We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda del Sole
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Locanda Ca da Iride(Riomaggiore)(Great Value!)
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
$172
$166
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Scogliera(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NiRia(Riomaggiore)
La Baia di Rio(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Luna di Marzo(Riomaggiore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Due Gemelli(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Affittacamere Edi(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Sol Levante(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
192
102
20
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
102
20
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifesteep hillthe ownercinque terretrain stationrooms are cleanhotel is locatedwould definitely stay here againbeautiful townbreakfast was includedcroissantsbottle of winerental carthe room was nicestayed here for two nightswatch the sunsetair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 317 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Enrico has a hidden gem!! Rooms are clean, bright and roomy. Had a beautiful veranda overlooking the town. Breakfast was great and the best cappucino in town!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annamaria2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is a great place to explore the cinque terre. Rio & Manarola were our favourite towns of the 5, they are more of what we expected the cinque terre to be.

Manarola's got a great pub on the RHS of the main street as you head towards the water, playing Jazz music & just a great vibe for some nightlife.

The hotel itself is what everyone has said. Enrico is great, the rooms are great, we had the top room closest to the water, a glimps of the water from the balcony made for some nice private dinner sessions.

The hotel location is fine, it is directly opposite the public carpark, the walk to and from the beach is easy & if walking isn't your thing don't bother coming to the cinque terre to complain about it, do your research first!

We paid 100E a night & there were other better priced villas available (not reviewed) for the time of year this price we considered expensive. We decided to go with a sure thing, for the sake of 30E a night more.

A side note - Wifi is available but not on the top rooms. But you dont go to the cinque terre to sit on the computer!



Would we stay here again, yes - depending on cost.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We loved the Cinque Terre and could easily have stayed a week instead of three nights. The Locanda del Sole was a great place to enjoy the area from. All the towns are lovely but Riomaggiore is one of the better serviced by train, and being so close to Manarola as well (30 minutes walk from the centre of Manarola to our room in Riomaggiore) gives many options for eating, etc. Enrico is a helpful host and the rooms are comfortable, spacious enough and have a nice terrace (useful if the weather is much warmer than it was for us!). Breakfast is plentiful and good (and it was the first time we saw a toaster on our Italy trip). Locanda del Sole is located at the top of a steep hill but we didn't consider this a problem (there are many steep hills in the Cinque Terre) and it does have the advantage of being very easy to find. We would definitely recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Enrica the land lord was a wealth of information and VERY hospitable. We did share the odd bottle of wine together. He also puts on a very good breakfast compared to all the other places we stayed in the 3 weeks in Italy. The hotel has a number of levels, so there are stairs. The rooms are a good size compared to other we stayed in. They were clean with a nice terrace. Others have mentioned to steep street to this hotel. It is steep, but my 60 year old body wne my wife had no problem with a pack pack on. If you have suitcases, there is a shuttle bus that goes up and down the street at regular intervals. I suggest you wait for it. Enrica referred us to 2 restaurants and both were the best food we had in Italy without exaggeration - we were in Rome, Florence, and 2 weeks in Tuscany. Good food everywhere, but not like those little restaurants in Manarola (the next town up from Riomaggiore). One was called Trattoria La Scogliera and the other was across the street "Porticciolo". The local Train and trails take you to all 5 towns, but like others have written, have good shoes. I used a good trail shoe (not a boot) and they worked great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Cinque Terre is a must see! Cinque Terre is five little towns next to one another. The little towns each have their own personality. Each town is pedestrian only. Riomaggiore is the first one you come upon.

We arrived in Riomaggiore around 8pm and were able to get a room at Locanda del Sole. The B & B has its own parking lot, so you don't have to pay to store your car in the mass lot for the towns.

The room was very basic- but clean and contemporary. It also had a small balcony, where you could look out to the water.

Our first night- the lady of the house was so informative. She provided us with maps, recommendations for restuarants and details on hiking from town to town. She is a Spaniard that speaks Spanish, Italian and English, which was a great help for me as a Spanish speaker. Riomaggiore has several little restaurants and bars just steps from the B & B. At night, you can walk all the way to Mannerola for free (during the day you pay).

The breakfast the next day was light, but a good start. The man of the house makes a great cappucino.

We hiked from Riomaggiore to the last town (Monterosso). The hike is about 13 miles and takes a few hours. It is sooooooooo worth it. Take lots of water, good boots/sneakers and all the stamina you have.

Upon arriving to the last town, we took the train back to Riomaggiore and spent another great night. Two days is enough to see Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews