We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Cinque Terre!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Adriana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family of four stayed four nights at the Hotel Villa Adriana in Monterosso, Cinque Terre. A great stay here, but I'm taking off one star only for the lack of wifi in both the room and the lobby. When one pays €250 a night (for the family room), you would expect to get free and accessible wifi. Other than this, we enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful (attempting a bit of Italian goes a long way), especially the two super efficient and friendly ladies who work the breakfast room. Nice breakfast buffet, GREAT caffe latte! Probably the best cup of coffee I've had, and I am well traveled in Europe. Comfortable, clean room- the family room on the 4th floor was very spacious. Yes, the elevator is small, but pretty much all the elevators in Europe are small unless you pop for the Hilton. The hotel pool is small but very clean, quiet, and well kept. It was a welcome break from the hustle and bustle (and sandiness) of the beaches. You can rent a towel from the front desk for €1. Location is great- close to the train station, beaches, and a short walk to the old town area where all the great restaurants are. Warning: avoid a restaurant on the street heading toward old town, near the train station called La Voglia- very, very bad service and food; we had the misfortune of picking this as our first meal stop. Overall a great stay at Villa Adriana, I can happily recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackieG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel Villa Adriana is a great place to stay when in Monterosso Al Mare.

Location
It's a quick walk from the train station and up a hill (not too far up a hill). In my opinion the best beach in Monterosso is on this side of the town. It's a little bit sandier and more quiet. You pay around 10-14 euro for a chair but that chair is yours for the entire day. So you can leave the beach and go to a restaurant for lunch or pick up some gelato and return to your chair no problem. The main part of Monterosso is about a 10-15 minute beautiful stroll from the hotel so it's easy to clean up and walk to a lovely restaurant for dinner.

Amenities
The hotel itself was fantastic. The people were friendly, the rooms were clean and I was lucky enough to have a balcony with a view of the sea. There is a huge spread for breakfast in the morning which is delicious. Dinner is also really yummy but if you want to eat at the restaurant for dinner you have to book the day before otherwise they can't fit you in. There is a pool which is lovely to swim in after walking the hills in Cinque Terre.

Overall
I was super impressed by Hotel Adiana, I've recommended it to friends and family who have travelled to Cinque Terre. If you are looking for more spunk and liveliness then this is not the hotel for you. It's peaceful and relaxing- you should go into the main town to find more of a party atmosphere if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skittles29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location, clean rooms, short walk to the beach and bars. Friendly staff. Breakfast was well worth it. Loved Monterosso - especially all of the hiking. This place was crawling with Americans when we were there in June 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimbikerun22801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We booked this place based on trip advisor reviews and availability. It was clean and conveniently located. Its a little bit of a walk from the restaurants (~0.7 km) but it felt like nothing because the weather there was phenomenal relative to Rome and Florence.

I think its fair to say that this place did the job- ie a place to sleep. I did find it a little bit odd though that they charge 1 euro per beach towel. It just felt cheap. I was thinking in my head- just charge me an extra couple of euro in the rate but don't pull stuff like this. Also this place had the crappiest wifi of all the places we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Komal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was very comfortable being so close to town. I loved the grounds and garden views.
Staff was most helpful, friendly and warm. Beds were very good and the room was clean.
I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kauaiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was very comfortable. It's close to town but far enough to walk off those heavy dinners at the end of the night. The staff made me feel very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Going into our stay at Hotel Villa Adriana we did not know what to expect. The hotel exceeded our expectations. This is a great place to stay in the Cinque Terre. The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful. Our room had a fantastic view from the balcony with a view of the coast. The hotel is in newer part of Monterrosso, which has the better beaches and is quiet at night. It was a quick good walk to the old part of town where we ate dinner every night. The breakfast is generous and tasty. Overall I give this hotel an A+ rating. Rooms are smaller, but worked fine for our family of 3, plus you are not in the room much, but the air-conditioning was the best we had in Italy. We will come back to Hotel Villa Adriana in the future!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Adriana

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 23, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#12 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $185 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Adriana 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a gorgeous palms park and is just 100m. from the sea and close to the railway station. Our rooms are all with private bathroom, telephone, air-conditioning, fridge, TV and safe. Free Wi-fi, parking place and swimming pool. Our restaurant offers a various buffet for breakfast and our kitchen propose Ligurian and Italian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Villa Adriana Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing