We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great views, friendly staff, mediocre quarters and bfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Argentina
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly staff, mediocre quarters and bfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I spent our two nights in Cinque Terre at Hotel Villa Argentina after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Most importantly, if you are arriving to Riomaggiore via train, be prepared to walk up a steep inclines and be a little disoriented when you arrive. By the way, the train is a great way to travel across Italy.

When exiting the train station, take your immediate right (follow the people/crowds) and continue on through the pedestrian tunnel that runs along the interior of the railway tunnel. Once you exit the south end of the tunnel, begin walking up the village center, if you have heavy suitcases, pace yourself, especially on hot days. The walk from the pedestrian tunnel to the hotel is roughly half a mile up hill, keep the faith, the hotel is actually up there. Evidently there is a bus, but we could not find it anywhere.

Hotel Villa Argentina is situated at the "top" of Riomaggiore, with fantastic views of the town and ocean from the open balcony (equipped with tables and umbrellas for relaxing). A select few rooms also share these breathtaking views of the very colorful, intimate, and historic fishing village, in addition to the ocean. The lobby is open and is part of a shared space for the free breakfast service in the mornings from 8am-10am and is very clean. There was a very eager attendant who ran our heavier luggage up to the room; there are no elevators, just stairs. We found our room to be facing away from the village and ocean, which meant our window opened directly to the side of the hill and thus, we had no natural light ever enter the room, literally. An open window would allow a breeze into the room, but the only light came from the relatively harsh and unfiltered lighting of the dated fixtures in the room. This was a big downer for us, it's not comfortable to be in a hotel room that is constantly dark and that feels like a dank cave. The room, however, was clean, had a shower that actually provided warm water for more than 5 minutes, a full tub, desk, armoire, and bed with visibly clean linens. The mattress, however, was relatively uncomfortable, but after spending 9 hours hiking Cinque Terre and putting up with the throngs of tourists, you will barely notice what feels to be plies of cardboard hiding within the mattress. It's also important to note that the walls were paper thin, you can hear every toilet flush, every shower being taken, and (from our room), the echoes of every voice that passed by the tunnel that led to our window. If you were lucky like us, you will have fellow guests that are mostly quiet and respectful. Pay attention to the ongoing showers in the AM, though, if you're not in before 9am, you might find that the hot water I mentioned doesn't exist. Aim for PM showers and early AM showers if you want a nice shower unsullied by insufficient hot water.

Maid service begins early, if you're not awake by 8:30am, be prepared to receive a knock on your door, a 5 second wait, and the abrupt entrance of a very kind, but surprised hotel employee to find you dazed and confused in bed, or running to grab some clothes after just finish a shower. They appear to try and get in and out while you're eating "breakfast" down in the lobby. My wife and I came back just as they finished to a very clean room, but found that they bleach EVERYTHING. The room will wreak of bleach, FYI, if you have a sensitive nose or respiratory system. The excessive use of bleach on every surface is somewhat disconcerting, especially when paired with the overpowering aroma. Keep your clothes away from the floor, just to be safe to avoid bleach stains.

Breakfast was not what we expected, especially from reading the reviews. There was the usual arrangement of Italian pastries and sweets, peppered with some granola, cereal, and milk that was left out in opened cartons along the table. If you are like my wife and I, and require a good cup of caffeine to start your day, take care not to expect it from the automated machine they provide you with for breakfast. We must have been spoiled at our previous lodgings and B&B's, as they all made an effort to make fresh espresso-based beverages to your liking with fully functional espresso machines. Not so here. Your cup will fill with what looks like muddy water, which is then topped with some more water, then a white liquid that somewhat resembles milk. The taste is no better, skip it. The pastries were not very good, when compared to our other free breakfast experiences and the meat options were clearly the discount special from a local COOP or market. The reviews we read really had our hopes high for breakfast and we were very disappointed. My advice, carbo-load and sugar-up on the stuff they provide, make it to Manarola or any of the other towns, and grab a 3 euro fresh Nutella or fruit crepe and a cappuccino prepared by a human being!

All in all, my wife and I looked at other places in town and Hotel Villa Argentina is clearly one of the better establishments. You can come back to a clean room, sleep somewhat soundly, and be rested enough to get the hell out of the cave, and enjoy the immense beauty of the Cinque Terre. The price makes it worth while. If they made an effort to make a few adjustments, they could easily be within reach of the "Very Good" category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    126
    61
    25
    11
See reviews for
60
156
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were 3 couples and we booked a double room and an appartment for 4. That was a shame because the appartment was a huge house next to the hotel where could sleep more than 6 persons.(The house was great value for money and ideal for summer vacation with a big terrace with view!- the double room was a bit overpriced) . We all eat breakfast at the hotel, the variety was ok, the quality could be better (that thing wasn't juice).
For the station is a 10min walk down the hill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here in August 2011 for about a week and loved it! The rooms are spacious and clean and the customer service is awesome too. They had free wifi and a great breakfast - the view is unbelievable out on the terrace! It's a bit of a hike up to the hotel from the train station, but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with Juliet balconies are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I travelled with my Mum and Aunty around France, Switzerland and Italy in October 2012. We got a taxi from Monterosso cause the trains were not running which we were very happy about. The hotel is located at the top of the village which provides a great escape from the hustle and bustle of tourists and provides a FANTASTIC view. This was our favourite place to stay during our 5 week holiday. The room was small but all we needed, the service in the Hotel was PERFECT. Most of the food was prepared by one of the ladies who worked in the Hotel which made it feel so homely. They were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to my friends and family for future travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieJam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A charming hotel at the very top of the village. It was be extremely handy to know that there is a shuttle bus to take visitors to the top, as we arrived exhausted and dripping in reception after dragging our wheelie bags uphill for at least a kilometre. This point shold be noted in all literature, and from travel agents, if used. The hotel itself was charming, and the views were amazing. It was clean and peaceful, although, travelling with my daughter, we requested a twin room, and the single beds are VERY narrow. Breakfast was good, and the most helpful staff member was the young fellow who worked late afternoons and evenings. Wifi worked great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. It is worth it. And get the shuttle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwiashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there in September for 3 nights and were not disappointed. The standout was the very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel was clean, the views were great and breakfast was good.
Additionally the wifi was free and worked well.
On the downside, the bathroom was extremely small. There were no elevators and we were on the top floor. However the staff carried our bags to the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamGulAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Yes, it is a trek up the hill with lugguage from the train station (good for your legs). The hotel is comfortable, clean, safe and priced reasonably. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, we looked forward to it every day! Would stay here again

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Levante
Sol Levante
#9 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Property: Hotel Villa Argentina
Address: Via Alcide De' Gasperi 170, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Argentina dominates the antique village of Riomaggiore .The small e quaint hotel has most its room heated with view of the sea and small sunny terrace ,all of which included private satellite TV, safe and ceiling fans. The hotel is in perfect position to begin some beautiful walks(via dell’amore) and hikes unite the towns in the midst of mother nature’s untainted scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing