We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of il Boma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
il Boma
Ranked #4 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We only got to stay for 2 nights, but wish we had been able to stay so much longer! The Blue Room had everything we needed, including a little balcony perfect for people-watching in the evening. Even though the room faced the street, with the windows closed, there was NO STREET NOISE at night. It was great! The room was clean, had a great coffee-maker, and tons of prepacked croissants/goodies for breakfast as well as fresh fruit, juice, and yogurt.

I loved Riomaggiore as a place to stay. The rocky beach was beautiful and peaceful. I hope I can return someday and visit La Via Dell'Amore when it's open again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ciao Melissa,
Glad to hear that you found our Blu Room to your liking. That balcony can get addictive -- just sitting there siping some wine and watching the world go. The windows are an additional plus since they are double paned they keep our all the street noise. Glad you enjoyed the 5 Terre and hope to see you again.
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    97
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
238
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cinque Terre was the halfway point of our honeymoon between Rome and Florence. We were wanting something different from the crowds and museums, and that's exactly what Cinque Terre has to offer.

Maddy was a friendly and thorough host, filling us in immediately on the particulars of the room and the area.The in-room espresso maker was a very nice touch. We loved the assortment of croissants and cakes and snacked on them at various times. There is also juice and yogurt in a mini-fridge.

The room was bright, clean, and comfortable. It was warm and sunny every day we were there, and I really like the multi-setting windows and shutters that are on many of the buildings in Cinque Terre. The balcony overlooks the main street which got noisy at certain times - especially the weekend when the Bar Central got hopping- but we both slept pretty well.

If you're trying to figure out where to stay in the Cinque Terre region and can't decide which city, I highly recommend Riomaggiore. It's not as busy as Vernazza and Monterosso and it's bigger than Corniglia. And, since it's the first of the five cities heading up the coast, the trains always stop here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summertimetracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ciao Tracy & John,
Glad you found Riomaggiore and our B&B a suitable choice for your stay in the 5 Terre. We like to give our clients as much information about the area as we can and happy you found that very informative and we hope to see you again in the future.
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and stayed in this lovely B&B in June 2013, the location was perfect, right in the centre of Riomaggiore, just a short walk to the train station and marina. The room was nice, clean, and quiet, and the bathroom was huge and very clean. Maddy provided us with great recommendations for restaurants for all of the Cinque Terre villages, and helpful information about travelling between them. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return to this B&B on our next trip to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ciao Claire,
Hope all is well with you, David and your future arrival. Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate it. We try our best to make our clients as comfortable as possible and we do hope to see you again. Best of luck for November.
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our introduction to Italy, and made us totally fall on love with the area and the country itself. Maddy's place was perfectly located being in the Main Street in town. Our room was cleaned daily and a simple but nice continental breakfast supplied. Maddy also provided details on local sights, etc. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ciao Liz and Robert,
A belated thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the 5 Terre and our B&B and we hope to see you again.
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I satyed there in this great B&B in July 2012.

I would definetly recommend Riomaggiore as the town to stay in if you are visting Cinque Terre. Not as big as Monterosso but has everything you'll need in the main street.

Il Boma was perfect for us. The breakfast consists prepacked croissants, pastries and fruits with juice, water, tea and coffee - which you can eat in your room or throw in your bag for later (minus the tea and coffee). The place is spotless and in a perfect location. Riomaggiore is so small that you can easily walk to and from the regular train that links the Cinque Terre.

Maddy (the owner) is a native of the town but lived in the USA so speaks perfect English and is only too happy to advise you on things to do and where to eat etc.

We will return to Riomaggiore some day and will definitely stay in Il Boma.

Try the seafood cone served in the hot food bar a few doors down!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeilgeoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the 5 Terre and with our B&B. It's always a great feeling to hear that our clients are happy with the services we provided. Hope to see you again in the future and thanks for taking the time in writing a review. All the best, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely B&B. Nice and quiet (there's double glazing) despite being in the centre of town. We had a twin room with a private bathroom across the landing. Breakfast was good although it's all pre-packaged/self-service in your room. We prefer having a separate room for breakfast but this way would suit some people. The beds were quite narrow but very comfortable. Maddy was there to welcome us and was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Ciao Harriet & David,
Thanks so much for writing a review about your stay. It means the world to us and this is the only way we can improve. The double paned Windows are a Godsend no matter where you live in town. Have a great summer and hope to see you again in the 5 Terre.
Warm Regards,
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to stay right in the heart of Riomaggiore. The rooms are very clean, fresh and bright. We loved sitting on the balcony with a drink or snack and watching the dramas unfold in the street below. Maddy was very helpful with information and full of local knowledge, great tips for eating places and walks. We had a very enjoyable stay and I would have rated Il Boma even higher if the breakfast was fresh rather than packaged - that was the only area that could be improved.

Room Tip: Book the Blu room if it's available. The balcony just adds that little extra to the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Ciao Jen & Robert, A belated thanks for having taken the time in writing a review about your stay with us. Having guests like you makes our work all that much easier and rewarding. We like to give as much information as we can to our guests so they have options on how to enjoy their days here in the 5 Terre. We look forward to having you again as our guests. Till then, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinqueterre Residence
Cinqueterre Residence
#2 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to il Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about il Boma

Property: il Boma
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 99, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B offers only three rooms and is located in the historic center of Riomaggiore, with ensuite facilities. T.V., Air-conditioning, heating, hair dryer, wi-fi and mini-fridge. Beach towels are also available. We are about a three-minute walk from the parking area, marina, beach and train station, where the famous Via Del Amore (Lover's Lane) connects with Manarola. Airport transportation is available upon request and for a fee. We also have rooms and mini apartments available through our Affittacamere some of which with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your il Boma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boma Hotel Riomaggiore
Il Boma Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing