We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Try to Please, and Succeed”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Marina
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We liked this little hotel, which is located on a quiet street in the heart of the old town and near the waterfront.

The hotel provides three kindnesses we did not find elsewhere: (1) A service for transporting luggage from the train to the hotel, (2) a breakfast that included eggs cooked to order and, in the afternoon, (3) a spread of wine and food from which one could easily make a substantial and tasty meal.

We were in room #140, on the street side of the building. It has two large windows that lead to balconies overlooking the street and a bathroom so tiny that there was not enough room to dry off in it after taking a shower.

We liked Monterosso, Hotel Marina, and the meals we ate at Ristorante Belvedere, on the harbor front. The waiters at Belvedere didn’t rush us, the food was tasty, and the prices were right. Pasta dishes are big enough for two. We especially liked the black and white pasta with mussels.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 628 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2008

This hotel couldn't have been more perfect. It is tucked back on a little street, back from the beach and the busy walkways. While you do not have a view of the water, you do have tranquility. The hotel staff is very friendly and speak very good English. They have complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks. These are not your typical complimentary hotel meals- there are several delicious choices. The breakfast was filling and the snacks just about ruined our dinner appetite they were so good. They also offer beach towels and snorkeling gear. It only takes about 4-5 minutes to get to the beach. The rooms are nice, with good beds and a good bathroom. There is also an elevator. This hotel is on the "old side" of Monterosso, not the side with the train station. I strongly recommend staying on this side, whichever hotel you choose, because it has far more character and less tourist traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WhitG525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

I loved this time of year in Italy. However a bit cooler, the beach was not our main destination, but the staff of our hotel was very helpful in mapping out the walks among all the five cities and walks that are even harder to find but the most beautiful. The time of year and the friendliness, cleanliness, comfort of the rooms really made us feel at home!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kimbervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

To book this hotel I phoned the hotel direct after reading reviews on the tripadvisor. I wished to stay there for four nights but it was already full for the other two nights.

On our arrival, warm welcome and hospitality throughout our two night stay at Marina.

The room is basic and clean, air-conditioned, with a window looking down to a quiet street of the historical quarter which is full of charm day and night.

I very much liked the breakfast: of good quality with a wide selection. Good coffee.

The hotel has no private parking but the parking information on the hotel’s internet site was very helpful. We used the multi-story parking at the entrance of the historical quarter.

The historical quarter and the beach of Monterosso al Mare (where the railway station also is) are five minutes walk to each other. There is also a small beach at the bay in front of the historical quarter.

Please also refer to my review for Pasquale where we spent the other two nights in Monterosso. Marina and Pasquale are both good hotels. I personally like Marina more, which is naive and, to me, more Italian.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed in the old part of Monterosso Al Mare. I liked that, much more character and culture appeal. The Hotel was sort of hard to find at first, but the town just isn't that big so you'll eventually find it.. Find the black and white church and turn left and walk up the hill and there you are.

Nice Air Conditioning, Relaxing room, clean room. Only complaint they didnt' refill the juice and coke I was drinking out of the in-room fridge with my mixed drinks, but that is very minor.. Also the safe kind of messed up and we had to have the manager reset the code, no big deal..
It is not right on the beach, but it is a very short walk.. Everything is a short walk... Wow the restaurants.. The restaurant on the beach on the south side that serves the flat bread sandies, are awesome. Monterosso invented the flat foccacia sandwich and all the places make these with homemade bread, AWESOME!!!

This town is so fun, the Hotel Marina is quiet at night because it is in the old part of town, at night is slow and that is nice.. Down the street is a neat bar that plays american music, you can hike the cinque terre trail, love our experiences in Cinque Terre and this Hotel.. ALso they had free breakfast and lunch...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fisher972002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

On a friends recommendation we booked 4 nights at Albergo Marina for mid October. 2 days into our stay we knew we wanted to extend our time there so we ended up staying a full week. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfasts and happy hour(s) were substantial and delicious and the rooms were comfortable. Take advantage of the rooftop terrace while enjoying the view with a bottle of local wine. Great location, we will definitely go back!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank MEtravelME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Albergo Marina is the perfect hotel in a beautiful part of Italy!
The staff was amazing and made you feel right at home. Cute and cozy rooms, a lovely spread for breakfast, great happy hour in the evening and friendly guests made this our favorite part of our entire visit to Italy. Cinque Terre is gorgeous so make sure you book an extra day as you won't want to leave!
Thanks to Julia and the entire staff for making us feel so welcome! If we ever are fortunate enough to return to Cinque Terre I would book Albergo Marina again - it was amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $147 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing