We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel's Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

that about sums it up. I see all the stellar reviews and I just smile and think about the view...the wine on the porch...the room and balcony...Giovanni (fruta? Prosciutto? Jogurt? Cappucinno?) and Lorenzo...those cats...the fun folks staying there...AC was heavenly one really hot night.

All I want to do is return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    52
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
266
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We've come to Italy for our honeymoon which we are using a TON of SPG points to do ludicrously nice stays throughout the country (e.g. Westin Excelsior in Rome...horrible service, St Regis in Florence...great room, ok service, and severe nickel and diming), BUT Manuel's Guesthouse has been an utter treat! The view is amazing! The service is beyond par, and the room is quite comfortable. Did I mention the service rocks?! We would stay here forever if we could...don't hesitate, book it now!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llsht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

After climbing 122 steps to reach manuels it was worth it!! The view from the terrance was unreal, givanni (cant spell is name) made the stay he was sooo lovely and loved to feed you.. breakfast is included which was nice. Lorenzo and his dad couldnt do enough for you, i was planning on putting a bad review so people avoided going to this little gem. This would be the only place i would stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3cca_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

BOOK a room NOW! You will not find a better place to stay in Monterosso. This is such a gem; my husband and I feel so lucky to have stayed here on our honeymoon. The staff (Lorenzo and Manuel's brother, Giovanni) were so accommodating; they make you feel right at home. The guesthouse has a STUNNING terrace with a bar. On the terrace you can get bottled water, wine, meat plates, snacks, etc. at a very small cost. They provide you with beach towels and when we left, they even gave us a to go bag of food for our long train journey (so thoughtful). The room we stayed in was spacious (on the first floor). Breakfast was included with our stay (we did pay in Euro to get a discounted rate) and the food was always great! The beautiful view from your room and scent of rosemary that would awake you as you sat on the terrace having breakfast is something my husband and I still dream about. The guesthouse is located in the "Old Town" part of Monterosso in which there are superb restaurants with fresh seafood (go to CIAK and Osteria). My husband and I went on a 90 minute hike to Vernazza; it was beautiful but extremely hot, strenuous, but worth the hike. Overall, absolutely WONDERFUL stay! Thank you to Manuel's Guesthouse; we would love to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaNSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Manuel and his son really make you feel like you are at home.There are many steps you have to walk up to get to his home, but it was worth it all for the most beautiful view in all of Monterosso. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. The room was clean, comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. They gave us towels for the beach and large bottles of water for free. A real highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, even if you have to pay a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is an incredible place to stay and I can't wait to stay there again at some point in the future. The guesthouse is located at one of the highest points in Monterosso, but is still only a 5-7 minute walk to the beach. Its height above other buildings grants it incredible views of the ocean, the town, and the mountains. There is a large terrace where breakfast is held that shares these views; the terrace was great for relaxing and socializing with other guests, Lorenzo, and his dad. I would recommend going with the sea view rooms for 20€ more; that view from the room made our trip unforgettable. Manuel's guesthouse is run efficiently by Lorenzo and his dad, who provide a real Italian feel to your stay. Their English is limited, but was an obstacle that we were able to overcome; they more than make up for this with their friendly demeanor and determination to help you with our stay however they can, even going so far as to carry your luggage up the many stairs leading to the guesthouse. We were so sad to leave and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewN5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a beautiful place. We loved staying here. We had one of the rooms without a balcony but didn't mind at all. We still had the amazing views and spent most of our time at the guesthouse out on the patio drinking beer and meeting the other lovely guests. So often it's hard to meet others when you're travelling around in guesthouses but this terrace seemed to bring groups together in great ways. Some of our favourite moments from our trip came from there.

In terms of practicalities - it's really well located, away from the noise of the main street. The steps really aren't a big deal (I had been worried) and waking up every morning to that view was spectacular. The wonderful hosts couldn't have done more for us - all the food and snacks over drinks were just perfect. One word of warning - be prepared to eat, it became impossible to say no - in the best possible way!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guest House

Property: Manuel's Guest House
Address: Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manuel`s Guesthouse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Manuel's Guest House Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing