We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Argentina
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accommodation”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great hotel, very friendly staff always willing to help out. Large assortment of foods for breakfast. Good location with an amazing view, especially at sun set. Our travel agent only booked us in a standard room but we when apse arrived we had been upgraded to a balcony room which was such a bonus and really made our stay.

Rooms are small and when using the toilet your knees are pressed up against the wall but in saying this you are only in your room to sleep so this wasn't a huge issue.

Although the hill was quite steep it was a good workout with our backpacks preparing us for the walk the next day. We figured each time we walked up the hill meant another gelato or mojito we could have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0nkley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    138
    72
    28
    13
See reviews for
68
181
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this hotel - we arrived by car in Riomaggiore without a booking so were very pleased to find somewhere to stay - and with parking onsite too!

We really liked the location - up the hill above the town but accessible via some steps so it wasn't too long a walk at all down to the restaurants, train station etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a lovely continental breakfast with fresh local food including patisseries and good coffee. Our room did not have a balcony but there was a communal balcony with plenty of chairs and tables and great views!

We felt our room was quite expensive (110 Euros) for its size and standard - a fan rather than air conditioning, and quite small and dated.

All in all, a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although the uphill trek to our hotel was daunting; the view from our room was worth every step. We had a sea view and a lovely balcony. On day 2 we caught on to the bus schedule and timed our return to the hotel according to the bus. What a relief! The staff was super friendly, the hotel was spotless and the breakfast very good. The only down side, other than the perpendicular climb, was the fact that there was no elevator, and only 1 English-speaking TV channel; but at the end of a long day of exploring the town, we were exhausted anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. I think we were in #15, on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

During peak season choices were limited but this hotel was fine. Rooms were very small especially the bathroom that you could hardly move in and one of the bed slates came away. However, the staff were more than helpful and the views from the balcony were stunning. There is no lift either to a number of stairs to carry heavy bags.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Riomaggiore in August is maxed out - streets are clogged, tourists stream in by the busloads, and hotels are full or are very nearly so. I rolled into Riomaggiore late on a Saturday night and learned this the hard way. After checking all the hotels on the main strip, I started to leave to move on the the next village along the Cinque Terre and happened to spot the Villa Argentina along the upper road of the town. I turned back and checked for a vacancy. The attendant - an incredibly helpful and friendly guy from Morocco - had a vacancy at a very affordable rate at a small apartment not attached to the main hotel. It was perfect for me. I ended up staying a day longer than I had planned because I enjoyed the laid-back accommodations and the friendliness of the staff so much. An extensive breakfast is included in the cost of the room. If I come back to the Cinque Terre, this is definitely where I'll stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and would never stay here again firstly we booked s room with a sea view but the room did not have a sea view but the Window looked out to a staircase that when people walked past the noise echoed through the room. When I spoke to the staff about this they said that all of the rooms with view were taken and they said that I did not book one I then produced the documentation stating that I did the staff were very rude saying that this was not their fault as the information was wrong on the website I booked from (made booking On hotels.com) there was no apology for the inconvenience just simply it is not our fault we cannot help you. I have stayed in many hostels and hotels across the world and have never had such poor service.

The room was small with uncomfortable bed with no aircon and a very loud fan, the bathroom was do small that when sitting on the toilet your knees hit the wall ( I am small 160cm tall), the rooms walls are thin and can hear everything from the rooms around, the breakfast was horrible lots of sweet cakes and pastries the muesli was stale and on all three mornings had to chase up milk the juice tasted like sugar water with and the worst coffee in Italy.
To sum up font stay here there are much better places around the town

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tishie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After getting off the train it was a bit of a trek up to the hotel with backbacks for luggage but it got us prepared for the hiking we were about to do. If possible take the shuttle bus.

We had a great view from our room. Our bathroom however was very small and we had to practically have to climb over the toilet to get to the shower. This made getting out of the shower a bit of a challenge when wet and slippery. When sitting on the loo my knees were almost touching the wall. (I am not a tall person, aprrox 5.5). I am not sure if all the rooms are like this. We were in a twin room with two single beds which were fairly comfortable. Although the art work in the room was very strange, but hey, most of the time we were in the room we were sleeping so had our eyes closed.

The breakfast was adequate, with quite a good range for a continental breakfast with quite a lot of local jams and preserves.

Overall this was an adequate hotel as Cinque Terra is not a place you want to spend your time in your hotel room but out and about exploring. Whilst I have only rated it average it certainly is on the higher side of average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Property: Hotel Villa Argentina
Address: Via Alcide De' Gasperi 170, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Argentina dominates the antique village of Riomaggiore .The small e quaint hotel has most its room heated with view of the sea and small sunny terrace ,all of which included private satellite TV, safe and ceiling fans. The hotel is in perfect position to begin some beautiful walks(via dell’amore) and hikes unite the towns in the midst of mother nature’s untainted scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing