We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Giardino Incantato Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

What can I say that hasnt already been said in the last couple of reviews?
Extraordinary. Thank you to all the staff at il Giardino, you made our stay wonderful.
I will mention that we had some friends staying at another B&B and the staff even treated them with so much kindness, invited them into the garden for coffee and let us all use the garden for a private dinner we had. Exceptional service.
Mark and Sarah

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

How can I best describe our most memorable stay at Il Giardino Incantato... it is 5 star splendour and comfort of a topnotch hotel. However instead of the usual impersonal service hotels provide, one is treated like a personal guest by owners, Fausto and Mariapia, with their warmth, hospitality and keenness to make your stay at Cinque Terre an excellent one. The staff, Pia and Maya, are equally delightful, making sure our rooms are always clean with fresh towels, beds made, the fridge well-stocked and snacks and fresh fruits replenished. The bathroom is very clean with soaps, shampoo, disposeable toothbrush and toothpaste, lotion, shower cap; even nail file and sewing kit! Other B&B's don't supply them. Breakfast is an absolute heaven – served in their lush Ligurian garden. There’s fresh baked bread, assorted quality cheese, meats, eggs cooked to your liking, juice and coffee abound, and even cakes. At night, their private garden is illuminated with candles and provides a relaxing place to unwind and relax.
We had the best time here and although our family visits a place only once (as there's lots to explore!), we are breaking this rule with Cinque Terre and plan to be back some day. Thank you Fausto, Mariapia, Maya and Pia!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As the other reviewers said, Fausto and MariaPia and their helpers have made this place perfect. Fausto showed us pictures of the damage that the flood and mudslide had done and I was amazed at the renovation in such a short time. The room we stayed in had been severely damaged and it was perfect. As the other reviewers said, the breakfasts were one of the highlights in the lovely garden setting. They would even provide american style bacon and eggs if you requested it. The fresh fruit in the room was replenished on an ongoing basis and my husband and I chuckled about the "elves" who replaced towels and fruit as soon as we left the room. Along with all that the others mentioned, I was impressed by the embroidered linen sheets and pillowcases. They were simply beautiful.
Mariapia's green thumb makes the garden impressive. There are 8 foot tall hydrangeas with blooms as big as your head (I'm not exaggerating), gardenias, roses, lemon trees and many other plants and flowers I didn't recognize. I sat there in the afternoons and it was completely relaxing.

The location in Cinque Terre is amazingly beautiful but travelers need to research the area before going, especially if they have mobility issues. It's hilly, though Monterossa is the flattest of the towns. We drove in and the trip from the Autostrada was both breathtakingly beautiful and breathtakingly scary - switchbacks and cliffs. We suggest parking in Genoa or some other city that is flat and taking the train in. We also suggest packing light for this leg of your trip. Schlepping heavy suitcases up hills is a challenge. But DON'T let this stop you from staying at Il Giardino Incantato!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Have just had a glorious 4 days here. Nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts and their lovely staff. The rooms are very comfortable and incredibly clean, towels always being changed and even special ones provided for the beach. Fresh flowers and fruit in our room and access to a lovely garden to have breakfast or just spend the evening relaxing. This establishment is very deserving of its other excellent reviews, we are so lucky to have stayed here. It's an easy walk from the station and in a very quiet side street, close to everything.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our first B&B in many years. I can't think of any 5 star hotel better than this unless you want the spas, gym, business centers and overindulged reception, but if you can live without those this place is an absolute winner. With only four rooms you will be very lucky if you can even find a vacancy but if your itinerary permits change to stay here.

At the time of writing this top rated B&B scores 68 Excellent and nothing less than the 2 Very Good. Is there a lodging of any type anywhere else in the world that consistently rates this well.

It is deserved

Room Tip: Forget your other travel plans. Find out when his place has a vacancy and come then! It's that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bemad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The only fault was builders using noisy power tools next door to the garden during breakfast one morning so Fausto took E30 off the bill!
Definitely a B&B of the top shelf anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywanderer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland/London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

No point going over everything everyone has already said, but I couldn't not add to the wealth of gleaming reviews this place has, hence why we booked it.
We stayed 3 nights in the Hibiscus room with my little yorkshire terrier. It was so nice to find somewhere that didnt turn their nose up to well behaved little dogs!! The owners couldn't have done more for us, from giving us extra water each day for the dog, posting our postcards. It was so nice that the owners themselves each day took time to ask if everything was ok and the best was getting us change for the 18 Euro a day car park, which doesnt accept notes or cards and you must top up each day.... very annoying! However, the owners here actually stash lots of coins for their guests to pay their parking, I thought that was really well organised.
They took and washed our beach towels everyday without us having to ask. Loaded free mini-bar and fruit in the room which was so sweet.
You dont need aircon, although they have it. It was 28 degrees the whole time we stayed and because the old building is nice and cool, using just the fan was perfect.
We lived for the AMAZING breakfast everyday in the garden....... This place is so so clean, their housekeeper is amazing. Dont look anywhere else, you will regret it and I wouldn't recommend anywhere else. Now im just a little gutted that wherever I go on holiday next will have to be pretty outstanding to beat this place!
Thanks Fausto and Mariapia for such an amazing stay. x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Incantato Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Incantato Bed and Breakfast

Property: Il Giardino Incantato Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 18, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Incantato Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Il Giardino Incantato b&b
Il Giardino Incantato Bed And Breakfast Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing