We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Vento di Mare

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Molly B
Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great rental. Perfect for my needs. Owners are incredibly nice and helpful. She suggested places to eat, provided VIP discounts to some and even made a reservation for me at a waterfront restaurant. Wifi was a great feature as well. Thanks for everything! I plan to stay here again if I come back in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Thank you, Molly, for the review and deciding to come to stay with us! :)
It was wonderful to meet you - hope to see you again sometime.
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadiang...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Location”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Martha made the booking very easy & arranged someone to meet us at the train which helped immensely. The room was in a great location - close to the water & easily accessible to stores, restaurants & so on. Very scenic area.
What we did have difficulty with, as did the other occupants, was the lock on the outside door. We often went down to help others get in as the lock did not open easily, & we had people come help us out when trying to get in. It really could use replacement so that you don't wake everyone up late at night or early in the morning when you cant open up (main door). We also would recommend providing soap at the bathroom sink - thought the amenities were basic but we have soap and so had to buy same. The room was big enough with good light but the sheets were very startched (seemingly) such that we were very itchy every night. This is a great place if you aren't going to spend too much time inside or if you are coming in later at night. We did find it noisy - & in fact, one evening a couple in the other room were....enjoying there time shall we say & awkwardly with the paper thin walls it was as if we were in the room beside them. Pretty much could even hear them breathing.....this would not have been a good thing if we had children with us. With a little sound protection, a few more amenities & the door fixed, our stay would have been much better....and we'd recommend the place based on what a friend might be looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location was excellent
Liked least: the broken lock on the main door and the noise that carried from other rooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2015
I'm so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations - I did wish, though, that you had told us about your issues while you were here so that we could've solved them right away. We do leave hand and body soaps in the rooms (if you needed more, I would've been more than willing to give you more!), and we would've been happy to change your sheets if they were not up to your standards. As for the key, we understand that they are tricky, but I do make sure that all the guests understand how to open and close all the doors (I first verbally explain and then, have all the guests try them out with me so that there aren't any problems) - but the WiFi does work from outside the unit and we live just down the street, so we are always available to help out (even late at night!) We will definitely take your recommendations into consideration to better our property. Thanks again and I hope you'll consider trying us out again. Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCBear
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Room, Great Location”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to Riomaggiore after a long train ride, so happy we were met by Martha at the station as we would never have been able to find our way. Once you know your way around Riomaggiore, Vento di Mare is easy to get to and centrally located to the train station, restaurants, cafes and shops.

The room was spotless. The A/C and wireless work great. We stayed in the Maestrale room it was perfect for us.

We visited in late September thinking the crowds would be lighter, they weren't. Martha offered recommendations for dinner and made reservations for us (which we were grateful for, as there were quite long waits at the local restaurants). Martha was quick to respond to inquiries and was always available to answer questions during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location when we booked, when we arrived the room was very nice, no surprises exactly as it was advertised.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm so glad that room MAESTRALE worked out for you and your friend.
It was great meeting you, Clare - Please let us know if you're ever back in the area!

A presto!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeann11
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A girlfriend and I stayed in the Scirocco room at Vento di Mare for two nights. It was a beautiful room with a very nice bathroom. The inn is a short walk to the train station and located right on the town square. Leandro was very kind to meet us at the train after our late arrival.

Riomaggiore was my favorite of the Cinque Terre towns as it seemed the most quaint. I highly recommend staying here at Vento di Mare. I would do so again in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review!
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSJAS
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We (two couples) stayed for three nights in the top two floors of Vento di Mare. Martha was very helpful in arranging our visit. We arrived by car, and were very grateful to be met by Silvia, who had our private garage stall waiting for us, and then helped us get down to Vento di Mare with our bags, where she made sure we were familiar with the rooms and how things worked. Silvia went out of her way to help us with great suggestions for what to do during our stay, and even making dinner reservations for us each night. Of utmost importance, the air conditioning system was very efficient! We had a small rooftop patio where we relaxed each evening and enjoyed the breeze and the view (not to the sea, but up the hill across the village). Vento di Mare is not a B&B, but there are several nearby locations where you can find whatever you want for breakfast at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Great location, great service, great air conditioning
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review!
Glad to hear you had a good stay!
Hope to see you all again - Enjoy the rest of summer!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andee S
1 review
“Great location and fantastic hospitality!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Martha was THE BEST host, she went above and beyond!! Truly one of the best experiences I have had when booking travel. The location is great, it is right off the main street and very close to the marina. Martha was extremely helpful during the planning process and during our stay. She recommended restaurants and activities to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Riomaggiore. Our train was delayed and we came in late, but she still waited for us and made sure all members in our group were taken care of even though we weren't all staying in her rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Martha was amazing!
Liked least: The noise in the morning, all walls in the town are pretty thin.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
THANK YOU for this 5 star review! So glad you and you family had a memorable stay.
Would love to see you guys again so please keep in touch!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creese112
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“A great home base for exploring Cinque Terre”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A nice, clean apartment right in the heart of Riomaggiore. Since most of our time was spent outside exploring the five villages, while basic, it had everything we needed. Martha was a great host who met us at the train station, showed us our place, and walked us through all of the details of the the greater town (transport, restaurant recommendations, hikes).

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pillows on bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review!
It was so much fun meeting you both!

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing