We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Starfish Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starfish Holidays
York
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in the centre of town. Isabella had arranged for us to be met and shown to the apartment which is very helpful when you arrive in to a town for the first time.
The apartment had everything we needed. It was comfortable, with a clean neat bathroom, and extremely convenient to the restaurants and bars in Riomaggiore. During our stay the rooms were serviced which was an extra service we didn't expect.
There are quite a few stairs to climb but that adds to the charm of the apartment. Overall we had a great stay and loved the apartment.

Room Tip: There are at least 3 apartments and rooms. Our friends were in two of them and were all very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Good morning,
thanks a lot for your review!

I am extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday and i hope to see you in the future. I always trying to improve the stay of my guests offering "hotel" services for free, like room cleanings and other.

Thank you again!

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Me and my best friend stayed at this hotel in april 2012.
The location is perfect, our room has a large balcony with a wonderful view of the piazza.
Isabella is such a wonderful host.
Only the stairs are a little bit tiring, but everything was perfect.
Thanks again. :)
Demet & Nuran

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Good morning,
thanks for your review :-)!

If you still have a good remember of our apartments after a long time, it means that you enjoyed your holiday and this is our target :-)!

Thank you again... maybe is it time to plan a new trip to Cinque Terre :-)?

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom room that had a small balcony overlooking a piazza with a view of the sea. It had air conditioning which was welcome to help cut the constant humidity of the local climate. However, the wiring was dated and in need of an upgrade, almost dangerous. If you wanted to use a curling iron or other hair styling implement in the bathroom, you were out of luck because the only available plug had a permanent hair dryer in it. Its location was good as it is right in the main part of town. This room would be suitable for athletic individuals who would like to walk the available trails between the villages of the Cinque Terre, but not so good for someone who is not fit enough for the hilly terrain or with limited mobility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancydee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good morning,
thanks for you review!

We're happy that you spent a nice holiday in our room with sea view. We will fix the issue you wrote (the wire is already fixed, and it was NOT dangerous, but only unhooked from the wall), thank you for reporting it.

Of course Cinque Terre are absolutely not ideal for people with limited mobility, there are a lot of steps and you have to climb to go… everywhere! For this reason we always suggest to stay in La Spezia city if you need a more comfortable stay and visit Cinque Terre during the day.

Thank you,

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

WOW, cant believe the previous reviews.
We had an awesome experience.
We were even abit late than our indicated arrival time & Isabella phoned twice to assist us in getting there.
We had the 2 bedroom apartment in the centre of town, great location. A few stairs to climb but that would be in any accommodation.
Great little kitchenette, and very clean bathroom. We were there 4 days and the room was serviced once which was great. Wasnt expecting that.
Great value for money. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Good morning,
and thanks for your review!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, we try to improve our service day by day and see our guest satisfied is our best prize :)!

Thank you again, and enjoy the rest of your italian tour!

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location is great. Because you are in the middle if town you do get the noise from the nearby bars and the train but that is to be expected. The room was definitely older and smaller than we expected. Really I think it came down to expectations. We paid the same nightly rate as we had in Rome and in Tuscany but this room was much less appealing to stay in. I now realise you must just need to pay more for something of the same standard in the cinque terre. Our balcony only fitted the one chair so our plans of relaxing out there and enjoying the view didn't happen. We weren't in the room much so it was fine, think your chances of getting a nice room with a nice balcony/patio may be better in moterosso being a but larger and more spread out.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meelltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good evening,
and thank for writing this review.

You're right: we're not in Rome, we're not in Tuscany, we're in Cinque Terre.

Cinque Terre are not comfortable, are not "large", are not cities... you slept in an ancient fisherman house and we know that it could seem "strange" and overrated but this is the true spirit of our territory... i saw that you reviewed a nice b&b in the Tuscany country, with swimming pool and other amenities, but i hope that you understand that it is TOTALLY different from here.. you will never find this kind of things, we have this kind of accomodations OUTSIDE Riomaggiore ;).

Thanks again and i hope that you spent a nice holiday :)!

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed at. I had a pre-payed nonrefundable reservation so I could not cancel my reservation without being charged. The walls as well as the tile in the shower had mold/mildew on them, the tile floor in the bathroom was not clean, the sheets were clean, the blanket was not, something CRUSTY was in the bottom of the bathroom cup, the bath towels were similar to a "waffle weave" kitchen towel but bigger. The room itself was rather small but maybe that is the way of rooms in Riomaggiore. We knew the train noise would be loud so we wore earplugs but even they did not mask the noise associated with the garbage pick up every morning. If you recycle glass it sounds similar but lasts a long time.
Starfish Holidays must rent a number of rooms but this one was terrible others scattered throughout Riomaggiore may be nicer. I don't remember the house # of our hotel but we had a bit of a water view. I think all check in is at Via Colombo 135. Until today I have read Trip Advisor reviews but wanted to join so I could prevent anyone else from having this bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Owner at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Good evening,
thanks for share your opinion.

We really can't understand who you are: we did not have any guest with your name in May 2013 and i honestly don't remember any complaints in the last weeks, so please contact us at our official email address with your reservation number so we can investigate best about your so bad stay. Maybe you are confusing us with another accommodation? You wrote that we are the worst "hotel", but we are absolutely not an hotel, and this is wrote many times in any online channel we are mentioned.

If you booked with a not refundable rate, it was clear when you booked that you pay less than the standard rate but you cannot cancel or modify for free. It is the same thing in all the world!

We have a minimum stay of 2/3 nights so it is really a surprise for us to read a SO negative review without any complain done "face to face". We are available by phone 24 hours/day and we are in Riomaggiore almost daily for several hours, so why you did not tell us that your room have problems .. if we know, we fix :-), also if we did not heard about the problems you read from other guests.

Your behaviour looks really strange: you slept in a so terrible room without tell to us and then you wrote this bad review… it's like order a lobster and get a rotten egg in a restaurant, eat it without telling the waiter and then complain at home… why :-)?

Anyway, we are sorry that you had the worst experience of your life with us and we hope that you enjoyed the same our beautiful territory.

We wait your email with your reservation number, so we can check together all the problems you had, thank you.

Isabella Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

First thing it was easy to communicate via email with Isabella. We arrived well after dark and she meet us at the apartment. There are some very steep stairs, but climbing uphill is the way of life in the Cinque Terre so it could have been worst as it was a short climb up the street. Riomaggiore does seem to be a bit quieter than some of the other towns. There are two little groceries and even a couple of restaurants open in Feb. You are staying in town so you should expect noise from the locals as they start their workday. We always travel with ear plugs so that was not a problem for us. We did not cook, but the kitchen had the basics for simple meals. There was limited paper towels and toilet paper, but you could easily buy some at the store. My only complaint would be make sure all the lights have working bulbs and the light going up works at the top.
Please note, it does not appear they will be opening trail #2 any time in the near future so you cannot walk between the towns. One very nice walk is the vineyard walk in Manarola, and take the bus from Manarola to Volastra and hike down through the groves.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella G, Proprietario at Starfish Holidays, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good morning, and thanks a lot for sharing your opinion with us.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in Riomaggiore, even if it was in the winter season. Cinque Terre in winter are beautiful as always but the services (shops and restaurants) are limited, so i'm glad to read that you enjoyed the little opportunities offered in this period by the villages.

The apartment where you stayed is one of our best, we are sorry for the problem you might have with the electricity, it's normal to have little black outs when using heaters (ambient and water) all together... this inconvenient is solved "naturally" during summer, when the heaters is not in use.

In case of needs of toilette paper/towels you could send us a message or a call and i would have sent the cleaning lady, but i hope this was not a big trouble.

Thank you again and i hope to see you in the future, maybe in summer season when the sun shines in our beautiful territory (in this moment we are having snow!) :)!

Isabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#5 of 22 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Holidays

Property: Starfish Holidays
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 135, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Starfish Holidays 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starfish Holidays!We offer different types of accommodation for all the needs of a couple, just 150 meters from the lovely “marina” of Riomaggiore and a short walk from the train station , with a breathtaking view of the center of the country, the typical Ligurian alleys (Carugi) or with a large panoramic terrace.Our apartments are fully furnished and equipped with every comfort, with kitchen or breakfast service, in characteristics houses that lead to the beach. Everyone has the availability of mini-bar, hair dryer, clean linens and supplies, with private bath and private entrance.Our central location in Riomaggiore will allow you to easily visit the whole of the Cinque Terre National Park, including the famous “Via dell’Amore” which is only a hundred meters and all the other paths that lead to other beautiful countries in the Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Starfish Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starfish Holidays Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing