We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! A must for the Cinqueterre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinqueterre Residence
Ranked #2 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Riomaggiore and wished it could have been longer.

On arrival after a long day of travelling, Davide met us at the top gate (we arrived by taxi) and took our luggage for us. We were ushered into the breakfast room where they insisted we have a drink and cool off for a few minutes before we checked in. This was lovely and it gave us a few minutes to sit down and relax. Davide gave us several maps of the area along with timetables for the buses, trains & ferries and explained a bit about the area and towns.

He showed us to our room which was lovely - typical Italian style, very spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom. We had a terrace with views across the town which we really enjoyed. The shades in our room kept the room dark enough that we could lay in a bit in the mornings but we also had enough privacy (being the end room) that we could leave the doors open in the evening for fresh air.

The breakfast provided daily was a simple continental but more than enough food for us. We did not expect much more given that the Residence only has a handful of rooms - we would hardly expect them to prepare a hot buffet for so few people. The pastries were lovely, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and juice. The coffee was also fantastic!

The wifi worked perfectly for us both in the room and on the terrace. One thing I was also very pleasantly surprised about was the cost of the minibar. It was almost the same cost as purchasing drinks in the village. This was a nice change and we really appreciated that they are not trying to rip you off like so many major hotel chains do.

The town of Riomaggiore itself is beautiful. Please note though that the location of the hotel is not for the faint hearted!! There is a good workout involved in getting from the village up to the hotel if you are like us and prefer to take the stairs rather than the bus! It is worth it though and we felt better about devouring so much amazing food given the exercise we were doing! If you prefer a town that is flatter then Monterosso is the best option, however far bigger and more touristy. We loved that Riomaggiore had such a quaint feel to it. Do however ensure to catch the bus from the train station (little green bus leaves from the atm) as the hike would not be a pleasant one with luggage.

All in all, I would return to Cinqueterre Residence in a heart beat. We felt so warmly welcomed and nothing was ever too hard for Davide or Piero (we didn't get to meet Carla, but all my communication in booking was through her and she has been lovely). This is not at all your typical Hilton, Westin etc, but something much much better than that. The service is so personal and it truly felt like a home away from home.

On a side note for the Cinque Terre itself - we walked to Manarola - very easy 10 to 15 minute walk, all flat and magnificent views. We caught the train between the rest of the towns and from Corniglia station it is quite a hike up the stairs to the town (382 stairs I believe from the sign). It is well worth it to head up (was not anywhere near as hard as I anticipated looking up at it!) just make sure to fill your water bottle at the train station. All the towns are beautiful and we loved every one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nightwolf83, Proprietario at Cinqueterre Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Grazie mille Breezey, Thank you for your time.
All the best.
Cinqueterre Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 377 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

PROS
When u eventually get there, David and his parents are very gracious and someone helped to bring luggage to room

The room is very nice and comfortable, terrace is great to have meals on and enjoy a bottle of wine and the place is spotless

The views are very nice, though more of the mountains with the water secondary

Pastries at breakfast were delish

CONS
Breakfast was basic. I would have expected more and the option to have breakfast on our terrace wud have been appreciated.

Getting up to the place is challenging, especially with luggage. The green shuttle comes every 20 mins and is packed so it may take a while to get on the bus if u have luggage. We ended up walking up. I guess that is the trade off between good views and location.

All the markets, bank machines etc are at the base of the town so its best to get what u need before trekking up to the place.

Chk out was brisk. No one helped with bags and the chk out time of 10:30am is early for hotel standards. I thought the place was prepaid - wud have been good to know ahead of time that we have to pay at chk out.


I think next time, I would stay in vernazza or monterosa and chk out another place. If you are keen to stay in Riomaggiore, this is definitle a better than average place and is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nightwolf83, Proprietario at Cinqueterre Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Ciao “princessS”,
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. They are useful and usually help us to offer new services.
By the way we want to let you know that our prices are the same applied by the best hotels in town also if they can’t offer the same amenities like amazing panoramic terraces in each room equipped with tables and deck-chairs surrounded by flowered gardens in a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Furthermore rooms and bathrooms are the biggest in the 5Lands.
Other amenities, that you don’t mention but we think you have appreciated, are the warm welcome by Davide on your arrival together with a drink and all the necessary information, suggestions, schedules and maps in order to make easy your stay in the 5Lands. We offered also free internet wifi, beach towels and everything you needed during all the day.
Sorry you didn’t ask for help with the luggage and the lift at the check-out. Usually we help … we probably were busy and didn’t realize you needed it.
Thank you for appreciating our pastries and … what about the cappuccino ? Our breakfast is overgoing the standard in our class of hotel and is complete considering the dimensions of the hotel: yogurth, cheese, jam, juices, fresh (warm) bread, ligurian focaccia, fresh fruit with melone an bio strawberries in the season. As regards breakfast service in the rooms, we really can’t offer this service as we have a few rooms on four floors but our breakfast room is so cosy ! Anyway Guests often enjoy breakfast carrying it themselves in the room or on the terrace.
It’s not the true that shops are far down in the village as next minimarkets and take away are at just 5 minutes by foot.
We are pleased to hear that you plan to come back in the 5Lands in the future and really hope you will find a similar peaceful accommodation at the same price !
Finally, you probably didn’t read the information sent at the moment of the reservation containing a clear information that credit card details are takes just to confirm the reservation as per the cancellation policy and that payment has to be made at the hotel at the check-out. We sent also directions informing that too heavy or bulky luggage is not recommended in the area.
Kindest regards.
Cinqueterre Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Cinqueterre Residences is a beautiful property. My boyfriend and I stayed there for four nights and it could not have been nicer.

When you first arrive to Riomaggiore, follow what the owners tell you and take the green bus up the hill for a couple Euros. Since you have luggage that first day, it's well worth it. It's a bit of a trek to get there on foot with luggage. Upon our arrival at the hotel we were immediately greeted by a worker who took our luggage up the stairs and to our room. The spotless rooms are a nice size with a cute kitchen. There are only 7 or 8 rooms at the Residences so it's very peaceful, along with the rest of the region.

Davide and his parents own the hotel and were nothing but helpful and gracious. Davide sat down with us and gave us a rundown of Riomaggiore and the other lands. You have the option of either free daily breakfast or having the stove in your room turned on. We opted for the stove, and it was a good choice. We would go into "town" and shop for our breakfast, and a couple of dinners during our stay. It's a nice way to save money.

The view from the rooms is very picturesque. After a day of sightseeing, I suggest you sit out in front of your room and enjoy a bottle of wine you get from one of the little stores in town. Soak it in, and appreciate where you are and who you're with. It is very romantic. You'll see.

Cinqueterre Residences is not the cheapest hotel you can find, but you get your money's worth. Riomaggiore is simply charming and gives you a feel for Italy the way you see it in old movies.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good sized room with kitchen. Bright and clean, great views and terraced area outside. Very quiet location yet only 5 mins walk from village. Although walk back always took longer (lots of steps!). Davide was extremely helpful including recommending restaurants and walks. We also rented a boat and driver, his friend from a nearby village for a day cruising around the coastline (a must!). Breakfast was particularly good.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Peruvian_Lovebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We could not have been more satisfied with our 4 night stay and would recommend the Cinque Terre Residence to any visitor to Riomaggiore. The hosts are charming and friendly people who enjoy international company. Davide could not have been more helpful providing excellent recommendations for dining, walking, sight seeing and relaxing.
The room was spacious, impeccably clean and comfortable. The views from the balcony were simply superb.
We will return!

Tim & Heather
Adelaide
Australia

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

2 of us stayed at Cinqueterre Residence for 3 nights July 12. Well placed towards the top end of this busy little town so quick (steep) walk to and from centre of this little seaside town. The team of 3 staff that we met made us feel very welcome. Storm one night left our roof a bit damaged - Davide moved us to another room as soon as we told him about this. Sorting out an unexpected problem like this so quickly is a sign of a well run place in my view. Clean, good value room(s). Lovely costal walks between the 5 towns along this stretch. Cheap train is best way to get to and from them if you don't fancy the walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent bedroom / kitchen / bathroom in a perfect location overlooking the vineyards, and 10 mins to beach with amazing rocks to lie on and clear sea to swim in
Pleasant walk up hill to reach accommodation, and much shorter than expected
Davide spoke excellent English was very kind to help with advice on where to go, and to even bring paracetamol from the pharmacy when required
The very kind gentleman serves an excellent cappuccino and is a wonderful host, and the hostess is also very good
Highly recommend Cinqueterre Residence

Room Tip: I imagine all are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinqueterre Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinqueterre Residence

Address: Via Lorenzo de Batte 67f, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range: $178 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinqueterre Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the typical village of Riomaggiore, deeply immersed in nature, our structure is made of individual little houses adjoining one the other.Inside, there are single rooms sleeping 2 or 3 people and two rooms accomodations featuring also a kitchenette. All rooms have bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cinqueterre Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinqueterre Residence Hotel Riomaggiore
Cinqueterre Residence Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing