We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Borgo di Campi”
Review of Il Borgo di Campi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Borgo di Campi
Ranked #8 of 33 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice beautiful place. Lovely small houses with excellent views! The bad thing is that it is 4 km from Rio Maggiore which means you have to plan your walkings after the bus schedule if you want to start walking from Riomaggiore or need the train to get where you wanted.Though it is possible to start walking from this place.

The sea is fantastic too see but if you want to bath it´s 40 min tough climbing downhills.
The restaurant belonging to the place is nice with average prices, but we loved our nice dinner in our own little garden! Every apartment has it´s own garden or balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

In spite of being situated about 7 km away from Riomaggiore and having to take the bus to get to the village and back, I found this place incredible. Getting from reception to your room and back was less of an effort than I thought it to be after reading the advertisement about the 200 stairs. The stunning view is well worth every step! The apartment was clean and spacious, with a rustic touch, and had a little kitchenette and dining table. Each apartment had its private garden with amazing views over Ligurian Sea.
The staff was nice and let us leave our big luggage at the reception until checkout.
If you are looking for luxury, this might not be the place for you, but if you enjoy a lovely place with breathtaking views and you don't mind putting in some effort for it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tchock1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and wouldn't stay here again. So let's get started:

1) the employees work very limited hours so if you get there before 3pm to check-in be prepared to sit and wait and wait and wait (most likely in the heat) until they show up. Ridiculous, for someone to not be there to at least drop your bags and be on your way if they don't want to check you into your room early. I don't know about you but I didn't spend thousands of dollars on my vacation to sit around waiting for someone to check me into a hotel!

2) this place is way out of town, with very limited options to get into town unless you want to take a pretty strenuous 2hr hike

3) speaking of hikes, you get to anyway because the rooms are way below the road and check-in area. so be prepared to sherpa your way up and down the steep slopes with all your luggages

4) when you do get to said rooms, the amenities are lacking and dated. The AC barely blows what can be best described as warm air, oh and if you want wifi well you have to pay extra AND hike back up to the restaurant/check-in area!

5) lastly the check-out is as draconian as the check-in as they open the office for very limited hours in the morning as well!

This hotel is built around the comfort and schedules of its employees as opposed to those of their paying guests! No one should have to suffer through this, so save yourself a bunch of headaches and book elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The main problem with this hotel is that it is far from the city. You need to take a bus which costs 1.50 Euro per person each way. You can buy a pass which should include the bus...I think. On Sundays, the bus starts later in the morning. And, the last bus from the city is at 7:40PM which means you can't stay in the city later into the night. There are no taxis in Riomaggiore so you if you miss the last bus you need to take the train to La Spezia and take a taxi ride from there.

Once you are at the hotel, there is not much close by. You can eat at the restaurant within the hotel, the place next door, or walk a few hundred meters to the next hotel (which may have a restaurant). That's it...anything else is too far.

The room is dirty. The bathroom is partially remodeled. For example, my room had a new toilet, sink, and many of the tiles look new. But, the shower handle was old and dirty. The shower head itself had extensive calcium buildup and other gunk. The shower curtain was also dirty and difficult to avoid touching because the shower is very small.

You also have to talk down a few dozen steps to get to the rooms which can be annoying.

No wifi. There is AC in the room. But, I think they do something so the AC is not cold during the morning. I visited when it was hot and still wanted the AC on during the morning. But, it was no longer cold. It was cold again when I returned to the hotel in the evening.

The only upside is a nice view and friendly staff. The restaurant is also decent and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I can't understand that some reviews are positive about this place, it's dirty and disgusting, I admit the views are beautifull, but you want to stay in a clean room and have a decent meal in the kitchen , without ants.
And if possible have a shower without being attacked by a mouldy showercurtain.
Trust me just drive to Riomaggiore and go to Casa Iride and enjoy Cinque Terre as it should be.

Room Tip: Just drive to Riomaggiore and stay at a B&B, there are plenty good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place was a disappointment. It should be billed as a camping experience rather than hotel. The room was hot and stuffy and we found out that they don't turn on A/C access until 6 pm (& it shuts off at 5 am). We had 1 hand & 1 bath towel each for all 3 days. There is no housekeeping & you empty your own trash and clean kitchen at end of stay. We didn't use the kitchen because of ant problem in bathroom. When we told staff, a can of bug spray was left in bathroom that day. The bathroom showed mold and smelled musty. The shower was tiny and the dirty curtain sticks to you while you shower, along with water going out on the floor for the next person to enjoy when they enter the room. The room had 1 tiny window. We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice for 6 euros each but you need to go at 9 sharp b/c they run out of food. Even if you are staying at the hotel, there is a 1.50 euro service charge per person at dinner. The view was lovely outside room but you need to be prepared for a serious hike up a huge hill every time you go for a meal, to use internet or to leave the property. We had rental car but there is limited parking even for the hotel so you need to get back early in the evening.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with patio right outside room. Request one of those because you will not want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Watching the sun set in the restaurant was the highlight of my whole Italy trip. The food in the restaurant was magnificent, the staff spoke brilliant English and were so freindly. When we got there we got shown our own little house which was beautiful. The steps are a bit of an issue for anyone who is not up to peak physical fitness, but this did not take anything away from the stay in general. The transport link to Riomaggiore were slightly questionable, the bus being a little unreliable but to drive to La Spezia and Riomaggiore was no more than 10 mins. Overall I was more than impressed. I would advise anyone going to that area to stay here. Was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djmidgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 33 in Riomaggiore
390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 33 in Riomaggiore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo di Campi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Campi

Address: Via Litoranea Km 9,400, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range: $103 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Borgo di Campi 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Borgo di Campi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Di Campi Hotel Riomaggiore
Il Borgo Di Campi Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing