We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View was fantastic, very handy to CT”
Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Due Gemelli
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“View was fantastic, very handy to CT”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms and view are exactly like the pictures shown. Clean rooms with ample space (a few stairs to get down to them, but thats pretty much the deal in CT anywhere you go!). We didn't have a fridge in our room and the wifi did not seem to work in it too, but does in the main terrace and restaurant. Neither were a problem for us, but good for others to know I hope.

The terrace out from each room is semi private and the view is just awesome.

We wanted to stay in the CT region but didn't want to be stuck in the middle of one of the towns in a tiny room with no view - so this place fitted our needs very well. It is on the main road running around the cliff tops from La Spezia to Riomaggiore.

Not a place to stay if you do not have a car - would be too far from the trails and towns without one. Maybe a bus service? but we didn't see any. With a car Riomaggiore was less than 5min away. We had a car and access and car parking was extremely easy.

Friendly service all around - we didn't eat at the restaurant so cant comment, but would certainly stay again.

Highly recommend for those who want a great view and to be able to get away from the tourist hoards in the CT towns.

Room Tip: All have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesCoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    48
    19
    5
See reviews for
48
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
256 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

First of all, it's important to note that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, and you must have a car to get to and from it. Don't come here if you don't have a car. Parking is free.

Having said that, everything else about this hotel is perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful, the views from the rooms are breathtaking, and the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are clean, there are enough electrical outlets and free Internet.

The food you can get for money is also very good. The prices for both the food and the room itself are fair and compared to the Riomaggiore village itself would be considered cheap (especially if you include the free parking).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The rooms had a nice view but had a very strong disinfectant smell that was in the bedding and could not be gotten rid of. I think I was allergic to the strong smell and got a terrible headache and was unable to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamer225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We didn’t want to stay in one of the 5 towns so this was the perfect place close by. You need to have a car as this is 5 minutes’ drive from Riomaggiore. (I never saw the bus even there is one)

The good thing about this place was our terrace room (that was as big as the room itself) with just amazing view. The room is no luxury accommodation but clean and simple. No fridge in the room though. The staff was amazingly helpful and ready to do whatever you asked them for.

Only negative thing about the terrace was the neighbors next door, coming in very late at night and the walls are paper thin and they slam doors and stayed outside on the terrace drinking and chatting until late night.

Restaurant is very good and you have the same amazing view from there. We would defiantly come back here, absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Half8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family had a great stay at Due Gemelli. The staff treated us like family and you have an amazing view of the Mediterranean Sea. The restaurant was excellent as well. It's a perfect spot to explore Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agraziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

If you are travelling with a car then this is an amazing place to stay. Lots of parking. It is situated on top off the cliff a few kilometres from Riomaggiore. Our room was great, free wifi, some English channels on the tv. But the best part was having a terrace in front of our room looking straight out to sea. We bought a bottle of wine from the restaurant and had a picnic on our terrace as the sun set. Magic. The next day it started to rain and a storm developed by the afternoon. It was the best possible place for this to happen. I sat in the restaurant of the hotel with a glass of wine and caught up with emails and postcards to friends and family and was entertained by the uninterrupted sight of the storm over the ocean. The staff here are friendly and very helpful and they put up with my pathetic attempts at speaking Italian. If you have a car and you are visiting Cinque Terre I highly recommend you stay here.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, and loved it. Definitely need a car though since it is a good 5 km of windy roads from Riomaggiore. Staff super friendly and helpful, and the food is very good! Nice and quiet, with amazing views on the ocean. We recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquamishGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Property: Due Gemelli
Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing