We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment, wonderful hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaLorenza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasaLorenza
Ranked #3 of 31 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, wonderful hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed three days in Lorenza's place, I'm the Nettuno apartment. It was lovely, spotless, comfortable bed, great air conditioning for the very hot days we were there, above the bustle of the crowded town. Shade to sit in, a well equipped kitchen, and absolutely charming attentive hostess. You could not ask for better. She speaks English well, met us on the road to take us to a parking spot, her husband helped us with the bags, she brought fresh croissant and focaccia every morning, gave great suggestions for adventures and was a delight to deal with. Not intrusive but always ready to help.. If you go, don't miss renting kayaks and taking a picnic lunch to the beach with the waterfall. She will tell you where.
Kato and Charles.

Room Tip: Was no way to remove the swimming pool and fitness comments, but there are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kato109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
212
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is as good as the reviews say! Lorenza meets you at the station and she helps you with your bags up through the quaint little town. We had just ridden on the train from 10 hours so we were so happy to get there and we couldn't imagine a better way to arrive. We stayed in the Venere room, it was clean, well decorated and had the most breathtaking view i've ever seen. A perfect vista of the town and the water. Breakfast is not included, but Lorenza stuck a bag with fresh croissants and foccacia bread on our door each morning. The room as a coffee/espresso machine and really does have a comfortable feeling to it. The room is just a short hop down th steps to the city centre which is amazing. Casalorenza is amazing and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed in the apartment Nettuno at Casa Lorenza, and it is beautiful. Riomaggiore is a wonderful place to stay in the Cinque Terre, and Casa Lorenza is a wonderful place to say in Riomaggiore. The apartment is lovely, and the view of the town and the sea is breathtaking. But the best part is Lorenza, who treats her guests as if they are family visiting from out of town. She is attentive without being intrusive, and we truly felt like family by the time we left. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Cinque Terre if we are fortunate enough to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment, which was lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLEG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lorenza is super kind and friendly, picking us to and fro the train station, helping us with our luggage, providing us the yummiest focaccia and croissants for breakfast! She gave excellent seafood restaurant recommendations Dau Cila & La Grotta, both serve extremely the freshest seafood dishes. Riomaggiore is one of the most beautiful town I have ever been to! You are the star of Cinque Terre! Watch your fatigue and worries melt away as you relax at the balcony enjoying the spectacular sea view! Love everything about Caza Lorenza- its cleanliness, adorable sea decor touches and most of all, its dear sweet host, Lorenza herself!

Room Tip: The Venere room with the sea view is simply breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 497kristinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lorenza was amazing as was this accommodation. Every morning there would be a bag of pastries on our door. She told us where to eat, where to do our walks etc. we had lots of bags and a car took our luggage up to our room. Our washing was hung up over the patio and it rained and she hung it up properly so it would dry. Nothing was too much trouble. Telling everyone who goes to Riomaggiore to stay here. Love you Lorenza!

Room Tip: All rooms are a little different but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
147 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pretty much all the other reviews say the same things (all good) and they are all correct. First - Lorenza met us at the train station and even though it was a holiday and cars weren't allowed to drive that day, she still insisted on lugging our luggage up to the Casa Lorenza. It is a bit of a walk if you take the street and not the steep steps, but it's so nice there it's worth it. We stayed in the Venere room and the views were just like the pictures - amazing and the balcony was a great place to sit and eat/dirnk/watch the views. Retractable awning was a nice touch, although it was (even fully retracted!) loud when a storm came through our last night there (no one's fault, but it was loud). Lorenza did bring us the welcome beers and brought us the warm croissants for breakfast - they were great with the coffee/espresso you could make from the machine in the room. Room and bathroom were both good size and clean. The vestibule to the three units does have a laptop computer and a cell phone for the guests to use which is really nice - although there were a couple of times Lorenza was nice enough to just make the calls for us - to the restaurant or boat ticket office for example, she was so very helpful.

Getting back into town was a lot easier, you could take the steep set of steps down and within a few minutes be right in the middle of the town. We would walk down those each day and go back up via the street. We wanted to hike to the other villages but the trail was closed so we opted to take the boat between all the villages - what a great way to see the Cinque Terre - from the water. Lorenza even offerred to drive us to a small town just to the North of Corniglia for the day - she is such a welcoming host - but we decided to boat to the other Quattro of the Terre. It was always great to get back to Casa Lorenza for the evening - we would get something take out at one of the restaurants or stores in town and eat out on the balcony - what a great way to enjoy a meal with that view!

She took us back down to the train station (again we had to walk since it was a Sunday and cars aren't allowed, but Lorenza insisted again on taking our luggage down for us) and we talked for a while - her English is better than I thought it would be, but definitely a plus if you speak Italian - we were able to have some really nice discussions that way. Great stay, gracious host, and wonderful view (and all things considered this place was fairly quiet for Riomaggiore) - would absolutely stay here again if in the area, and would recommend it to anyone going to Cinque Terre. Riomaggiore to me seemed like the least touristy and nicest of the 5 towns in which to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We arrived in Riomaggiore by train from Siena for two nights at this beautiful B&B. Lorenza, the owner, gave us such a nice welcome by meeting us at the train, pointing out some of the sights in her hometown and then offering us a beer once we got settled in. We stayed in the Daphne room which has a balcony overlooking the town - you don't get an ocean view but we enjoyed watching all the activity in this beautiful town. The room was spacious, very nicely decorated with a private bath and absolutely spotless. The expresso machine also provides hot water for tea and all the condiments are supplied for several cups of both coffee and tea. If you ask, Lorenza will provide you with fresh croissants in the morning. There is also a small fridge which is very handy. There was an English news channel on the television which was the first we came across on our trip.
The location is very close to the main street - be prepared for a lot of stairs, but you can take the road down instead, which gives you a nice walk through the town. Lorenza and her husband offered to help us carry our bags down to the main street when we were leaving. They live right next door and leave you a phone in the B&B to contact them if needed.
The trails between the five towns were closed on our visit, but we had just as nice a time taking the train, getting off at each one and walking around - beautiful sights and views in all five. We were really happy we chose the first town to stay in - some of the trains don't stop in the middle towns. The next stop on our trip was Florence and the connections were good from Riomaggiore. Plus we wouldn't have experienced the wonderful hospitality of CasaLorenza if we had chosen one of the other towns!
Italy can be very expensive and this B&B provides very good value for your money - very comfortable and safe - just like home. Thank you so much Lorenza!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farmerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinqueterre Residence
Cinqueterre Residence
#2 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 31 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaLorenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaLorenza

Property: CasaLorenza
Address: Via di Loca, Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wonderful village of Riomaggiore, in line with the environmental quality brand, CasaLorenza offers you a relaxing and joyful stay in a newly built structure, surrounded by greenery, placed in the center of the village, ten minutes by foot from the rail way station, parking and the sea. We have three customized rooms, with attention to detail, private bathroom, heating, air conditioning, Sat TV, refrigerator, and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casalorenza Hotel Riomaggiore
CasaLorenza Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing