We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. NOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here. NOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Fantastic views, great location and amazing people. We stayed in the apartment over Easter weekend of 2012 and Paolo and his family made us feel totally at home. They even suprised us with a homemade pie and wine on Easter morning. During our stay, the coastal trail was only open from Riomaggiore to Manarola and from Monterossa to Vernassa, so walking the whole trail was not an option. We didn't find this to be very dissapointing, as the train runs to all of the villages and the views from the apartment were grand enough to want to just sit all day with a book. We did end up doing a ridge hike above the villages that started in Riomaggiore and was basically free of tourists. The apartment has everything you will need to cook your own meals and there are a couple good grocery places in town to get what you need. This was more than enough space for my boyfriend and I, and aside from the main bed, there are also pull down bunk beds in the bedroom if travelling with kids. This place is perfect. Don't pass it up!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
181
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night in the room (April 2012) and found it to be a wonderful place. The amazing view from the window with the sound of the waves, the delicious food in the village, the friendly hosts and the breathtaking scenery made this an unforgettable first visit to Riomaggiore. I wish we could have stayed longer and next time we will! When we come again, we would build our itinerary around the availability of La Scogliera...it was that good.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kgales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The last reviewer Pat M said it all and I totally agree this little place is amazing! We stayed 3 nights,here in Riomaggiore, also in the room with the view out to the sea and it was wonderful to hear the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks directly below us. Despite an emergency taking our host Paolo away at the point of our arrival his neighbours supplied us with rolls and cheese to be going on with, and later Paolo provided a bottle of his own wine, some limoncello, and a home made lemon tart to die for.
We arrived by train from Pisa via La Spezia, less than two hours and there's no need for a car. Riomaggiore is a gorgeous little fishing village with lots of steps - worth it for the views! On our first day we walked the Via Dell' Amore path along the coastline to the second town Manarola (20 minutes and reasonably level most of the way), and we were able to go a little way beyond, until the path was blocked off. The next day we took the train to the fifth town -Monterosso -and did the 2 hour walk back to Vernazza - some steep bits but also some great views to reward you - we then caught the train back to Manarola and did the Via Dell' Amore again, this time with our padlock to lock on to the railing and our keys to toss into the sea to pledge our love like so many others!
A great place to visit at this time of year, plenty of tourists but not huge crowds so you still feel as though you have plenty of space and privacy along the paths. Day three we took a day trip by train to Genoa which isn't that far and interesting as a city contrast -but I was keen to get back to the sound of the sea and the tranquillity of Riomaggiore.

Room Tip: There are only two options, the room with the view or the apartment with a view and balcony, so it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiebel058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wow... This place is amazing! My wife and I just got home to Santa Barbara and I'm finally sitting down to write some reviews. Were both well traveled people and we know a good thing when we see it, let me tell you, this is a good thing! The room is super clean, the bed is quite comfortable (sometimes hard to find in Italy), and the owners Palo and his mother are the nicest people you could ever meet. We stayed in the single bedroom and it literally is a front row view of the Med, the windows open up right over the water, it was gorgeous... We stayed for two nights at the end of March in the off season, we had the whole town to ourselves, the weather was in the mid 70's, total beach weather, it was perfect. I've heard the vibe here is quite different during high season though... If your adrenaline junky like me there's a good 40 foot cliff jump right outside the room, I'd usually start my day off with a morning espresso / cliff jump session! When we arrived Palo brought us some home made limoncello from his orchard which was really good! Palo and his mother are very welcoming kind people who have lived in the village (Riomaggiore) their whole lives, you couldn't ask for better hosts. Overall, if your looking for a place to stay in Cinque Terre look no further, don't even think, just book, trust me!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We just returned from Rio Maggiore (March 2012) where we stayed for four (4) nights at La Scogliera. It was 'magical!' We have traveled a lot, we read all of the reviews and our first reaction was, 'wow, this place is a LOT bigger than we anticipated!' Sure the steps are significant, but you should have known that if you're coming to Cinque Terre!!! Sadly, only the Via Del "amore is open, but all towns can be accessed by train. We still purchased the park card (10 Euros for one day, 19 for two) because, between the trains, the path, and the shuttle buses, it was at least an even 'wash,' and was far more convenient than hassling with individual tickets). The apartment is lovely! The view - to die for! There is a wonderful little grocery store just as you exit the tunnel that had everything we needed. We would have a simple breakfast in our apartment, eat out during the day, wherever our journey took us, and make dinner in the evening. One night, we got a grilled tuna steak to go from a place up in the town center, (10 euros, and he included two fresh, hot baguettes of wonderful bread!) and we added a salad we made - best tomatoes we've EVERY had!!! - and some pasta we cooked up with sauce bought from the same little store... best meal in Italy!!)

Paulo was wonderful!! His dear Mama made it down to our apartment at the beginning! They gave us some wonderful homemade Gruppo - the lemon liquor, and he brought us a bottle of red wine from their vineyard, but we brought it home and haven't opened it yet. (local wines in that same grocery store were under 3 euros and fantastic!!!).

On our 3rd day, Paulo rang the doorbell and excitedly came in with a UPS package. In it, he revealed his plaque from Trip Advisor - only two were awarded for Cinque Terre!! I took a photo and told him I would post it on Trip Advisor. He was so proud!

He does a GREAT job, and it is a WONDERFUL place. The bedroom is great - a comfortable full size queen bed and a very unique Murphy bed double - decker 'bunk bed' combo that we didn't need, but would be perfect for two kids, or two additional adults. The bathroom is quite large, with hair dryer. Every room has a window with the amazing view. If you're going to Cinque Terre - stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SMT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed during the offseason in march. We traded sun and fun for fewer crowds. The apartment was clean, the shower hot and the view from the balcony priceless. The proprietors are lovely As per prior reviews there are a lot of stairs to and from la Scogliera and quite a descent from the parking area. If coming by car, consider finding a safe place to park in La Spezia and taking the train to Riomaggiore. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wlbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at the apartment 194 Salita Castello in early January 2012 as La Scogliera was occupied.

Cinque Terre is definitely a must-visit if you are traveling in Italy. Due to the flood in Vernazza and Corniglia, we only managed to walk the Via dell'Amore from Riomaggiore to Manarola. We also visited Monterosso al Mare by train for Euro 2 per person/way and they were then still in the midst of clearing up the debris after the unfortunately flood.

When you get out of the Riomaggiore train station, walk up the slope that is just in front of the station. Having built on the cliff, the walk uphill to get to the start of the staircase leading down the cliff is about 1KM. After which, you descend the cliff by walking through a few flights of steep steps. Pack as light as possible as it is really tough to lug heavy luggage down these steps.

When you reach Agostino/Paulo's house, the apartments are just a few more steps further down. All in, it took us about 30 mins to walk from our apartment to the train station with a 17Kg luggage per person.

The room is definitely cosy and comfortable, facing the beautiful sea. Let the photos speak for themselves. The sweet grandmother provided us with a bottle of Limoncello, which we really loved!

While no breakfast is provided, it is not a problem as you can purchase your breakfast supplies from Coop at Riomaggiore or Manarola. The coffee machine in the room provided us with a good cup of coffee and that was good enough for us. Since we only stayed 3 nights in Cinque Terre, we were fine to do without Internet connection.

Also, do try out the restaurants in Riomaggiore and Manarola, absolutely delicious home-style Italian cooking!

Definitely recommend couples on honeymoon, family, friends and anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery to check out this place!

Room Tip: Whether the apartment 194 or La Scogliera, they both offer splendid views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KuroroMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Property: La Scogliera
Address: Salita Castello, 174, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing