We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”

Affittacamere Patrizia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Affittacamere Patrizia
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hostel overbooked, forcing us to move to a room a few blocks away the next morning (not a huge deal). We waited and waited to be able to switch rooms and fix their mistake, and we finally arrive in a somewhat decent room (looks like someone's spare bedroom with 6 cots). Found out there are no locks to the room's door, or even to the front door of the house! I went to speak with the manager who told me to learn how to read better (though English is MY native language, not his). He yelled and screamed at me, telling me he didn't care if I wrote a bad review online, his hostel would always be full anyway. Show him an empty hostel, and that customer service really DOES matter!!!! We ended up leaving Cinque Terre and paying for another hostel to stay at even though we'd already paid for this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephhanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    8
    11
    20
See reviews for
3
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Apparently there are different apartments rented out by this agent, so other experiences may vary greatly. I was worried reading bad reviews, but it's high season and we didn't start looking for hotels until most were filled. We booked a private room for 4. The person who showed the room was pleasant, but kept one of our passports as security until we paid cash the next day. The room is by the harbor. There were a number of stairs to negotiate on the way to the building, but I later found an easier way to walk there (via the ramp by La Lanterna restaurant and across the school playground). The room is actually only two flights up, but the stairs are steep, making it more difficult to climb, particularly with suitcases. The room was clean, with a decent toilet, sink and bidet in one room and a decent shower in another room (with hot water but iffy water pressure). There is a mini-fridge, a kitchen sink and 2 glasses, 2 knives and 1 plate. There were pillows, sheets, towels, soaps and outlets. There's no air conditioner, but there's a rotating fan. There are 4 beds (2 put together as a double) and little extra space inside. It was uncomfortably hot to sleep until about 2am, then it was fine. The best part is the porch. It's big, with a table and chairs and a view of the harbor and the hills. It was delightful to sit there and have a "Rear Window"-type experience in the morning and to relax there at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I (age late 20's early 30's) enjoyed our stay here. Arrived by train to the Riomaggiore station, and walked 10 min to the office (easy to find). Met with Luciano and he walked us up hill to our guest house (~10 min). Not bad of a walk uphill with backpacks. Nice clean room with great view, clean shared bathroom (hot shower). Free wifi at the office downhill (not in the guest house). No kitchen. Note: a few guest houses managed by this office, you might not get the same as us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We backpacked for 5 weeks, and never had an issue with any hostel we stayed at. When we got here, the owners took hold of my passport, and insisted we had booked for four people when there were only two of us. They then told us they would switch our room, and we could stay in a 12 person dorm, and pay for that plus half the difference of the more expensive 4 person room, if they did not rent it to someone else. We ended up paying for the dorm plus half the 4 person room, and found out the next day that they had infact rented the 4 person room to other people, but made us pay half of it anyways. We also found out they pulled similar tricks on other travellers in our room. And the room itself was packed with beds, and had no windows. I would not say it was visibly dirty, but it certainly did not smell good.
It was not so much the crappy room, or the overcharging and lying and basically stealing from us that ruined this experience, but rather the way they screamed and yelled at us, while holding onto my passport refusing to give it back, while we were locked alone with them in their office. It was without a doubt the worst customer service experience I have had in my life, we felt totally taken advantage of.
I just hope this review saves you from this experience, there are a ton of places to stay, please do not stay here. Its not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank love4travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

When we arrived at the office in the city center the lady got our keys and started showing us the way. All she said in English was "up up"
It took us almost 30 minutes to climb up with suitcase and the stairs never ended. Even after you reached the very top and there was a main road on top of the city, you still had to go further up. View is nice (if your window faces the city and not mountain). Just a note, I run 10ks and am rather fit - but this was bad to the point where you plan your day so that you only need to go up once.
Room size ok, cleanliness not ok. Bathroom gets pretty nasty.
You can do better for cheaper!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I'll keep this short and sweet: we booked two beds in a six bed mixed dorm with a shared bath. We understood that it was a busy weekend in September, but we were shuttled off to some other property, where within two adjoining rooms, there were about 20 people. There was one bathroom for the 20 of us, and there were four of us in bunk beds right next to a kitchen (it was one small room) that was constantly used by a loud group of Australians late into the night such that we couldn't sleep.

The least they could do on the website is mention some of this information, but of course they didn't.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertolim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Here is our experience with this place...

The directions on how to get there were pretty poor but there's one main street in Riomaggiore so we found the main office rather fast. The owner who spoke very minimal English told us to follow her....up and up and up the hill (Riomaggiore is one huge hill). After about 10 minutes of a steep walk with our luggage she left us and said, "go to castle. lady meet you."...so we continued hiking up the hill to the tallest part of Riomaggiore which is the castle. And a lady did meet us there. This one spoke zero English. She come hithered us to follow her. We went up just a tad bit higher to probably the last house at the top.

The house was really cute...it had two HUGE rooms with beautiful views of the sea. But, instead we go the third "room" which was an old kitchen converted into a bedroom with 3 beds. Oh well. It was a tight fit with no view. Kinda sucks when the others in these beautiful rooms were paying the same amount. You can't really tell what you'll get when you book.

Despite that, we had a great time. Since you are already at the top of the city, it's a nice place to hang out and eat dinner (or by the sea)....as for lugging around luggage, we saw they were building an elevator to the top of the city so maybe that will make things easier :)....but the village is great workout!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Personal_Legend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Cinque Terre Holidays
Cinque Terre Holidays
#16 of 22 in Riomaggiore
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa di Venere
La Casa di Venere
#29 of 32 in Riomaggiore
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starfish Holidays
Starfish Holidays
#19 of 22 in Riomaggiore
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Affittacamere Giovanni
#23 of 32 in Riomaggiore
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda Ca' dei Duxi
Locanda Ca' dei Duxi
#26 of 32 in Riomaggiore
177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ostello di Corniglia
Ostello di Corniglia
#4 of 13 in Corniglia
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Patrizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Patrizia

Property: Affittacamere Patrizia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 94, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Affittacamere Patrizia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affittacamere Patrizia Hotel Riomaggiore
Affittacamere Patrizia Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing