We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel's Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for one night during a spring break trip. It was raining, which cut short out exploration of the area, but we really enjoyed our room. We were there in the off-season so we didn't have breakfast, but as a result the price was very reasonable. I was worried about the steps, but we managed just fine with our backpacks. Lorenzo was friendly and highlighted places to eat and visit on our map. The room was clean and comfortable, and the view from the terrace was incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olsmj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
262
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family had to leave the house we were renting in Monterosso as the heaters didn't work and we were freezing, so luckily we ran into two Americans who told us about Manuel's Guesthouse. Such a welcome find! Handsome Lorenzo and his friendly uncle Manuel could not be more welcoming. Yes, you do have to climb SO many steps to get to this place, but it is so wonderful that even my husband with the bad hip did not mind. (Lorenzo will just carry your suitcase on his shoulders, no problem :) Your reward for the steps is a balcony in every room with to-die for-views and breakfast cooked by Manuel himself on the outdoor patio, also with gorgeous views. Such a reasonable price (I think cash only). No tv, but it did have welcome internet and clean, new bathrooms. Very simple furnishings, but who cares when you have patio views of the hillside city and the ocean?

Helpful hint: Either take a debit card or check with your credit card company to see if your credit card has a pin number. When you buy train tickets, they want a pin number for your credit card and not all cards have one. Ours didn't, so we couldn't use it to buy train tickets- kind of a shock. Only use ATMs that say Bancomat- others are a scam with a big service fee. Try to exchange American cash at banks instead of random cash/exchange places- the random places can charge a 19% fee. Banks charge an 8% fee, but have limited hours open. Bancomats charge 3% fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is simply amazing. We followed Lorenzo's email instructions once we got to the old side of the town from the train station and had started climbing up the stairs when Lorenzo came running to help us with our bags. After climbing lots of stairs, we arrived to our room with patio facing the water and instantly fell in love with this place and magnificent views. That patio was our home for the next few days to watch amazing sunsets, moon and stars at night. And not to forget Lorenzo and his uncle's warm hospitality: they served us yummy breakfast every morning, made coffee and were always eager to help with whatever we needed. I'll definitely come back next time I am in Monterosso.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_Piggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Yes, there are many steps to get there.... I counted 150 from the very bottom to our room at the top of the guesthouse. If anything, having to work to get there made the experience even more special. We were helped up and down with our luggage by Lorenzo who manages everything with the most pleasant personality. Our room was on the top floor with a breath-taking view. The furnishings are simple but perfectly suited for this place. Everything was clean, neat and comfortable. It was our first stop of our two week trip in Italy in mid-September, and I truly felt as if I was experiencing such an authentic piece of this lovely country. We started out every day with a continental breakfast served by Giovanni. His affable nature and bright smile were always evident. Breakfast consisted of coffee, cappuccino, or tea, juices, local pastries, fruit, yogurt, breads, prosciutto, and cheese. We would go out during the day, hiking and exploring, and when we returned, there was Giovanni, offering us an ample late afternoon snack with extremely reasonably priced beer or local wine. Sitting there on the patio, overlooking Monterrosso was truly a piece of heaven. On top of all of this, the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend Manuel's as long as you can walk up all the stairs...(good exercise for all the eating you'll do!)

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NjoyTravelingNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect. It very clean, scenic, and the service is excellent. The hospitality went above and beyond what is normally expected. They make every guest feel like old friends and really do everything possible to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Case in point, we couldn't connect to their WIFI because on a issue with our mobile phone; their solution was to let us use their spare laptop for our entire stay, just so we could have internet access. The breakfast was great and I especially liked the cappuccino. Make sure you take the time out to enjoy an afternoon drink on their deck/patio; the view is awesome.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are super clean; go for a balcony if one is available but it isn't critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

It took a bit of work to get to Manuel's (many steps uphill) but we were pleased when we got there. We had the top right hand side room. A proper double bed (not two twins pushed together), a very clean room and bathroom with a nice atmosphere and a balcony (with table and chairs) with a stunning view over Monterosso and the sea. Just lovely.
We visited in November, so unfortunately we didn't see the place in full swing, with meals served on the terrace and busy. But we can imagine it would be great!
Lorenzo was very welcoming and gave us plates, cutlery and wine glasses so we could bring food home and snack on the balcony.
I'd like to visit again in warmer weather someday!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worthyadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here in Novemver during the off season, so the terrace was closed and no food was available.

It was still an amazing place to stay and we can't wait to visit again during summer. Lorenzo was fantastic to deal with, the balcony in our room had a view to die for and the value is second to none.

Others have mentioned the steps - don't book this if you have mobility issues and will find it difficult to climb lots of stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#1 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guest House

Property: Manuel's Guest House
Address: Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manuel`s Guesthouse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Manuel's Guest House Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing