We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay”
Review of Il BoMa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il BoMa
Ranked #5 of 33 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We loved our stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our introduction to Italy, and made us totally fall on love with the area and the country itself. Maddy's place was perfectly located being in the Main Street in town. Our room was cleaned daily and a simple but nice continental breakfast supplied. Maddy also provided details on local sights, etc. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ciao Liz and Robert,
A belated thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the 5 Terre and our B&B and we hope to see you again.
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    99
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
245
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I satyed there in this great B&B in July 2012.

I would definetly recommend Riomaggiore as the town to stay in if you are visting Cinque Terre. Not as big as Monterosso but has everything you'll need in the main street.

Il Boma was perfect for us. The breakfast consists prepacked croissants, pastries and fruits with juice, water, tea and coffee - which you can eat in your room or throw in your bag for later (minus the tea and coffee). The place is spotless and in a perfect location. Riomaggiore is so small that you can easily walk to and from the regular train that links the Cinque Terre.

Maddy (the owner) is a native of the town but lived in the USA so speaks perfect English and is only too happy to advise you on things to do and where to eat etc.

We will return to Riomaggiore some day and will definitely stay in Il Boma.

Try the seafood cone served in the hot food bar a few doors down!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeilgeoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the 5 Terre and with our B&B. It's always a great feeling to hear that our clients are happy with the services we provided. Hope to see you again in the future and thanks for taking the time in writing a review. All the best, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely B&B. Nice and quiet (there's double glazing) despite being in the centre of town. We had a twin room with a private bathroom across the landing. Breakfast was good although it's all pre-packaged/self-service in your room. We prefer having a separate room for breakfast but this way would suit some people. The beds were quite narrow but very comfortable. Maddy was there to welcome us and was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Ciao Harriet & David,
Thanks so much for writing a review about your stay. It means the world to us and this is the only way we can improve. The double paned Windows are a Godsend no matter where you live in town. Have a great summer and hope to see you again in the 5 Terre.
Warm Regards,
Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to stay right in the heart of Riomaggiore. The rooms are very clean, fresh and bright. We loved sitting on the balcony with a drink or snack and watching the dramas unfold in the street below. Maddy was very helpful with information and full of local knowledge, great tips for eating places and walks. We had a very enjoyable stay and I would have rated Il Boma even higher if the breakfast was fresh rather than packaged - that was the only area that could be improved.

Room Tip: Book the Blu room if it's available. The balcony just adds that little extra to the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Ciao Jen & Robert, A belated thanks for having taken the time in writing a review about your stay with us. Having guests like you makes our work all that much easier and rewarding. We like to give as much information as we can to our guests so they have options on how to enjoy their days here in the 5 Terre. We look forward to having you again as our guests. Till then, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent value and highly recommended. We were thrilled with our choice to stay in Riomaggiore, and il Boma is a fantastic option. Windows blocked noise effectively, and having breakfast for the next day left in our room maximized our flexibility.

Room Tip: We were in the Yellow room (only one without a bathroom actually in the room) and the bathroom down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Ciao Matthew -- just wanted to send you a belated thank you for having taken the time in writing a review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again some time in the future. Happy Summer, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

II Boma was our choice after reading all the gr8 reviews. We were not disappointed, the room was very clean, comfortable and spacious and Maddy's directions on how to get there were spot on. Maddy was very warm and helpful with maps, info on the area, trails and where to eat. The variety of breakfast food and drinks supplied were wonderful and the coffee machine was an added bonus for me who lovers coffee. Located in the centre of the village you have access to 2 supermarkets (be it small ones) fruit shop, bakery, laundry and a variety of places to eat. II Boma is a short walk up hill from the station and unfortunately no lift for the heavy bags. It was one of the nicest places we stayed at during our 6 weeks over seas. Thanks Maddy for the Limoncello. Grace & Phil Sydney Austarlia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the 5 Terre as well as our accommodations. Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and we hope that when you enjoy the limoncino it may bring back happy memories of the 5 Terre and of your stay with us. We hope to be able to host you again soon. Fondest Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and her parents on our vacation and we enjoyed our stay at Il Boma. Maddy is a great host and was very helpful in providing us with information about the area. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The location of Il Boma is in the heart of Riomaggiore, close to the shops, restaurants, bars. Big windows in the rooms let in light and also were good at blocking out sound from the outside at night. The breakfast supplied and coffee machine in the room were great to have on-hand. It was a great stay and I recommend Il Boma.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaaaaaaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time in writing a review (it truly means a lot to us). We appreciated having the 4 of you as our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed the 5 Terre as well as our B&B. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Best Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
3.7 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Campi
Il Borgo di Campi
#7 of 33 in Riomaggiore
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il BoMa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il BoMa

Property: Il BoMa
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 99, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B offers only three rooms and is located in the historic center of Riomaggiore, with ensuite facilities. T.V., Air-conditioning, heating, hair dryer, wi-fi and mini-fridge. Beach towels are also available. We are about a three-minute walk from the parking area, marina, beach and train station, where the famous Via Del Amore (Lover's Lane) connects with Manarola. Airport transportation is available upon request and for a fee. We also have rooms and mini apartments available through our Affittacamere some of which with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Il BoMa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boma Hotel Riomaggiore
Il BoMa Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing