We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alla Marina
Nearby Hotels
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Due Gemelli(Riomaggiore)
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Luna di Marzo(Riomaggiore)
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NiRia(Riomaggiore)(Great Value!)
$106
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Scogliera(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baia di Rio(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Locanda Ca da Iride(Riomaggiore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Locanda del Sole(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Levante(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
467
60
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
60
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationthe ownercinque terrecroissantsperfect locationplace to stayshort walksimple breakfastbedroom apartmentrestaurants and shopswonderful roomfew stepsvia emaila lovely staygreat viewmini fridgesea view
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 534 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed five nights staying in the cheapest room available at Alla Marina and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. Sandro, the host, was the best. He has excellent English. He met us at the rail station and escorted us to the rooms, insisting on helping with our luggage. Sandro has lots of good advice on restaurants etc. Sandro made sure we enjoyed our stay. We'd love to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first time in Cinque Terre and we found Sandro's lovely place by good trip adviser ratings. We had high expectations and they were definitely met!
Sandro was so helpful on our arrival, giving us recommendations of restaurants, telling us the paths to walk and he even let us use one of the car parks for my cousin who was arriving and was at a loose end!
The view out the window is lovely. You can see the water and the fishing boats.
It was also really handy having a little clothesline out the window to hang swimsuits after a day's swimming.
Great place to stay and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanielanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is exactly what one would want in the Cinque Terre, no more, no less.

Sandro was great to work with both before and during our visit. We traded several emails back and forth beforehand to prepare for the trip. He picked us up at the train station upon arrival. He provided us with a list of all the things we should do and see in the Cinque Terre and recommended hiking paths and what we could expect on them. He also surprised us by bringing us croissants for breakfast our first morning, though breakfast wasn't supposed to be included. He goes above and beyond to help make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The unit itself was large, with a separate sitting area, and it had wifi so we could email family back home when our legs were too dead to move after full days of hiking. If you leaned your head out of the window there was a nice ocean view as well. The room was basically all that was needed; we didn't spend much time there anyway, since it's just a base between hiking and exploring.

I did consider giving this only a four star because of the location - if I were to go back to the Cinque Terre (which I really hope I do since it's probably the greatest place on earth, no hyperbole), I would probably stay in a different town. There weren't many places open in Riomaggiore during the off-season, and to find a good restaurant we had to go to Manarola and Corniglia except for the one night when the restaurant near Alla Marina was open.

With that said, if you're going to stay in Riomaggiore, Alla Marina is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having wanted to walk the path for many years we actually booked about 6 weeks before going. The information posted by Sandro made me think that he was "get up and go" and he was! The view we wanted had gone in the space of 30 mins between our first email from him and confirmation so we asked if he would move us into a room with a view if he had a cancellation and he did.
Until you get here you really have no idea how difficult the location is to access by car so to make a B&b work the owner has to arrange all sorts of things to facilitate a driver. He rang us the day of check-in, gave us directions through La Spezia, met us where he'd said he'd be, got us through the "residents only " barrier and had reserved parking as close to his property as possible. Then he co-opted his brother to take our bags down through the town (and back up again when we left). He told us he'd lost 14kilos when he returned to live in Riomaggiore!
The family history of this building is SO interesting and all the way down through the town he was telling us about it.
Our room overlooked the harbour and you had all of life going on outside. We were about 4 floors up and I was even getting up in the night just to look out at the location and the sea. The room itself was very beautifully refurbished in cool fawn and grey and white. The bed was lovely and comfy and the bathroom was done out in stone. When he told us that all the materials had to be carried to his business on foot because there is no car access you realised how much he had put in to this.
There were lots of supplies available for breakfast placed in our room and the room was very clean.
As you can tell I was very very impressed with this place and incredibly glad that we stayed there.

Room Tip: Offer your credit card when you book and he will move you into a room with a view if one becomes available
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

You will not find a better place to stay, and a kinder manager/owner than Sandro at the Alla Marina in Riomaggiore. He makes sure every detail is taken care of, responds to any and all questions quickly and efficiently on email, and offers to meet you at the train to escort you to his wonderful rooms in this beautiful little town.

I am a travel agent, and Alla Marina will always be my first choice to recommend to my clients.

Thank you Sandro!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews