We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here towards the end of a 2 week Italy visit. We saw much of Italy, but we consider this area our favorite. The food in the area was amazing. We had the room, and the sound of the ocean just outside the window put you to sleep. The room was one of the best we had in Italy, and we stayed at many nice hotels. Absolutely loved the limoncello and lemon cake received from the owners. I have to say the service was perfect. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sodako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in April. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip and Cinque Terre is truly one of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our view was breathtaking... we opened the big windows and listened to the surf while sipping on delicious homemade limoncello and wine that were left for us. We came home one night to a still warm out of the oven lemon cake which seriously was so delicious we savored every bite! We printed out the directions from the website before arriving and didn't have any problems finding the place. Riomaggiore is very quaint. Lots of little shops to stock up snacks and lunch food for the day and some restaurants for the evening. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to a friend! I hope one day we can come back. Thank you Paulo and Agostino for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We knew this would be good. However it is so much better then good. Everything is brilliant. This would have to be one of the best places we have ever stayed!
Lemon cake and limoncino home made as a welcome. Seriously I was won over before that but it just made it all soooooo much more amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynnybinny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had some trepidation about staying here as we are in our sixties and had felt that it may be a climb to the room. It was indeed quite a haul up the steps but so worth it! The room was lovely with bright and airy decor. Small but adequate bathroom and useful stuff like coffee maker, fridge and safe provided. Paolo, the joint owner with his brother, provided so many clean towels that we didn't use them all. When we arrived there was a bottle of limoncello waiting for us made with lemons from his own grove and to this, later in the week, was added the gift of a tasty lemon cake, again from his own production and a bottle of his own wine. Incidentally, seeing that I had finished the limoncello, he ran back upstairs and brought down another! The view from the windows out over the ocean and the cliffs was spectacular. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves and woke to the calling of the family of seagulls living under our window. We had a really splendid time at La Scogliera

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Everything about this place is fabulous, At the bottom of the marina the up, up, up, the stairs! Rang the bell of the apartment and Maria (the mother) came out from her apartment. She speaks no English, and I speak no Italian, and the translator app on my phone was not much help, but she had a list of guest names and pointed to ours then gave us the key. Walked into 4 days of heaven. A good sized bathroom, a cute dining area and kitchen with a walk out terrace with a fabulous view, then a bedroom with adequate closet space and safe deposit box. The apartment sits on the cliffs just above the ocean marina. Something about the waves crashing on the rocks below was so soothing, I slept so well. We had a bottle of homemade Limoncino awaiting us and then a delicious lemon tart made by Paulo. Speaking of Paulo, a genuinely nice and hospitable man We enjoyed his visits, and though we speak no Italian, and he does speak limited English, we were able to communicate and have a couple of lovely visits with him. He shared pictures of his family and of Riomaggiore both past and present and was interested in knowing about us and our hometown. If you are thinking of visiting the Cinque Terra, do yourself a favor and stay in Riomaggiore, it's smaller and not as crowded with tourists and by all means stay here. Then buy yourself some wine, bread, cheese, and salami from one of the local stores, sit on the terrace and toast to the Cinque Terra.




b

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked our stay in Riomaggiore with some trepidation as "The Room" sounded a bit scary. I am writing this review sitting in front of my window in "The Room" and listening to the incredible surf and sea gulls with all my stress melting away. The room is wonderfully equipped with all the emenities and we love the view and feeling so much we are going to eat in our room and watch the sun set. Please communicate (Email preferred) when you expect to arrive and don't be afraid to ask for directions down the the marina as it is a bit challenging to find. The bed is a Queen and there is a small fridge and sitting area by the room's window that looks out over Mediterranean Heaven. The bathroom is excellent with its own hot water supply. We couldn't be more happy with this incredible "Room"!!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This beautiful accommodation in Cinque Terre took my breath away immediately. As I stepped out onto our balcony for the first time I was instantly captivated by the most incredible seascape I have ever witnessed. During the mornings we listened to the crashing waves and in the evening we sipped our complimentary limoncello given to us from the owner's son, Paolo (who is a gem of a host himself), while watching the sunset - everything was so beyond enjoyable and staying here is truly like a dream. Fully recommended to anyone in the Riomaggiore area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dchackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Salita Castello, 174, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing