We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment exceeded by wonderful owners!”
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment exceeded by wonderful owners!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Based on previous reviews, the apartment was the first place to stayed I had booked when planning my family's vacation. I was slightly apprehensive because I couldn't believe it could be as good as the reviews. Boy, was I wrong!

We arrived in Riomaggiore early and went to find the apartment. The directions were spot on and we were able to locate it within short order. Please note there is much vertical relief in this area, with many steep and narrow flights of stairs. We met Paolo as the room was being ready and were able to drop off our luggage and have a wonderful lunch at a local restaurant overlooking the sea. As we sat there, our friends who had rented the room met up with us. Paolo was unavailable, but we were able to get the keys to the room from his mother, the sweetest lady I met in Italy. We were able to trip across the language barrier and get our friend's room keys.

When inside the apartment, we were greeted with a bottle of homemade limoncello, produced from lemons picked at the owner's grove. The bottle sat on the kitchen table, located in a spacious kitchen with proper cooking amenities, including a large refrigerator/freezer and stove. There are plenty of grocery options in town, as well as takeaway and sit-down restaurants. The end of the kitchen opened up to a deck overlooking the sea. This is where quite a bit of our time was spent, as we would eat our meals and take in the scenery.

The bedroom had a door separating it from the kitchen. It, too, was well sized and had windows overlooking the sea. My son's bed folded out from the wall unit. A remote-controlled air conditioner was located in the bedroom, as well as another one in the kitchen. The bathroom was in a room off the main entrance. It had a nice shower and wonderful in-line, on demand water heater.

The second day we were there, Paolo's nephew, David, met us in the apartment. David speaks English fluently, which made me more comfortable with my remedial Italian. In his hands was one of the most delicious lemon tarts I have ever enjoyed. It is my understanding that it was made by Paolo, and it was still warm. Does it get any better?

After 3 days of swimming, kayaking, strolling, shopping, and just relaxing, we were greeted after supper by Paolo, David, and Agostino. All three came to the apartment to see if there was anything else they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Talk about family service. After our visit, I would not hesitate in setting up another reservation. Congratulations on exceeding my expectations! A presto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peteman901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
183
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The most amazing view to wake up to every morning, didn't want to leave. Clean self contained unit and worth every step to get there. We loved it, it's not every day your landlord makes you lemon tarts and brings wine for you. It helped we could speak Italian and I think he enjoyed sharing it with us. Close to town, the harbour and not far to the railway line. If we go back to Cinque Terre this would be were we would want to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussiecrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Riomaggiore and the Cinque Terre are incredible places that show the beauty Italy and Italian culture. The region by itself is worth a visit regardless of where you stay. However, Paulo's place and meeting him and his mother exceeded the beauty of the coastline. The hospitality that he and his mother showed my wife and I cut through the language and cultural barriers, and made us feel at ease.

As for the accommodations: we stayed in the room, which is as spectacular as the previous pictures and reviews show. It was impeccably clean, it is perfect for two people. We were able to purchase local ingredients and put together simple meals and eat them over looking the harbor. It was hard to justify going out when the best view and table is in the privacy of your room.

Swimming was just steps away, and we enjoyed many beaches hiking between the towns in the Cinque Terre.

Do not hesitate to stay here, and consider yourself lucky once you have secured a reservation. Just be sure to follow the directions on how to find the room and Paulo's home (On their website and in the pictures on trip advisor you can see the room from the harbor. The apartment is above it, and Paulo's home is above the apartment), and be prepared to interact with his mother who speaks only Italian.

Room Tip: Just be sure to follow the directions on how to find the room and Paulo's home, and be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YellowDog81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here towards the end of a 2 week Italy visit. We saw much of Italy, but we consider this area our favorite. The food in the area was amazing. We had the room, and the sound of the ocean just outside the window put you to sleep. The room was one of the best we had in Italy, and we stayed at many nice hotels. Absolutely loved the limoncello and lemon cake received from the owners. I have to say the service was perfect. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sodako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in April. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip and Cinque Terre is truly one of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our view was breathtaking... we opened the big windows and listened to the surf while sipping on delicious homemade limoncello and wine that were left for us. We came home one night to a still warm out of the oven lemon cake which seriously was so delicious we savored every bite! We printed out the directions from the website before arriving and didn't have any problems finding the place. Riomaggiore is very quaint. Lots of little shops to stock up snacks and lunch food for the day and some restaurants for the evening. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to a friend! I hope one day we can come back. Thank you Paulo and Agostino for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We knew this would be good. However it is so much better then good. Everything is brilliant. This would have to be one of the best places we have ever stayed!
Lemon cake and limoncino home made as a welcome. Seriously I was won over before that but it just made it all soooooo much more amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnybinny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had some trepidation about staying here as we are in our sixties and had felt that it may be a climb to the room. It was indeed quite a haul up the steps but so worth it! The room was lovely with bright and airy decor. Small but adequate bathroom and useful stuff like coffee maker, fridge and safe provided. Paolo, the joint owner with his brother, provided so many clean towels that we didn't use them all. When we arrived there was a bottle of limoncello waiting for us made with lemons from his own grove and to this, later in the week, was added the gift of a tasty lemon cake, again from his own production and a bottle of his own wine. Incidentally, seeing that I had finished the limoncello, he ran back upstairs and brought down another! The view from the windows out over the ocean and the cliffs was spectacular. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves and woke to the calling of the family of seagulls living under our window. We had a really splendid time at La Scogliera

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Property: La Scogliera
Address: Salita Castello, 174, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing