We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, nice rooms, nice landlord.”
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views, nice rooms, nice landlord.”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My wife and I traveled with two other couples in Oct. 2010 and La Baia was one of many highlights of our trip. We called Maristella when we arrived and she quickly came over to let us into our rooms and provide us with info and tips on the town and the area. The rooms are clean and efficient, not really old or quaintly charming like you might expect from the building itself, but the balconies provide beautiful views of the town and the sea. Some rooms were smaller but the Marco Polo suite was large enough for six of us to gather and enjoy snacks and drinks on the balcony. Be aware that you will have to walk a ways with luggage (the elevator was out when we arrived) but the walkway overlooks the sea so how bad can it be? This isn't really a hotel but actually the home where Maristella was born split up into rooms and suites. So there's no front desk or manager on site. Riomaggiore is a great base for seeing the Cinque Terre but if you want a regular hotel just steps from the train or a beach you may prefer Montorosso.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninebelow0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    96
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
261
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Although we had an idea of our itinerary for the 2 days, Emiliano helped us poor first-timers with advice that saved us time and money. He also reviewed our restaurant choices, and endorsed Billy's in Manarola, but had alternate suggestions for others. We were quite fortunate-weather was sunny and warm enough, given the extensive walking. One drawback: elevator was not working, but Emiliano met us at the train station on our day of departure, with our suitcase, so we wouldn't have to go up the hill again!
Views from B&B fantastic-all in all, a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericoFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed in the James Cook suite in May and never actually saw Emiliano but his Mom Maristella was quite welcoming and checking in often. Although the room itself was small, the large balcony offered terrefic seaside and hillside views of the dramatic Mediterranean coastline.

When arriving by train, be sure to take the elevator to the trail otherwise you're in for steep climb and it is quite a few steps to get down to the waterfront - but in exchange you are rewarded with amazing views from your hilltop perch.

If you're looking for clean, safe, basic accomodation this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmartha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed here in July and as soon as we stepped out onto the balcony we were taken back by the amazing views of the Med. and the beautiful village. The room was nice, although quite basic, no air con., no safe or TV and it felt quite clean. The only negative, was the very dark corridor that we had to go through to get to our room, it felt a bit like entering into somebody's house. We also felt that as there was no safe in the room, it was best to bring our valuables with us.

On the whole, good value for money with the views the best bit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We learned of this location from Trip Advisor, and can confirm all the acolades written by everyone. The views from the balconies are incredible, as are Emiliano and his mom. We drove in to town and were met by Emiliano who backed our car along a walkway to nearly the front door and then garaged it for us during our two night stay. They only take cash, which is fine considering the value received. Bring your good sneakers as it's 197 stairs down to the water, and staying here is worth every step back up. From here, we easily hiked the entire trail in 6 hours, including 1 hr for lunch mid-way, and took the ferry back, in 15 - 20 minutes! Be sure to watch the sunset from the rocks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLCROBERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This was our second visit to La Baia di Rio and it won't be our last. We love staying here as the rooms are clean and spacious with modern large bathrooms. The views from the balconies and windows are spectacular and staying here makes you feel like you are part of the Riomaggiore itself. But best of all are Maristella and Emiliano ( her son ). They are more than helpful with arrivals, luggage, parking, recommendations and any basic needs you may have. Maristella is close by and is always checking to make sure you have what is needed in your room. Emiliano takes care of reservations and is more then helpful to try and accomodate your travel and room needs. A trip for us to the Cinque Terre would not be complete unless we stay at La Baia di Rio. Not just for the location but for the friendship of Maristella and Emiliano!!!! Thank you both for making our visits to Cinque Terre perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC-SnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

2 nights in September 2010

Pros
Owner (Emiliano) picked us up from the station and brought us to the accommodation. The accommodation is perched high up on the hill – you need to head straight up (northward) the moderately straight road (do not head through the tunnel). The lift was out of order whilst we were there – and has been for a month. – about 10-12min walk from the train station.
We stayed at the Amerigo Vespucci room – it does not have a view of the water, however, everywhere else in cinque terra the view is fantastic. Some of the other rooms have a balcony and minor cooking facilities. I managed to look at a few rooms at checkout (you leave the key on the door before you go) and the rooms with a seaview are excellent!! (Marco polo room is huge!). I would go for a sea view room next time!
Very large rooms/bathroom
Small mini bar fridge provided and bottle opener provided.

Cons
Perched up on a hill – only takes a minute to get to town centre – down steps. Coming back is a climb and easy to get lost if you don’t remember the route. Alternatively if you don’t want to use the steps you can walk around to the church and down the main strip.
No Airconditioner, but sea breeze comes in the early afternoon, and it cools down rapidly. No problems here.
Walls a not fully sound proof.
Church clock chimes every hour – not too sure during the night, but affects the whole town, not just this accommodation.

Overall a superb find in Riomaggiore. Great view from up above. Very reasonable price and large room/spaces. Host very helpful. Great walk from Riomaggiore to Manarola (Via Dell’ Amore) 15min very flat which you can access with a Cinque Terra Card or free after about 7.30pm. Food readily available in Riomaggiore and all other 4 towns. Not as busy as Monterosso which is very touristy.

*In response to user '4four'. What did you expect from a small coastal town? Sure it is not 5 star accommodation. The view is fantastic though! The owner was very helpful (and infact told us to take the ferry instead of walking the trail during our 2 day stay!). The walk from Riomaggiore to Manarola and Corniglia is not too strenous (the steps up to Corniglia is the hardest seciton - rest is fairly flat). From Corniglia to Vernazza and Monterosso is a little more difficult. I am not exactly 'fit' but it wasnt that bad. Yes good shoes are required and it will take around 2 hours - but the view is worth it. There were lots of 50/60 Year Olds doing the walk - yes exerting but not extremely difficult. I do agree with the train station attendants being absolutely useless at giving train information. Information centre is useful for local trains/ferry times (there is a print out you can take).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Property: La Baia di Rio
Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing