We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Breathtaking”
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly Breathtaking”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This beautiful accommodation in Cinque Terre took my breath away immediately. As I stepped out onto our balcony for the first time I was instantly captivated by the most incredible seascape I have ever witnessed. During the mornings we listened to the crashing waves and in the evening we sipped our complimentary limoncello given to us from the owner's son, Paolo (who is a gem of a host himself), while watching the sunset - everything was so beyond enjoyable and staying here is truly like a dream. Fully recommended to anyone in the Riomaggiore area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dchackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
185
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay. The view is unbelievable & the sound of the crashing waves below create a "white-out" sound that is relaxing and peaceful. The owner and her son are very friendly. Their concern with our needs was very nice and extremely genuine. This is THE place to stay in Riomaggiore. The son made us a cake from his local lemons which was still warm as he handed it to us. He also had a bottle of homemade wine and a bottle of his own Limoncino. Where else can a visitor get such amenities? Top rated is my feeling about La Scogliera!!!

Room Tip: Both units have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Braintree063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned (May 2013) from perhaps the best experience we have ever had. When we entered our room At La Scogliera we were mesmerized.by its charm (and that means really charming charm). Awaiting us on our little kitchen table, was a welcome bottle of Paola's family wine and windows overlooking the sea which I immediately opened and hung out of to fully appreciate the Mediterranean directly below me. The room was meticulous and well designed. It included a queen size bed, flat screen TV, complimentary WiFi, safe, ample closet space, coffee/tea machine and room to easily move around in.The bathroom was modern with a great shower, hair dryer and self hot water heating tank. Our friends stayed in the apartment two stories above where we shared our breakfasts that we were able to purchase up the street (juice, milk, yogurt ,fruit,and coffee cake.) Maria, Paola's mother, was our greeter. Paola came later baring gifts, a freshly homemade limoncello torte and a bottle of his own made limoncello. We suggested where he should hang Trip Advisor's 2013 Outstanding Award, right above 2012's!!!

Room Tip: Travel light. Most accommodations require old stone steps to reach them. Take the boat over the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agmfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at La Scogliera and hopefully we will come again. Last time we stayed for three nights, this time eight nights and I wish it was longer. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The view of the harbour from all rooms of the apartment is mesmerising, it is only a short walk to the main street and the train station. The apartment is very clean, has lines to hang your washing on (there is a laundromat in the main street) and the wifi signal is good. But what makes this apartment the BEST is the welcome that you receive from Paulo. He is such a gracious host and so friendly and warm, he is very keen to make your stay the best it can be. Riomaggiore is a nice village and when you have been there for a few days you feel that you become part of the community as everyone is friendly. This is a great place to stay in a beautiful village to experience many magnificent walks in the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I are from California. It was our first time visiting and we found the place to be very clean and well maintained. The staff is very very friendly. We enjoyed our afternoons and mornings sitting on the small balcony overlooking the bay. It is relatively easy to get around the town from here once you get familiar with the location. Follow the directions provided to get to the apartment, you will need them! The only tip we can give is that if you are right in front of the marina where the boats are, veer to the right and be prepared to climb about four to five flights of Italian stairs - it just adds to an amazing experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dbarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can only recommend this apartment and the owners. Everything was very clean and the view from the balcony to the sea is breathtaking. We also enjoyed very much the lemon cake that Paolo has made for us. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Irmgard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a recent short break in the apartment and were delighted with both the apartment and location and have no hesitation in recommending it.

The apartment is very comfortable, with everything in good order. The real highlight is its location and its breathtaking views. The balcony is small but adequate and a real suntrap - getting the afternoon and evening sun and beautiful sunset views over the sea..... blissful. Don't be put off by the fact that you have to climb a few steep steps to get to it, there are hand rails along the way for most of it - it would not suit the frail but for the rest of us able bodied (and not necessarily fit) it is fine. As others have said, once you get there it is worth the effort.

The owners are very friendly and do their utmost to make your stay enjoyable.

Riomaggiore itself is a great base to explore Cinque Terre. With the excellent train service you do not have to rely on the ferry, which is weather dependent. Both are great ways to travel. The town has a good selection of small restaurants and especially good choice of local take away stores (great for meals on the balcony watching the sunset), a few tourist shops and some great little grocery stores; there are also a couple of bars.

We were not able use the scenic coast walking routes, which are closed for the time-being waiting on repair after landslide damage but there are other walks on offer with rewarding views.

We had a really lovely stay here - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trpadv-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Property: La Scogliera
Address: Salita Castello, 174, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing