We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Wonderful service.”
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just left Riomaggiore this morning and would highly recommend staying at La Baia di Rio. It's a great location in the heart of the gorgeous town. Our room had a lovely deck with gorgeous views, a kitchenette, bathroom, and fairly comfortable bed. The proprietor was so warm and friendly, very attentive, and extremely helpful. Upon our arrival she gave us recommendations on how to plan our stay, told us about the town, and made dinner recommendations for us. I would recommend this place to any of my friends and family. Note that it is a fairly simple and quaint place, but totally worth the trade off for the breathtaking views.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 404 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our favorite spot in our entire Italy trip. You will not find a better view in Cinque Terre, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners was an added perk. We stayed in the Abel Tasman room, which was a great room and very nice bathroom. Sitting out on the balcony overlooking the town and water and seeing everyone in the town out on their balconies cannot be beat. I will be recommending friends to stay here for a long, long time. Thanks for making our honeymoon more special.

Room Tip: The Abel Tasman room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDC1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location was wonderful and the hosts were friendly and helpful. Because of the view I would actually say that this is the BEST place to stay in Riomaggiore, but book early.

Only very small downside was no kettle or way of heating water for a cuppa - and if there are guests in the upstairs rooms the noise seems to travel through quite loud.

But frankly I would choose this place again so those are really small issues.

Room Tip: I had the front room of the Abel Tasman section which had a lovely view. The back room has a simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from two nights here. Great location in Christopher Columbus rooms. A one and half bedroom with nice size bathroom. But the best is the view from balcony. Emiliano is a great host and offers lots of suggestions for your time there. Extra bonus is parking at a locked garage. Suggested was Cila for dinner and it was excellent. We liked the octopus carpaccio as a starter and tuna for dinner. A great location for outdoor dining. Beautiful sunset. Go during off season to really enjoy. Bella!

Room Tip: Read descriptions See pictures.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Could not have asked for a better stay - except more time in Riomaggiore!! What a beautiful hidden paradise in Italy. My husband and I booked the Marco Polo suite. You feel like you are sleeping in the sky, and at night the sound of the waves makes for a peaceful night's sleep.

The Innkeeper was a lovely woman who was so welcoming. She greeted us upon arrival. She also recommended restaurants and other attractions for the 5 cities. Had the internet set up for us. The wifi isn't the best, but its fine for looking up quick directions or train schedules.

Room Tip: The Marco Polo suite books up fast and is a little pricey. Totally worth it though if you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastside08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

First, don't stay in Riomaggiori. Restaurants tend to overcharge and under-deliver. Marcella at the Baia di Rio works hard to accomodate guests by picking up guests at the train station and offering restaurant suggestions, but don't expect a regular hotel room. Prepare for 1) a 10 to 15 minute uphill hike carrying your luggage through a cobblestone road looking for the hotel from the train station unless you arrange for a pick -up; 2) a very, VERY small shower; 3) sheer window curtains that do not offer privacy; 4) a 10 minute walk to get a cup of coffee in the morning. The hotel does not offer any services beyond a room to sleep. A dissapointment for us. If you must visit Cinque Terre, a better bet would be to find a room at Monterossa or Vernazza.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mariccabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were staying at Christopher Columbus, view the sea at right and city at front and left on balcony. A very lovely view. The quiet yet vigorously city viewed on bed when wake up is great. The host is thoughtful and helpful. We are specially grateful to her help on our big luggages as we travelled city to city one way, coming from Hong Kong, and we arrived around 9-ish pm as our booked earlier train has just cancelled last minute when we were waiting on platform!! After few calls updating our situation, she picked us up near station exit and sent us to the place, told us the direction to dining places. Walked-in to La Lampara, food is great and want to come back for the Pesce al Forno (sea bream in tomato sauce) and the fish soup! The dinner place Dau Cila suggested by the host is absolutely great and highlight of our tour of Cinque Terre, with stunning sea view, great food and wine, and excellent service.

Room Tip: Check out their website to choose the room and view you like, clear info!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing