We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Ca da Iride
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Iride and her husband are the most wonderful hosts without being intrusive. We stayed 3 nights and would have loved to stay longer. There are only 4 - 6 apartments. The apartment and balcony are great, you can have parking which we did if pre-arranged. Riomaggiore can be very busy and yet was a quiet place to stay. Yes you do have to walk up 6-10 stairs and there is a hill from the town but it is a comfortable walk rather than some of the massive hills that are around. I would love to go back and the is the first place that I would try and book.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judelorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Apartment was great - newly built and nicely refurbed, good air con and very clean. There is also a nice terrace with table and chairs for each apartment (of which I think there are 4). There's an espresso machine in the room of which the owner is immensely proud! Breakfast consists of croissants and biscuits which are left for you daily. Perhaps the best thing about the apartments are the friendly greetings from owners Iride and wife. Some of these reviews mention the steep hill to arrive at Ca Da Iride, which is true, but if you don't like hills, don't take a holiday in the Cinque Terre! The only reason I haven't given this 5 our of 5 is that there was no sea facing view from our terrace as we were on the ground floor - however I think the top floor appears to have some sort of sea view so ask for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FMS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Locanda Ca da Iride and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Apart from the walk up the hill with the steps to your unit, it is probably one of the best places to stay in Riomaggiore and would highly recommend this village to stay at anyway. Ivano and Iride are the owners and very proud and more than happy to accommodate you. Ivano even brought up some of his home made wine for us to taste. They really did add a personal touch to the place. The unit is very clean and very quiet, which is lovely after a busy day visiting the villages in Cinque Terre. Would highly recommend this place to stay in Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Very clean and cosy unit,with outside aera to enjoy a drink or breakfast.
Iride and her husband very helpful and pleaasant.
There are some steps up to accomodation,but nothing compaired with the steps in the village.
Romaggire is a great place to stay, it is probably the steepest of all the towns so plenty of excercise.Breakfast was a bit average,but your have a coffee machine in your room so you can enjoy a caffe any time , thats a bonus . wewould definetly recommend this Property to anyone , except if you have walking problems Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Riomaggiore in my opinion is the best village to stay in, Cinque Terre can get very touristy and busy, but this village felt the most authentic and when the tourists left at the end of the day it was lovely and peaceful. The B&B was wonderful. Exceptionally quiet, exceptionally clean and we were treated like family by the hosts... even though we couldn't really verbally communicate due to our lack of Italian. The B&B is at the top of the village, so you do have to walk up a steepish hill (but takes literally a couple of minutes)... and we enjoyed walking our pasta off at the end of the night!

The breakfast pack was adequate, although we added to it from the local del too. We stayed in the skippers room, the pics don't do it justice on the website, it has a lovely terrace, spacious and clean. From the outside it looks like a rustic Italian home, but the inside is very modern.

Would most definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Wonderful B&B. Although at the top of the village, it is easy to find and get to from the station as you can walk up the road and there are no stairs till you get to the B&B. The owners are lovely and friendly, although have little english. The breakfast pack was adequate, but the coffee machine was great. It has recently been purpose built as a B&B, but they have kept the character of the village while giving all mod cons. Each room has it's own private balcony to enjoy a wine and the view. We stayed in 'skippers room' and really enjoyed it. We loved the village of Riomaggorie as it was quiet in the afternoons when the tourists left and there were lots of restaurants to chose from.
It is also closest to La Spezia and easy to get a train for your onward journey. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravellers061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We arrived by train from Venice late in the afternoon a bit hot, tired and frazzled and having heard it was a steep climb to Ca da Iride we took the shuttle bus which turned out to be a mistake as we ended up in the back of the bus with our luggage for two months travel. The bus then filled with local mamas going home. Our journey was relatively short but steep and a real struggle to get out. However from then on our 5 night stay blossomed. Our hosts could not do enough for us even though it would have been better if we had had some Italian skill. On two occasions we had left washing out and could have been in trouble with rain showers but each time the washing was rescued and kept dry for us. Breakfast was a bit basic but everything else was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieamber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
136 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca da Iride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca da Iride

Property: Locanda Ca da Iride
Address: Via del Santuario 162, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the typical village of Riomaggiore, inside the well-known park of Cinque Terre, in harness with nature and at only 350 mt from the sea, you can found this family-run inn completely renovated. All rooms are provided with private toilets and shower, air conditioning, safe, sat TV, balcony or well-equipped garden. Particularly evocative are the outside spaces in the evening, illuminated by low energy lamps, that create a warm and relaxing atmosphere among typical plants and flavours of the Riviera Ligure. The accommodation is equipped with parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Locanda Ca da Iride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca Da Iride Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing