We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La dolce Vita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were given apartment 71 when we arrived, and this room made our stay. Right above the boat ramp, we could sit on the (small) balcony and watch the waves and enjoy the afternoon sun. We could hear the waves crashing while sleeping which was fabulous. The apartment was HUGE and spacious, with a small kitchen where we could store wine & antipasto goodies. There was crockery & utensils should you wish to cook, but only a microwave (no kettle/jug so unable to make tea & coffee in the room). The bathroom was new and very clean (small issue that the door didn't shut, but didn't bother us too much). It was incredibly clean & fresh towels were left for us after two nights. Very cost effective for Cinque Terre, and extremely close to the train station and main street. We enjoyed the local restaurants, deli's, and gelateria - but nothing could beat sitting on the balcony after a day exploring! Would highly recommend La Dolce Vita Hostel - far more than a hostel, more like a collection of amazing apartments around Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in Cinque Terre Holidays which was horrible until we found the lovely lady of La Dolce Vita, shes a really lovely helpful lady. The rooms are cheap, clean and excellent value for money. Even the smallest cheapest room is quite nice, has amazing views and is a short stroll to the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ispini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location in the Main Street of Riomaggiore, close to the train station. Fantastic host, clean room and an AMAZING view of the cliff sides from our room window. Bit of a hike upstairs to get to our room, but that is expected staying in a cliffside location. Restaurants and food super close. We were on a budget and this was just perfect. Enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

had two fantastic nights in one of the la dolce vita rooms apartments. great location and the host/manager was a very relaxed friendly guy who told us all we need to know. The room was huge and the kitchen had everything. It also very clean and quiet. Riomaggiore is a good base for the cinque terra - not too busy but some good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and would thoroughly recommend La Dolce Vita. Located right in the Main Street with a small balcony to watch the world go by, the room is spacious and very modern. The bed is comfortable and we were given new towels after two nights. There are a couple of flights of steps but no more than you would expect in this type of building. The lights are good and there is a hand rail.There are plenty of places to eat nearby and also delis to buy cheeses, fruit etc. it can be noisy at night but there is double glazing which totally eliminates the noise at night if it bothers you. The coastal path was closed when we were here because of a recent landslide but the ferry is a great way to get to some of the other villages. There is also the train. We did the walk from Riomaggiore to Porto Venero which while challenging at times, had some magnificent views of the cliffs and the Mediterranean. Took us about 41/2 hours.

Room Tip: We had the room on the second floor with a little balcony. Noise from the street but close the doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good location in Riomaggiore, close to the train station and restaurants. You first have to go to the office to pay in cash for the place and the lady who served us brought us to our apartment. She didn't really speak English. Bear in mind to go up, there are high flight of steps so it may be hard to carry up heavy luggages.

We had a very big and spacious apartment with 2 beds. It was nicely furnished and it felt homey. There is a small kitchenette with glasses, cutlery and a fridge. No stove to cook and they don't have a kettle too. I later learnt that there are rarely kettles in Italy as they don't use it to boil water. Our apartment was on the first floor and there is a restaurant below us so it can be a bit noisy during busy periods. Were close to the pier so we had a good view of the water. It was also raining for a whole day when we were there and the apartment was cold and damp. We only stayed there for 2 nights so didn't need to have the towels and amenities replaced.

Other than that, Cinque Terre is a beautiful place and this apartment was spacious and comfy and good value too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Owlie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Awesome, clean, newly redecorated, quiet with hot water galore! Couldn't have been more pleased. The room was across the street from the actual office, but it didn't matter; we had a great view onto the main street, and yes, it was up 3 floors, but after hiking it seemed like a breeze!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlarkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#6 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La dolce Vita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La dolce Vita Hostel

Property: La dolce Vita Hostel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 120 | Cinque Terre (Riomaggiore), Liguria, Italy, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La dolce Vita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Riomaggiore
La Dolce Vita Hostel Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing