We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So glad we stayed here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alla Marina
Ranked #2 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So glad we stayed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took TA's recommendation to stay at Alla Marina and were so glad we did. Sandro and Annette were wonderful. He waited for us at the train station (even though we missed the earlier train), insisted on taking our heavy luggage and giving us loads of information to make our stay perfect. The room was very clean and spacious and the food he provided was great - juice, milk, cereal, croissants, crackers, jam, coffee. tea. Enough to get us ready for our day of exploring the area. The location was also perfect. It was so close to the train station - we forgot our camera one day, so quickly rode the train back from another town, got the camera and caught the next train back. Riomaggiore was a great place to stay - great time, good food values. We had a huge pizza and full bottle of wine for 12 euros one day!!! Make sure you walk to the top and sit by the little church and watch the children at play after school.
Thanks Sandro and Annette annd good luck with your wedding plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank programom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    51
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
254
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Riomaggiore was not our first choice of town to stay in around Cinque Terre - after visiting all of the towns we thought this was the best!

The apartment was in a great location, Annette met us at the train station to show us to the apartment which made it really easy.

The rooms were large and clean, we had a view over the harbour and had a great time sitting in the window with a bottle of local wine people watching.

Sandro and Annette both gave us great tips for the area and were a pleasure to deal with, making the stay really easy and enjoyable.

Breakfast in the room was great and the free coffee at the station was a nice start to the day.

When we were leaving Sandro took the time to ask if there was anything we would recommend he does to make it better - I suggested a better hairdryer, within a minute he had one in the box in our room. So if you need anything just ask, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

A great base to explore the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The owner was very helpful and emailed very explicit directions on how to drive into this extremely hard to reach town- This was very important as it is actually dangerous to take the route we were planning to drive!.He even met us at a parking spot that he was holding for us and helped us carry our bag to the apartment. The accommodations were centrally located, very clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the fishing harbor. Sandro gave us a lay of the land and was always available by email, if not in his office, for questions and useful things like new towels. I can't recommend this place more highly for anyone who has very high standards of cleanliness and (I am allergic to everything!) and wants a incredibly beautiful and fun vacation! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maragol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

These rooms are fresh, modern and just on the boat ramp to the water. Sandro meets you at the station to show the low stair route and settle you in with all the information you need..
We had not expected breakfast to be included so were pleasantly surprised when found all prepared in the room and fridge.
Bed great with extra pillows. Large room safe big enough for the laptop. Large bathroom, great shower plenty hot water.
Some local noise at night but good glazing & very quiet for sleeping.
Pegs & line provided were so appreciated as the town laundromat closes at 7:30!
Sandro around for information & anything you need.
We loved our stay here, walking all day into the surrounding hills, sitting down on the harbour in the evenings after the tourists had left watching the sun set, and then eating in the restaurant just downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L805964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was by far the best accommodations we've had our entire time in Italy. Sondra and Annette were extremely helpful in every way from meeting us at the train station, explaining everything to us about the area, recommending activities - hikes and restaurants (even making our reservations) and lending us an umbrella! Our room looked out over the local marina and sea, was clean and comfortable. We listened to the sea all night long! Riomaggiore is the first of the towns but Alla Marina is very conveniently located to the train station which easily connect you to all of Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This property has windows that open to the tiny Riomaggiore harbour.
Ther is no room with a balcony and breakfast is supplied in the room.
As a base for walking the cinque terre towns it was ideal despite the coastal walks between Riomaggiore and Manarola and corniglia being closed at the time of our visit from27 April to 1May.
We found beautiful scenic walking trails inland from Riomaggiore and manarola.
Sandro, the manager met us at the train station and orientated us to the town. He remained available personally or via his deputies for the whole visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaelmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keego Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The host: Sandro was wonderful and very accommodating. He met us at the train station, and was helpful with our very heavy luggage (we had just come from Barolo, with 9 bottles of wine in our bags). During the walk to the room, he took time to point out everything we needed to know about the location (markets, restaurants, etc…).

The room: Large, airy space, with modern amenities, and comfortable beds. Incredible view of the Med from 2 windows (one off the bedroom, and the other off the sitting room). The windows also gave the space great natural light throughout. Americans may want to pack a soft pillow, but European travelers will feel right at home.

Location: Right above the harbor, with fantastic views of the Med, and the town. Close to the harbor; the beach trail; the town piazza (square); great little restaurants (La Lanterna is steps from the front door), and a local market. 5 minute walk from the train station.

Price: Very reasonable. When considered with the location; the quality of service, and the room, the cost was an excellent value.

Expect much stair climbing. …not only in the hotel, but throughout the Cinque Terre. Built 500 years ago or more, and into very steep hillsides, you don’t need an exercise facility in the hotel. Everywhere you go will give you a good cardio workout, and with a much better view than any health club.

Overall, a fantastic experience. Without hesitation, I would stay again, and recommend to anyone visiting the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinqueterre Residence
Cinqueterre Residence
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.9 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Marina

Property: Alla Marina
Address: Via San Giacomo 61 | 3rd Floor, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house "Alla Marina" is set right by the sea in Riomaggiore, one of the Cinque Terre villages.Train station is 4 minutes far on foot.Private Parking - upon request. Rooms are modern and have free Wi-Fi, private bath, and a free little breakfast inside of each room.Comfort facilities - hair dryer, safe and fridge. This singular position offers a marvelous panaramic view. Simply descend the stairway there is a restaurant/cofee bar.There are 3 rooms with sea view.Alla Marina guest house has been completely renovated in 2011 or later. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Marina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing