We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highlight of our Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NiRia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NiRia
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and couldn't have been happier. We decided not to stay seaside in Manarola and took the handy shuttle bus to Volastra instead. The trip from Florence by train was manageable, -we left around 8am and arrived at NiRia around 2:30 pm.

NiRia reconfirmed our arrival by email a few days before. Our room "Poggio" was immaculate with fresh paint, gorgeous bath, and nicely decorated.

Breakfast was way beyond our expectations- ocean view outdoor seating with linens and silver- freshly baked crostata and foccacia. The breakfast area overlooks the owners' lovely herb and vegetable garden.

We received the kindest and most gracious service during our stay- we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmogosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The previous reviewers have summed up our experience perfectly. A warm welcome and pick up in Manarola from Mattia helped us feel at home. The rooms are nice (ask for il Marre) and beds are god. Lots of info on places to eat and hikes is available. Terrace and garden have older full view of the sea. Feels very comfortable and lots of good choices at breakfast. Perfect quiet spot to relax and access the hiking trails.
Grazie!

Room Tip: Ask for il Marre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monicas480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at NiRia for 3 nights and we were so glad we chose this friendly B&B in the quiet village of Volastra. Our hostess couldn't do enough to make our stay very comfortable. The accommodation was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and there was a kitchen and fridge which we could use. We started all our walks from this village and caught the bus up from Manarola each afternoon (E1.50 and worth every cent!). The damp smell that others refer to we found is characteristic of the Cinque Terre Villages and did not affect our enjoyment of NiRia. Highlights: sunsets from the terrace, extra espressos offered by our hosts, the "doggie bags" supplied for all the home baked treats we couldn't finish at breakfast and the wonderful warm smiles of our hostess.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SueAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you like fresh, homemade cakes for breakfast, this is the place for you. In fine weather, service is on an airy terrace, with fine views of the sea, 1000' below. Coffee is excellent, and plentiful, accompanied by the smiling faces of your hosts. Spare food may be packed into the poly bag provided. You have access to the impeccably cleaned rooms throughout the day, the village is near to the beautiful hillside trails, and the nearby takeaway, but sit-in restaurant, (not the one where you can get a discount), provides home-cooked Italian food, served by locals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coirelagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Franca, Andrea & Mattia all work hard to ensure your visit to the Cinque Terre is great. Franca makes yummy homemade pastries and fantastic cappuccino for breakfast. Mattia speaks good english and is very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms are new and in perfect working condition. The new little restaurant in Volastra, arcobaleno is very good and modestly priced. If you come home later than the last bus, Mattia doesn't mind picking you up in Manarola with a little advance notice. We had no problem with their method of reservation: send a credit card number in parts to 2 different email addresses. Overall a very good value with warm Italian hospitality.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteReiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This B&B is in a smaller town of the Cinque Terre area.(Volastra) It is just above Manarola. There are buses from Manarola to take you here, but if you have a car rental you have parking available at the B&B. Driving here is hair pin turns but so beautiful.(if you are not the driver)haha. It is a steep climb down or up to hike, so beware of that. But the views are spectacular, the vineyards and lemon trees are plentiful.
Our hosts, Mataho and his parents were so welcoming. The assistance to discover the area was over the top. Mataho spoke perfect English and for a young man of 21yrs. Very Mature!!
Breakfasts were homemade, yummy lemon cake, chocolate cake, yoghurt, fresh breads, fruit and the best coffee. The breakfast room was private for us to use. At night we would use this to play cards or visit with our new friends from Australia. (hi to Megan and Michael)
They have 3 guest rooms. Each was large enough, and the beds were comfy, clean with perfect bathrooms.
The restaurant choice up in this village was limited. The town of Manarola had more choices. We ate each night in one of the villages and every meal was wonderful. Explore and discover this wonderful culinary area.
If ever we visit this area again. I will be sure to stay here at NiRia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovercanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay. We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013. We were greeted upon arrival, educated in english on trails, local restaurants and breakfast. We had a wonderful breakfast overlooking the sea then set out to hike some trails. We arrived by train from Pisa then took the bus from Manarola to Volestra. We had to check out early on our second day, but they served us a lovely breakfast before we left. The son then took us down to Manarola (before the bus service started) with his personal car to catch an early train. Such kind people! My only complaint was that even though the room was very clean, it smelled very musty. I would still stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelaBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NiRia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NiRia

Property: NiRia
Address: Via Montello 335 | loc.Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riomaggiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B NiRia, born in 2004, is a family-run property where you can spend a relaxing holiday in contact with nature. Thanks to its privileged location, overlooking the sea that laps the Cinque Terre and is surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. The guest house is fitted with a 3 wide rooms with private bathroom (which is scheduled cleaning and daily change of linen), satellite TV, heating / air conditioning, parking and a terrace with sea view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
NiRia Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing