We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very professional”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Marina
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very professional”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

WE booked Albergo Marina via email for 5 nights. They confirmed 4 nights, so I emailed them 3 more times trying to confirm a 5th night. But I never received any response.
When we arrived at the hotel, it was stated that they were full & could not accomodate our 5th night. I asked why they had not responded to my emails, no answer was given. WE secured a 5th night at Albergo Amici next door. What a pleasant surprise! The service was fantastic and the room & hotel were immaculate.
The Albergo Marina was in a good location and the breakfast was good.
The room & bathroom were a good size & were updated. Unfortunately under the bed & the floors could have been better kept.(big dust bunnies).
Marina is good hotel, but after viewing many other places for our 5th night..it is clear that there are many other great places in Monterosso for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    167
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
332
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

With a prime location in the center of the beautiful old city in Monterosso, Albergo Marina wound up being a fantastic value. We arrived tired from Florence after a train ride, and were greeted by a free buffet of amazing seafood, pasta with pesto and soft beverages. The breakfast buffet was equally generous, with omelets, crepes and a whole assortment of other things. The afternoon buffet is out from 2 to 6 pm, making it a free lunch as well as breakfast. And the quality of the food is equal to what you will get in the restaurants.
The room was not fancy, but was clean, quiet and had a nice bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebstein925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I believe this hotels greatest asset is the customer service. I wish I would have wrote down their names to acknowledge them here, but unfortunately didn't. After checking in the very friendly host actually cooked us up some pasta for an afternoon snack at no extra charge which was very tasty (as was the outstanding breakfast). She then gave us tips for getting around and where to find the best deals. We actually ran into her later in town and she chatted with us about our trip showing how friendly she really is. Later that night I ask the night host who was also super friendly for a bucket with ice for prosecco and got it straight away. I can't say enough about how friendly the hosts were.

The room was modern, big, clean, and well decorated like a beach resort.

The hotel also includes free use of a kayak which we took advantage of and turned out to be one of our favor things we did. I understand the hotel also offers free use of other items but we didn't get a chance to use them. We did get use the lemon garden which offered great views of the town and sea.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileronguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Lovely hotel in great location. Extremely helpful staff who are willing to help with any enquiries and have a lot of knowledge regarding the walks between the villages. Nice breakfast available and they even offer a free buffet in the afternoon for guests which is an added bonus. The location is great, literally 2 minutes walk from a lovely small sandy beach (the larger beach is a stone beach) - the only slight downside was the pice of sunbeds. they were €26 for 2 beds however you can use them all day.
The hotel was clean, and on the day of departure the receptionist allowed us to use their beach towels and we could also shower in the lemon garden before we left for our flight.
The only negative was our room - as we were 4 girls we booked a quad room which was quite spacious but had 2 twin beds and a set of bunk beds. I would recommed anyone to pay extra and have 2 rooms rather that 1. Apart from that, a great stay in Monterosso.
We also visited Pisa and Florence - both definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Our family of 3 along with 14 other members of our extended family stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel is run by husband and wife team, Marina and Eraldo who truly know how to make a person feel welcome. Our room was wonderful! The breakfast was fantastic served in a beautiful roof top garden. The free afternoon buffet was a bonus! They also provided beach towels and we were a 5 minute walk to the beach. Everything you can possibly need for your stay is here! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One-of-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

dont stay at this hotel unless you want toilet water dripping on you while you sleep. It is aweful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgirl0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Albergo Marina
Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2009.

Location: excellent, 5 minute walk to the smaller beach (I didn’t think it was as nice as the one slightly farther out), and only 10 minutes to the main beach (we liked this one better, it gets crowded). Tons of restaurants within a few minutes walking distance of the hotel.

Rooms/amenities: room décor was nice, spacious, TV, AC, larger bathroom (we booked a superior room). Free beach towels to use which they change daily. Good buffet breakfast (they’ll make omelet to order), but the best part was the afternoon buffet, it was fantastic! Tons of fresh fruit, pastas, wine, etc.

Suggestions: lots of good eating options in Monterosso. We ate twice at Ristorante Miky. We thought the food was fantastic. It’s definitely expensive, in our opinion you could probably get similar quality for the fish dishes elsewhere (there was another restaurant we really like but can’t remember the name unfortunately), but the pastas and appetizers at Miky are fantastic. Order the gnocchi and ask them to bake the flat bread on top. There is also a place nearby that offers free tastings of wine/liquor/preserves, etc. We bought the limoncello, it was the best we had (better than the ones we tried in southern Italy), and my parents who are Italian loved it as well.

Overall: this is one of my favorite accommodations we’ve ever stayed in. Great value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelandFoodLover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
157 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Property: Albergo Marina
Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing