We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous in Monterosso”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Marvellous in Monterosso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Margherita, on a "pre-wedding honeymoon", with another couple. I couldn't fault this place, from the location, to the staff, to the service. Vanessa on the front desk was especially helpful & friendly, and we had a wonderful time. Breakfast was plentiful & we loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a front corner room. It's not noisy or bright, but has a large balcony to sit & wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyFNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    209
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
94
343
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The warmly welcoming three-star Hotel Margherita is located in the pedestrianised area of the old town. The rooms are modern and comfortable and we opted for 501 which has a huge terrace overlooking Via Roma. Very good for watching the world go by.

If you are planning to go walking, then ask Eduardo who knows every centimetre of the Cinque Terre paths and can describe in detail the best way to go, including even when a bus up a mountain is a good idea. Only word of caution, he is young and fit, so his estimate of time taken is a lot shorter than some more mature people can manage.

The generous buffet breakfast offers great coffee and the adventure of trying to figure out how to cook a soft-boiled egg in the special boiler. Ask the waitress and she will tell you she is not sure how long it takes. We found five minutes was about right!

The girls on reception Vanessa, Francesca and Milly are also friendly and helpful.

Hotel Margehrita is perfectly located for all the restaurants and enotecas (wine bars)

Room Tip: Ask for room with terrace, 501 or 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My parents and I shared a room and it was very comfortable. The reception was gracious and helpful. The room was easy to access and the bathroom was huge. Quite tidy. Free WiFi actually worked. The air conditioning was heaven in August. For us, the location was perfect, just at the end of the tourist spots. It was quiet at night too. I'd be happy to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 209 which had a cute balcony overlooking a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiR2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Service and location are key to me. We took a ferry over and were able to walk to hotel from water (no stairs) with our large spinner suitcase. We had a balcony facing inward so that wasn't fabulous but the room was quite pleasant, large modern bathroom, and fridge that I could store drinks, water, etc. in. The hotel service was exceptional. I did have one thing taken from my belongings BUT I had already checked out and when I went back to gather my left belongings everything was there except the blouse with the price tag on it.mmi was told housekeeping bagged my other belongings for me. In spite of that, I give it a high rating. It was one housekeeper who figured I'd never come back again... My fault for not being more careful. Ether way, we will return to this hotel! Location is central to many restaurants and shops... We rented boats nearby and hiked from monterosso to vernazza... Fantastic stay in beach town. Ne thing - you can hear all doors close shut on your floor. Bothered my husband but didn't bother me at all. Something to think about if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel Margherita was first class. The position is excellent, the rooms of a good size, and the staff very helpful, and the daily breakfast suited us well.
The Cinque Terra is beautiful, Monterosso is a great place to base yourselves, and this hotel is a perfect place to stay.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugbug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I chose the Hotel Margherita on the strength of the NY Times' article recommending it. The hotel is modern and air conditioned, but our rooms must've been the absolute worst in the hotel. Our room (number 3) was tiny and dark. The one window in the corner was insufficient to lighten it up. And the bathroom: Not one inch of counter space, nowhere to put any toiletry bag or makeup. The only horizontal surface in the bathroom was on the sink, itself. And that small space was already occupied by a small bowl holding the small bottles of shampoo and soap. So the only place near the sink to put anything else is on the floor! Ditto for the shower: no soap niche or shelf in the shower. Literally, no place to put a bar of soap or a bottle of shampoo. We didn't travel to Monterosso with the intention of spending all day in our hotel room but still, one expects at least a minimum level of accommodation. I asked the front desk if we could change our rooms but were told that we could not. And the staff wasn't great either. Shortly after our arrival, I asked the woman at the front desk, Vanessa, for a restaurant recommendation. She referred us to Ristorante Al Pozzo. She assured us we needed no reservation. Well, as we were walking down the street, looking for pre-dinner drinks, we happened to walk by Ristorante Al Pozzo and noticed that it was closed! So much for front desk assistance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbkim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo S, Direttore at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is with much disappointment and it is very surprising that I am reading your review, just a few minutes ago I saw you outside of the hotel to let you know that your concerns that you brought to our attention this morning regarding the shower and extra room to place your personal belongings were resolved in the early afternoon while you were out.
We are sorry because we were not even given the time to make your stay pleasant and resolve your concern that you had already decided to write a bad review.

As far as the room, it was specified in the email confirmation that the room you had booked was located on the ground floor, also at your check-in when asked for a change of room we did let you know that unfortunately the hotel is fully booked and at the moment it was not possible. In the past we have always been very willing and pleased to satisfy all of our customers in any way possible as we will continue do in the future.

Regarding Vanessa our receptionist, Hotel Margherita is very proud to have her as one of our receptionists, she speaks four languages correctly (native English and Spanish), very good at dealing with customers and always very helpful, even more than necessary as you may well read in many reviews that were left from past guests. Also just to clarify, this morning when you had asked for a change of room you were advised again that the hotel was fully booked and that if there we any modifications of cancellations she would try her best to change the room for you. Regarding the restaurant you do not need a reservation but I do apologize that it was closed, with so many restaurants here in Monterosso, it is an honest mistake.

To conclude, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with Hotel Margherita although we thank you for your suggestions and helping us in improving our service.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Edoardo Scoditti
Direttore Hotel Margherita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, but could have stayed 3 weeks in a junior suite with 2 floors and a nice balcony. Everything is clean and modern, keeping the charm of the old building in historic Monterosso. Upstairs/ downstairs sleeping rooms make it perfect for families. Our teenage boys also loved the breakfast. It's quiet even though you're close to everything. Veru nice that you get beach towels. They also arranged a nice snorkelling trip for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quatrofamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Roma 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing