We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Vento di Mare

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Coastya
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The accommodation was just as stated, it was clean and ever so handy for weary travellers. We unfortunately arrived a day late because of a train strike however our lovely landlord only charged us half price...she was entitled to full fare however her generosity shone through. We loved it there and would stay there again and certainly recommend it for its handy position and excellent set up. It is located through the tunnel from the railway station and about 1 minute if that to the door. We chose not to have a view as we don't spend much time in the room and it would have been wasted on us.
Thank you for everything it was most terrific.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for the review -- I'm so glad that you both (eventually) made it over to us! It was my pleasure meeting you guys!
Come back for a longer stay next time - would love to see you both again! :)
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful owner, perfect place!”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent three nights here and happy we chose this place! It's a short walk to the train station, supermarkets and restaurants. The owner, Martha, was very helpful, meeting us at the train station and giving us tips on where to eat and which trails she recommends. Our favourite was the walk from Volastra to Corniglia - this is a definite must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thanks for the review -- and yes, the Volastra-Corniglia hike is a must when you're here! Glad you enjoyed it.
Let me know if you ever come back -- Have a great winter!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie0725
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our stay at Vento di Mare! The owners are amazing!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We cannot say enough about the owners of Vento di Mare. Martha single-handedly saved our vacation to Riomaggiore. We accidentally booked the wrong dates with her months ahead of time but did not realize it until the night before as we were getting ready to leave Rome. We couldn't believe our mistake and messaged Martha via TripAdvisor to explain the mix-up. Within 15 minutes, she had made alternate arrangements for us. And the best part was that we were still able to stay at Vento di Mare 2 of the 3 nights during our stay. Martha saved us so much time and energy in trying to find a new place. We stayed in Maestrale. It was clean and in a great location. Riomaggiore in so charming and ended up being our favorite of the 5 towns that make up Cinque Terre. We highly recommend a stay at Vento di Mare. You will be well taken care of by Martha and Leandro!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The owners, the awesome location
Liked least: No wifi, no kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
GRAZIE for the fab review!
Hope you had a great summer!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reenzie
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great little place !”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

from the very start when i booked this room, i found martha & leandro helpful. martha met us at the top of town and took us to our room, pointing out good eateries, etc. they were friendly & readily available to help in any way they could. i would highly recomend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness
Liked least: stairs!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thanks for the review! SO GLAD that things worked out!
Come back -- we'd love to see you both again!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laingfami...
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. The location, the town and the Cinque Terre were amazing - everything they are reputed to be. Martha was extremely helpful, she met us at the station, settled us in and we were well guided on touring, hiking and dining options which really helped us make the most of our all too short time here. The room was well appointed and clean with a nice terrace (the Libeccio room), albeit up a few stairs - something that is unavoidable on the Cinque Terre - right by the main street and close by the tunnel to the station. All in all it was an ideal base for our Cinque Terre experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
Hi guys!
Thank you for this fantastic review!
I'm glad to hear you that "Libeccio" treated you well - its definitely a favorite!
I know it's a long trip, but I do hope that you make it back here again! Would love to see you both!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyMike9...
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great home base for Cinque Terre vacation”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was looking for accommodations in the Cinque Terre for myself and my wife and another couple traveling with us and had been having difficulty finding available rooms. I was referred to Martha at Vento de Mare in Riomaggiore by the Riomaggiore reservations site, and it was the best referral ever. Martha was able to accommodate us with 2 very nice double rooms with private baths for a very reasonable rate. The rooms were located right in the heart of the village close to restaurants and the train station. They were clean and modern and contained a small refregerator. Not only did Martha respond immediately to all my requests for information via email, including the train schedule, she even met us at the train station and escorted us to our rooms. She gave us a very detailed overview of the village of Riomaggiore and the transportation within the Cinque Terre to the other 4 villages. She also recommended we visit Porto Venere (not in the Cinque Terre, but accessible by boat) which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. She was available by text message throughout our stay and came to see us off when we left. Martha and the wonderful accommodations she provided made our visit to the Cinque Terre one of our best travel experiences ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal service provided by owner
Liked least: Can't think of anything except we wanted to stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2013
Hi Mike!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!
It was my pleasure meeting the 4 of you! Glad to hear you had a great stay and a good time in the Cinque Terre!
Hope to see y'all again!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette B
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Place EVER”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was a gem! My husband and I spent 2 months travelling Europe and this was, by far, the best place we stayed. We had this wonderful accommodation recommended to us to check out and we were so happy we did. Martha (one of the owners) met us at the train station, walked us to the building and then spent at least an hour telling us what trails, restaurants and local sites to check out. It was supposed to rain one day and Martha had a whole list of activities we could try, so as not to feel too bummed out about the weather. Later in the week she offered us some wine from a local vineyard and got us the best reservation at one of the nicest local restaurants. It was like we were on our honeymoon with all the VIP treatment. The rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean and cozy. We had a wonderful 7 days there! When we go back to Cinque Terre, you can bet we will be looking to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Martha went out of her way, every day to make sure our needs were met and that we were having a great experience in Cinque Terre. She took time to tell us about the hikes she recommended, and even offered us wine from a local vineyard. AMAZING!!!
Liked least: Leaving to come back home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Colette and Arnaud!
Great to hear from you! :)
Thanks so much for the review - It was fun getting to know the two of you - I was sad to see you go after a week!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Europe!
Congratulations, DR.Colette!
We hope to see you both again soon!
Martha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing