in the pouring rain, no less) which you actually have to buy a calling card to use, the cheapest of which was 5 euro. Good value for 90 euro/night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed in the Marco Polo Suite and loved it. Unforunately, the weather wasn't great so we couldn't enjoy the deck as much as we would have hoped but the view was spectacular and I imagine it would be a great place to relax on a beautiful day. I think we tested the limits of the space with two adults, one teen and one almost-teen, but it stood up to the challenge! Very clean, comfortable, close to good restaurants. We dealt with Emiliano's mother who was welcoming, helpful and charming.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripchick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed in the Marco Polo Suite. Breathtaking view and a very clean and spacious room. Emiliano was great with advice on the area as well as tips on where to eat. He took care of our car when we arrived and couldn't have been more helpful. The balcony was a perfect place to sit and have a glass of wine and some other treats we bought in town. After a day of hiking the trails it was the perfect spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjmdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Emeliano met my daughter (who was studying at the University of Siena) and I at the train at around dusk. We ascended a beautiful ramp, walkway to the room, which had a terrace overlooking the gorgeous Mediterranean. Cinque Terre showed her incredible charm as we hiked the sea trail through it's five lands, starting at our hotel and then returning by train. My husband was frantic to hear if I made it alive and Emeliano's mother graciously sent e-mail of our safety. Incredible journey!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynditravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We booked the Abel Tasman room but due to a cancellation we could stay in the famous Marco Polo suite.When we arrived the weather was wonderful.It is very easy to reach.At the station to your left ,take the lift walk a 200m and you arrived.Very friendly owners they would go out of their way to help or inform you.
Thank s to Emiliano and his mother.I wished we saw you when we checked out.
Christiane and Jean

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsWhatthen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Property: La Baia di Rio
Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing