We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinque Terre Holidays
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a room fancy the main street. It was so noisy. The music outside doesn't stop will 1-2am every night. There is no air con so had to keep the windows open. To access the toilets, we had to walk through another room- a pain especially at night- walking through a room full of people asleep. The management aren't very friendly- in fact hardly so them. But it is cheap accommodation for cinque terre. It is cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

No air condition in room
Bed is old and springy
No Internet
Nothing to do and was pricey for being in a stone " cave" in the mountain.
No t.v in our room, we stayed one night so I think we got the worse room. This is a residence, not a hotel so beware, they do not make it very obvious, do not get tricked by the notice of " only one room left" before reading carefully, there are no amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hygffhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked what was described as 5 beds in a 6 bed dorm. When we arrived, not only was the room up over 160 uneven/steep steps (not mentioned on website at all), but we were told that we'd been split 3 to one room and 2 to another (again, not mentioned as a possiblity when we booked). As 5 girls travelling, we'd booked 5 beds together to have the majority in the room for safety and peace of mind so not ideal. In addition, two of us had to share a bed (fine, as it was a double, but it should be ,mentioned on the site rather than being described as 'two beds) and we couldn't use the dorm bathroom until 5pm (arrived around 1). When we could use it, the shower head was broken so you had to hold the jet over your head to wash.

Good points were an amazing view, well equipped kitchen and clean beds. But we didn't get what we booked and so I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our stay in Cinque Terre was quite pleasant, despite a rough start and the brief nature of our stay. Arriving at the office of Cinque Terre holidays, we went to check in but they had momentarily lost our booking. There was also some confusion (met with considerable hostility from the owner/manager) as to whether or not the breakfast we thought we booked was actually paid for or not. That was quickly sorted out and the young and lovely Eduardo very kindly helped us with our bags to our room.

The room was cute, with the most spectacular view of the shore right outside our door. The room was fairly well equipped, however the shower and the toilet seat were broken.

The view and Eduardo's attentiveness were the highlights!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

the only positive to say about this place is the location. it seems that this hotel has many apartments throughout riomaggiore although we were located very close to the reception which was good for access to the restaurants and train etc. it was uphill and we did have to go
up a steep staircase with a suitcase but the location was good. NEGATIVES: the place was dirty and old. we booked a eight bed dorm and was put in a 4. the shower was only a hose as the holder was broken. the beds were gross. the kitchen was filthy and the oven didn't even work! the manager or whatever was so rude. we arrived he asked for his money then another guy showed us our room. on our last night staying there I came back to my bed to find someone else had tried to claim it. when I informed them I was still staying the night they were forced to sleep on another bunk with the person who just lefts dirty sheets! they have no communication about who is where. they just put you wherever they feel like. two other guests had told us they arrived at 940am and had to wait outside 20min until 10am go check in as it was too early..this place is chit. find somewhere else to stay in cinque terre!!!!. I was referred by a friend and clearly she got lucky. listen
to the reviews. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabokm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our first impression of Cinque Terre Holidays was not favourable as the owner was rude, probably due to the number of guests who arrived at the same time to check in and he just wanted our payment and for us to get out of the small office. The apartments are pot luck and at first we were upset to get a room in a double apartment that had no window but the apartment was large and the view from outside was amazing and peaceful. And let's face it, you only use the room to sleep in. Only other downside is the footsteps and plumbing from the apartment upstairs but apart from that, the apartment itself was nice.
Riomaggiore is the nicest and most convenient of the 5 villages to stay in but it's definitely worth exploring all the other villages and if possible, see them by ferry. Be prepared to walk up a lot of hills but the views are well worth it. For breakfast, head to the main hill in Riomaggiore for a fantastic bakery that does the best foccacia. For a cheap dinner, get some gnocchi pesto takeaway and the first fruit shop/deli as you enter the village does a 1.5lt bottle of red for 3Euros and take it up to the apartment to enjoy the view and the sunset. Makes you wonder why life can't always be this great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked through hotels.com even though it has a 1.8 rating (only 6 reviews) because of the great reviews on tripadvisor. I don't know what the people on hotels.com were talking about, because the room was perfect. They are separate apartments spread out through Riomaggiore, so when we arrived we went to the office and Eduardo took us to our apartment located up a large hill with a wonderful view of the city! He also offered to take pictures of us in front of the view and recommended a great restaurant for dinner. He was extremely friendly and helpful! The apartment was simple and clean. It had a fridge, oven, cups, plates, utensils etc in case you wanted to cook or store food. There was no air conditioning like most of the residences in Italy but they had a couple of fans that did the trick. There was also patio outside where you could eat breakfast or relax and say hi to other guests if they were there. Overall, I would definitely recommend Cinque Terre Holidays because Riomaggiore is beautiful and it was nice to come back and relax in our private apartment after a long day of swimming. Also, one thing to keep in mind is that Riomaggiore is of course on a giant hill/ mountain. There will be a lot of walking up and down. I personally loved it and thought staying up high made the view that much better, but keep this in mind for staying in Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyyyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Campi
Il Borgo di Campi
#8 of 32 in Riomaggiore
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinque Terre Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinque Terre Holidays

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 94, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range: $68 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cinque Terre Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinque Terre Holidays Hotel Riomaggiore
Cinque Terre Holidays Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing