We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up in the heavens”
Review of NiRia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NiRia
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A very nice family looked after 4 of us for a few days. The food at breakfast was amazing, the village was quaint and the views from the hillside as we walked from Volastra were fantastic. Our rooms were so comfortable and there was a community kitchen if you wanted to cook. One day we walked from Manorola up to Volastra and although not easy ,45min +, the views were incredible. We would all love to return one day. The only thing to be aware of is the timetable for the shuttle bus because if you miss it you have a long wait or long walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for NiRia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Brilliant service, stunning sea view, delicious breakfast.
Some of the best hospitality experienced in Italy.
The family running this B&B helped us with transport timetables and hiking maps of the area. They arranged restaurant reservations for us and all three recommendations were excellent.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Three rooms to choose from.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oztraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were a family of four adults staying in two separate rooms. The view from the patio was where breakfast was served was amazing. The breakfast of coffee, tea, juice, pastries, yogurt and local breads was so tasty each morning. They also allowed us to take the leftovers away with us to snack on while hiking.
The rooms were cleaned each day while we were out like a typical hotel.
The B&B is located in Volastra, not one of the five towns, but we did not find it inconvenient. We had a car so we drove directly there initially but during our stay we took the train to Manarola and the bus back to Volastra with no problem.
The room was simple and clean. The shower is small but has good water pressure.
I would highly recommend to anyone staying in Cinque Terre and I would personally stay here again on a return trip.
The family thats runs this rental is extremely friendly, helpful and provided great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloverAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just got back from a 2 week trip to Italy. The last leg of our visit was in Cinque Terre. We booked at NiRia - knowing it was a tiny village above Manarola - and we couldn't have been more impressed with our stay! (September 16-19)

For starters, the accommodations are top notch. Very clean, spacious rooms (3). The bathroom was updated and fresh towels were offered everyday - in three sizes (it was the only time we were given washcloths in Italy). The breakfast was great, especially the lemon pine nut cake. I am going to attempt to make it soon. They always offered plenty of options and gave us to-go bags to pack the left overs for "picnics" while we hiked the trails of the Cinque Terre. They serve breakfast out on there back terrace. The view is breathtaking and really helps with the whole vacation feel. :) We used the patio for a dinner one night as well - they have plenty of lawn chairs/tables to accommodate many people.

The son speaks English very well. He is thorough and kind - and always willing to help out. The husband and wife team did not speak much English (hey, I don't speak any Italian!) but they were both incredibly nice and I felt like she was my mom during our stay.

Each morning we walked the 30 minute walk down the path to Manarola. Yes, it is a nice trek, yes, it got your blood flowing and legs a little jello-y, and YES, the view is simply amazing! I wouldn't trade the walk in for the bus ride - although you can catch a bus down for 1.50E and it takes about 10 minutes to get there.

There are two restaurants in Volastra that are open on opposite days (at least they were when we were there). We took "take away" from one of the restaurants one of the days we were there. It was great.

Overall a wonderful end to our trip. I would stay at NiRia again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised from the very start. We arrived at midnight by train and were picked up near the station and shown our room. Decorated in a contemporary style and very comfortable in every way. Breakfast of coffee, tea, pastries and yogurt was served on the patio with an amazing sea view. We were even given a little bag for leftovers. The hosts made us feel like family. Cinque Terre was so amazing we would have loved to stay for several more days. Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quiet location in a tiny village 10 minutes by shuttle above the town of Manarola. Shuttle runs about every hour. The breakfast was huge, and our caring and accommodating hosts made everything very pleasant. Nice backyard area to sit and enjoy being outdoors. The room was simple but very lean and pleasant. Very nice, modern bathroom. We had a great hike from Volastra to the village of Corniglia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisahouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at Niria wanting a relaxing, peaceful setting and couldn't have asked for more. The B&B is located away from the main villages but they are easily reachable by bus, train or on one of the many stunning walking trails. We were thoroughly looked after and spent the days exploring the villages, and evenings eating in the local restaurants minutes from Niria. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NiRia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NiRia

Address: Via Montello 335 | loc.Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riomaggiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range: $78 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B NiRia, born in 2004, is a family-run property where you can spend a relaxing holiday in contact with nature. Thanks to its privileged location, overlooking the sea that laps the Cinque Terre and is surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. The guest house is fitted with a 3 wide rooms with private bathroom (which is scheduled cleaning and daily change of linen), satellite TV, heating / air conditioning, parking and a terrace with sea view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
NiRia Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing