We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh that view!”
Review of Affittacamere Edi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Affittacamere Edi
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Reviewed March 30, 2012

First, they are not kidding about the stairs. Pack light and bring a small bag! We took the train from Rome, changed to the local train in La Spezia and then it was a short (5-8 min) journey to Riomaggiore. We walked through the tunnel and UP the main road to Edi’s office. The lady there was very helpful and spoke enough English for us to communicate. She took us back down the hill, up a short flight of steps to a small door in an alley. At that time, I am thinking, “this is not so bad, I can manage those stairs.” She opened the door and we were in an apartment building. She informed us that our room was on the fourth floor. It was a long way up with a heavy bag and the granite stairs got steeper and steeper. We got to our room, and she opened the door only to be confronted by another steep staircase. Once we got into the room and she opened the doors to the balcony, the stairs were quickly forgotten. Wow – what a fantastic view of the town and the sea. The room was basic, large and clean but oh that view! Contact Edi by e-mail: edi-vesigna@iol.it. I understand she has quite a few rooms and apartments available in Riomaggiore.

Unfortunately, due to the large storm in Nov 2011, only the Via dell’Amore path was open on the Blue (#2) trail from Riomaggiore to Manarola. We walked along this and then took the train to the rest of the villages. We bought a 1 day Cinque Terre card from the railway station (E10 to use the walking path and unlimited train rides to all the villages.) Manarola was our favorite village as it is a little larger and has more restaurants but easily accessible from Riomaggiore. We went to a great wine bar in Corniglia - Enoteca “Il Pirun”. Stop by, get a glass of wine and a plate of anchovies and chat with Mario. Vernazza was a disaster area. Serverely damaged from the storm and flooding. It was like a ghost town with major construction going on and the only place open was a pizza place (which had great pizza) down by the harbor. We did not visit Monterosso as another couple told us it had also been badly damaged and had lots of construction going on.

We bought wine from the little market opposite and enjoyed it on our balcony. We also got some decent food for breakfast , lunch, snacks or dinner at the take out place just up the hill on the right. One night we ate in Riomaggiore at La Grotta (opposite) and the food was good (order any of the fresh seafood with the Cinque Terre local white wine) and reasonable. Another night we walked in the dark along the path to Manarola. A little creepy but fun. Bring a flashlight!

The balcony and view from our room in Riomaggiore were definitely a highlight of our vacation in Italy and a nice change of pace from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We would love to go back when all of the hiking paths are open and spend some more time exploring the Cinque Terre area and sitting on that balcony!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twoAmericantourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I were travelling with another married couple. Our home base in Cinque Terra (CT) was Riomaggiore, and we used Edi to secure an apartment, as it seems that most accomodations in CT are done through affittacamere/apartments than hotels/motels.

We took the option of an apartment which had two bedrooms, living room, full bath and kitchen. The cost was very reasonable split between the two parties. Apartment turned out to be very spacious, with more than enough room. It included a wonderful balcony accessed by both bedrooms, and was large enough for the four of us to sit and enjoy a drink (or two) after a long day of walking and touring. The view was absolutely amazing, as it looked out onto the lit up village at night, huge sky with big stars, the ability to see the ocean from the corner of the terrace and breezes blowing onto the terrace and into the rooms. And while not looking directly out to the ocean (could see from the corner of the balcony), we really didn't mind as the view of the town at night was spectacular and part of the real treasure of this place.

While the apartment was large, spacious and absolutely fulfilled our needs, the negative would be that it was not exactly updated or modernized and the beds were sufficient but not exactly very comfortable. While not modern, cleanliness was not an issue, and we did not mind since it actually gave it an old fashioned, homey feel that suits the town perfectly. And while the beds were not that comfortable, they were good enough, and after a long day of touring, it didn't cause anyone to lose sleep!

The agent/owner was absolutely pleasant, although not entirely proficient in English, and payment was by cash only. While there is an ATM conveniently located on the main street, just a forewarning that for us, payment by credit card was not an option.

Many reviews lament the stair climbing to apartments in CT. My experience visiting is that no one should visit CT who isn't prepared to walk a lot of stairs. That is part of the very nature and uniqueness of the town. While our apartment was not far from the main street down to the ocean, we did have to climb many steps to get to our apartment. I'd say especially if you are looking for a view, there are likely to be stairs involved.

One major word of advice: Best to pack light or at least have the belongings you need for your time in CT in a carry-on size case or duffel that you can easily take to your apartment. If you have to take a big suitcase(s) with all the stuff from your trip, the effort to get these to and from your apartment could be an exhausting endeavor.

Initially we were thinking of staying in Monterosso or Vernaza, but have no regrets staying in Riomaggiore. It felt more local, less touristy, had beautiful vantage points to see the ocean, was not too big or small, had good options for restaurants and bars and had simple access to the "Walk of Love", the easiest, paved portion of the hike between the towns. In fact, we walked this portion even at night after dinner from the next town over. Not only was it completely safe, but the views of the ocean at night, and sections of the town and rock cliff lit up are stunning, and not likely had by the other towns. The "Walk of Love" takes about 20 minutes between towns, and was nice to have quick easy access to both without having to take a major hike or train. While more touristy, Monterosso had a great beach for those that need time in the sand or want to lay out, but maybe not as local a feel or intimate as Rio. Each town has its own uniqueness about it, and not sure you can go wrong with any.

Bottom line: While the apartment was not 5 star "Ritz" accomodations, it felt like a home away from home, had everything we needed, provided plenty of space for four, and would definitely stay there again or use Edi for similar accomodations.

Room Tip: We stayed at Via della Valetta, 58 in Riomaggiore. Great balcony that overlooked the town at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Traveler10Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Booked the first night at a pleasant B&B I found online, but on the advice of a traveller I met asked at Edi for what was available. The lady was wonderful and showed me pictures online of a room, with a fabulous water view at a great price. It was very roomy, equipped and located perfectly for what I was after all for a priced you'd expect to pay in a hostel. Very very happy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejaydfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Edi's room on the main street was just right for us. It was up about 5 flights of stairs, but we got used to it pretty fast and the exercise helped considering the food we ate! The room was very clean, had a great little deck that overlooked the harbor and village. There's a laundromat next to Edi's, which although a little expensive, was very helpful as we needed clean clothes at that point of our trip. Hanging clothes on the little clothesline was entertaining! Our room was 80 euros and seemed a reasonable deal for the view etc, but I think I would negotiate if I was to return, especially if staying more than a couple of nights. Riomaggiore was a lot of fun after hours.

Room Tip: Ask Edi to forward photographs of proposed rooms to help you make a decision. Everyone in Riomaggior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The most unexpected stay, was in Riomaggiore. I asked for a room for a couple of days, and I got a BEAUTIFUL apt. with a full kitchen & terrace, 2-bedrooms, Huge bath-room. Looking out every window, a sea-view. Thank you, so much for best stay ever for 70 euro's a night!

Room Tip: check with the locals for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Make no mistakes this room is a basic studio and up some very steep stairs. However Im assuming that like us, you arent going to the Cinque Terre without being realistic about how much hiking, climbing and outdoor activities you will be doing. I promise you that Im not particularly fit and that even after combatting the toughest leg of the hike between the towns (Vernazza to Monterossa) I could still muster up the energy to climb the three flights of stairs to our apartment.
Its major advantages are that its right in the centre of town and has a lovely view of the sea from the window.
We actually chose to shop for freshly made pasta and pesto and buy local wine at one of the grocery stores and make our own dinner in the kitchenette then push the table under the window and eat whilst watching the sun set. It was very romantic!
When you arrive at the train station, the town is back down the train tunnel in a pedestrian tunnel, I would advise taking your bags through here to the bottom of the hill that the main street of the town winds up. If you are in a duo i would advise leaving one person with the bags at the base of the main street and the other hiking up to the check in point for the Apartments Edi, once you have your key and the nice lady who runs the apartments checks you in then go and grab your bags and travelling companion and go the short distance up the hill (the check in place is far higher up the hill than Studio Ginestra is, save your energy where possible!).
We used the local trains to also go all the way to Santa Margherita and then take a bus to Portofino, would highly recommend this as a day trip! We got to Portofino by 9am and were able to watch all the luxury yachts and their passengers disembarking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoMcElvenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I had to contact all of the places in Riomaggiore by eMail. There aren't any big fancy websites with reservation services. I contacted Edi and they had prompt responses and professional. The entire Cinque Terre region was our favorite part of our Italy trip. We visited Milan, Venice, Rome, Pisa and Cinque Terre. I highly recommend it here. It is like going back in time to a more simple time. The hikes are amazing and the vistas are breathtaking.

They had small apartments which was perfect for what I needed. Our apartment was in the marina of Riomaggiore. It had windows that over looked the water and everything that was happening. We were able to watch the sunset from our room, amazing. I absolutely loved the place. It had a kitchen so we could cook our own meals with fresh vegetables from the local market.

Keep in mind to ask anyone who you are thinking of renting from in Cique Terre how many stairs are required to get into your room. It wasn't a problem but I know some of the places were like 40-60 stairs. Yikes.

I noticed a billing error when I got home to the states. I eMailed Edi and the credit card was credited within 2 days. Great service even when giving me money back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adamccz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
364 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Locanda dalla Compagnia
#11 of 11 in Riomaggiore
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Edi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Edi

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 111, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range: $86 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Affittacamere Edi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affittacamere Edi Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing