We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Launch Point for Cinque Terre Tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Due Gemelli
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Launch Point for Cinque Terre Tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Friendly. Lodging style from the 70s. Minimal accessories. Don't expect a 5 star suite. Excellent view. Non smoking. Perfect launch point by the bus. The food is to die for. Come as a group. Stick to o the schedules. Enjoy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    100
    48
    19
    5
See reviews for
48
116
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a nice find. This place is outside of the hectic towns of the cinque terre. It is probably best to have a car. There is ample parking and you can drive to one of the villages to park and then take ferries or trains to the other towns. The rooms are basic but more than adequate. They all (apparently) have decks looking out at the beautiful coastline and the Ligurian Sea. The staff was incredibly warm and helpful. The breakfasts (5 euros) were good quality continental sorts. In the evening the restaurant does a good job with seafood and has the same view as the rooms.

Room Tip: As in all hotels in cinque Terra, check for how many stairs you must climb with your bags. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality with very nice staff. The view from the hotel room (endless sea and mountainous surroundings) was breathtaking. Also very clean room. As if not enough, it's an excellent restaurant with typical, simple yet fantastic food.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
465 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is close to Riomaggiore, situated off the main highway. The views from this hotel were wonderful. The rooms are simple, roomy and comfortable. I believe each room has a balcony, so enjoying a glass of wine overlooking the sea is a pleasurable thing to do from your room, or from the hotel's restaurant. We used this hotel as our base to visit the five villages. Parking at this hotel was sufficient, but I suspect parking would be at a premium during the peak season.
The staff at this family run hotel are wonderful. Special thanks to Mirko and David (cousins to each other). They kept the place going. Mirko's Mother cooked for the supper and the food was wonderful. We've been in Italy for 2 weeks so far, and this was the best supper we've had. The seafood was wonderful. We did the "tourist menu", but there was nothing lower quality about the selections on this menu. Besides the beauty of Cinque Terra, we would go back to this hotel for the the kind staff and wonderful food.
In a heatbeat, we would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were unable to make Cinque Terre reservations before arrival (it was before everything was on the internet), and we happened upon this hotel as we arrived in the area. Told that there was only one room available, and that it "wasn't very good" in broken English, I was taken to look at the room. When the owner?/manager opened the shutters, I was confronted with one of the most beautiful views from a hotel room I have ever seen. We were looking straight out onto the Ligurian Sea from high on a cliff. The reason the room was "not very good" was because it had only a small balcony. The hotel was popular with clientele who liked big balconies. But this was perfect for the three of us. My sixteen year old daughter got her own small room, while my wife and I got the vista to the water. The small room had its own charms: it looked out onto the hotel's garden (which featured fresh dates, oranges, and herbs). It felt like the Garden of Eden. We kept the shutters open all night (against the advice of the manager) to watch the full moon on the water.

Oh, yes. The food and drink. Only the best pesto we have ever had. And I wish that I could find more of the "house wine" that they served. It is simply not available in the US.
To this day I keep annoying my wife about returning to this magical area. She keeps telling me that we have to go somewhere we've never been. Doesn't make all that much sense to me. I want to go back to this place.

TripAdvisor is making me put a date on this trip. It is not correct.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bnwilensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location for Cinque Terre. Located outside Riomaggiore, this hotel offers spacious rooms with amazing views. We booked in for one night, but stayed for two because we liked the peace and quiet after all the touristy bustle of the Villages. The rooms were very clean, quiet, but devoid of character. Needs some colour!
Staff were excellent, a friendly family run hotel. Very helpful.
Parking is at a premium in all of Cinque Terre, but at Due Gemelli you can leave your car and catch the local bus into Riomaggiore (2€), a 10 minute ride away. Overall great value in a very popular tourist area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We started our stay with a lovely lunch on the outside dining area. Our rooms were clean and the bathrooms were modern. The view was amazing from our terrace. The location was near to the Cinque Terre area where parking is very difficult. It was nice to be able to be close enough, that when we went to Cinque Terre early, we were able to find parking. The staff was helpful and friendly as well.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.5 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Property: Due Gemelli
Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing