We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Marina
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We loved our stay in Monterosso, and especially our stay at Albergo Marina. We stayed for 4 nights in June, 2008 and it was everything we hoped it would be. The staff is so welcoming and warm (and speak english) that we immediately felt at home. We had 2 rooms, one on the street side and the other with a view of the lemon terrace with a balcony. They were clean and bright with a large bathroom. Very satisified with the rooms. The other reviews are accurate in describing the welcome back buffet - fabulous! We enjoyed our meals there just as much, if not more, than going to a restaurant in town. I didn't miss having an ocean view. I much preferred to have the in town atmosphere. It was so peaceful in the evenings. I enjoyed just looking out my window to watch the locals talk, walk their dogs, do their laundry, etc.

In regards to Monterosso itself, my family of 5 enjoyed it the most of the 5 towns. Perhaps you are partial to the town you are staying in because you get to experience it without all of the tourists, but even during the day, we felt very much at home and enjoyed the big beach (even on the old town side!), shopping and just walking the many paths around the town up into the hills. Stay here if you want to feel like you are a part of Monterosso!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jaknjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 631 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2008

Found this property through Rick Steves' guidebook. After calculating the weakness of the US dollar we needed to find budget friendly accomodations for our trip. This hotel was great from making the reservations to check out. It is a bit of a walk from the train station with your bags( ~15 min.) however if you have a international cell phone or calling card, you can contact their local luggage driver to meet you at the train station and transport you bags for you for free. After making your way to "old Monterrosso" you leave much of the tourists behind. Follow the directions they give you when you make your reservation and you'll be fine. The lobby is good sized. The adjacent room is where they serve a hearty breakfast- for european standards. They have a small elevator. The lemon terrace is very nice. It is close to many good restaurants. The staff speaks good English. The rooms are very nice with A/C. Great showers and large bathrooms-again, for euro standards. We highly recommend this hotel. Internet provided, too. We look forward to going back and staying longer than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank austencasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Albergo Marina was the last place we stayed on our recent 10-day journey around Italy and was easily our favorite! I wanted to bring my husband back to Cinque Terre where I came alone about 7 years ago. It's such a beautiful part of Italy and I knew our time there would be amazing. One of the highlights this time, however, was our wonderful little Hotel Marina. As other people have stated, make sure you stay in the Olde Town side of Monterosso (much quainter, quieter and prettier than the new side where I stayed the last time). I think we lucked out and got the best room in the entire hotel (#465). We were up on the top floor (right next to the beautiful outside Lemon Garden Terrace) and our room had a gorgeous view of the sea. Additionally, our room was very spatious, lovely bathroom, nice flat-screen TV on the wall and a comfy bed. We slept amazingly in this little room (no noise, great air conditioner and cozy bedding).
Everyone raves about the breakfast and early evening "snacks" here...and it's true. It's all delicious and an AMAZING spread of food. We only went out for an actual paid dinner one night because the other evenings we filled up on the yummy food at Marina's little restaurant...for FREE! And the food was different every day. So delicious.
Breakfast was amazing too.
If you're going to spend a day at the beach, make sure to check out their big closet room filled with flippers, snorkels, towels, beach mats, rafts, etc... Our day at the beach was so fun with all this free gear to take with us.
You can't go wrong staying here at Marina's. It was the most comfortable and best-priced place of all our hotels in Italy!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mafitoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We liked this little hotel, which is located on a quiet street in the heart of the old town and near the waterfront.

The hotel provides three kindnesses we did not find elsewhere: (1) A service for transporting luggage from the train to the hotel, (2) a breakfast that included eggs cooked to order and, in the afternoon, (3) a spread of wine and food from which one could easily make a substantial and tasty meal.

We were in room #140, on the street side of the building. It has two large windows that lead to balconies overlooking the street and a bathroom so tiny that there was not enough room to dry off in it after taking a shower.

We liked Monterosso, Hotel Marina, and the meals we ate at Ristorante Belvedere, on the harbor front. The waiters at Belvedere didn’t rush us, the food was tasty, and the prices were right. Pasta dishes are big enough for two. We especially liked the black and white pasta with mussels.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This hotel couldn't have been more perfect. It is tucked back on a little street, back from the beach and the busy walkways. While you do not have a view of the water, you do have tranquility. The hotel staff is very friendly and speak very good English. They have complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks. These are not your typical complimentary hotel meals- there are several delicious choices. The breakfast was filling and the snacks just about ruined our dinner appetite they were so good. They also offer beach towels and snorkeling gear. It only takes about 4-5 minutes to get to the beach. The rooms are nice, with good beds and a good bathroom. There is also an elevator. This hotel is on the "old side" of Monterosso, not the side with the train station. I strongly recommend staying on this side, whichever hotel you choose, because it has far more character and less tourist traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WhitG525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

I loved this time of year in Italy. However a bit cooler, the beach was not our main destination, but the staff of our hotel was very helpful in mapping out the walks among all the five cities and walks that are even harder to find but the most beautiful. The time of year and the friendliness, cleanliness, comfort of the rooms really made us feel at home!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kimbervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

To book this hotel I phoned the hotel direct after reading reviews on the tripadvisor. I wished to stay there for four nights but it was already full for the other two nights.

On our arrival, warm welcome and hospitality throughout our two night stay at Marina.

The room is basic and clean, air-conditioned, with a window looking down to a quiet street of the historical quarter which is full of charm day and night.

I very much liked the breakfast: of good quality with a wide selection. Good coffee.

The hotel has no private parking but the parking information on the hotel’s internet site was very helpful. We used the multi-story parking at the entrance of the historical quarter.

The historical quarter and the beach of Monterosso al Mare (where the railway station also is) are five minutes walk to each other. There is also a small beach at the bay in front of the historical quarter.

Please also refer to my review for Pasquale where we spent the other two nights in Monterosso. Marina and Pasquale are both good hotels. I personally like Marina more, which is naive and, to me, more Italian.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
660 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $161 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing