We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Ca' dei Duxi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Ca' dei Duxi
Ranked #25 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We 1st arrived there and were shown our room but it had black mold growing on the ceiling and signs of water leakage there, so after complaining they allowed us to switch to a much nicer apartment near the water with a view and two bedrooms. This was fantastic and we were very happy afterwards with everything. The hosts were always very helpful and accomodating. Cinque Terre is like paradise and you cant help but have a great time, hiking, eating, and sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    68
    49
    14
    22
See reviews for
20
89
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed in Locanda Ca dei Duxi in March 2012. On my way to Riomaggiore I missed a train connection which resulted in a delay of several hours and I didn't arrive until quite late at night. I rang ahead to explain the situation and was told my room would be kept for me and someone would come down to greet me. Despite the fact that I didn't arrive until around midnight, I was greeted warmly and shown to a lovely big room, just up the hill.

The room was much larger than I was expecting for the price (50 euro a night) and had a beautiful view of the town centre down to the ocean. The room had a very comfortable bed and a TV if that's what you're into. There was also a book exchange with a good range of books in Italian, English and German.

To get to the hotel you need to walk through the tunnel next to the train station, not straight up the hill next to the station. There is a lot of climbing involved to get up to the room, but if you can't handle climbing the Cinque Terre probably isn't for you.

The only thing about my stay which wasn't great was the breakfast, but it was still great value stay if you skip it and go out. I'd definitely stay here again.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmSyd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Locanda Ca' dei Duxi was our base for our stay in Riomaggiore and our visits to all the towns in Cinque Terre. Overall the hotel was very nice, spacious, clean, quiet and in a good location. Amenities such as parking, wifi, and in room safe were available but a fee of 10E was tacked on for each. Wifi was very awkward as the signal is not available in the hotel room, and there is no real lobby for the hotel. So you would have to download emails while sitting on the steps outside the hotel office. Breakfast was the standard espresso, cornetto, salumi-all fresh. Make certain to notify them in advance on needing a parking space, and arrive before the local police start limiting access to Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Riomaggiore is a beautiful seaside town, and like anywhere in Cinque Terre, you're paying mostly for location. This hotel is adequate--clean, secure, etc. Our room had been recently updated, however, due to the fact the plumbing was an obviously a late addition to the building, the bathroom configuration was extremely cramped. The toilet was up on a step, and the shower door was hung so that water leaked out and flooded the floor. In general, the hilly nature of the town combined with a very old building made for an awkward configuration of rooms and bathrooms. Our bed was definitely one of the more comfortable ones we encountered in Italy. The people working at reception were helpful, and breakfast was fine. If traveling with luggage, be prepared for a long, uphill walk and many stairs on the way from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

A great little hotel in Riomaggiore, the room was a decent size and the bathroom was small but you were still able to move around. Fairly modern interior. Free wireless and breakfast is included. Staff were friendly and helpful ( one of the taff members spoke fluent english which was great). Cute little fishing village, would definitely recommend staying in Riomaggoire if you are planning on doing the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

up a screwy flight of stairs we found our room with a great window and view of the town. Bed was very comfortable and the bath was perfect - loved this spot and the town - the woman owner stayed late to insure we got to the room safely but the men seemed a bit distant towards us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed one night in Riomaggiore at a room from Ca' dei Duxi hotel. The woman at reception was very helpful and walked us to the room. We were across the street in a double room with nice windows overlooking the street (which was rather noisy early in the morning with deliveries). The room was fine and the bathroom was small as expected. It seemed as though the hotel consists of several rooms located along the street rather than one building, but it worked for us. Breakfast was included and above average.
I was pleased with finding a decent room right in town and it served us well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al_parkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Zorza
Hotel La Zorza
#19 of 32 in Riomaggiore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa di Venere
La Casa di Venere
#29 of 32 in Riomaggiore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#11 of 32 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riomaggiore Appartamenti
Riomaggiore Appartamenti
#11 of 21 in Riomaggiore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Ca' Dei Lisci
Affittacamere Ca' Dei Lisci
#18 of 21 in Riomaggiore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' dei Duxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' dei Duxi

Property: Locanda Ca' dei Duxi
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda Ca' dei Duxi 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Ca' dei Duxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Dei Duxi Hotel Riomaggiore
Locanda Ca' Dei Duxi Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing