We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all the glowing reviews are spot on; its truly a delightful spot”
Review of B&B Ulivo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Ulivo
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“all the glowing reviews are spot on; its truly a delightful spot”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

with sweeping views across the coast and all 5 villages in a peaceful setting of citrus, olive groves and vineyards. The two storey "cottage" is fully equiped even down to the provision of olive oil etc for cooking. Plenty of information available including local bus and ferry timetables. Frederico will meet you and drive the 5 mins from town to the place. You can walk to the town but the local mini bus is convenient and stops on the road about 300m away. Its great value. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip5048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

B&B Ulivo lived up to every expectation. It is run by Federico and his wife and we stayed in the attick of their private home just 10-15 minutes walk from the western Monterosso centre. Federico picked us up at the train station when we arrived and drove our luggage down to the station when we left. The attick is modern, tasteful and clean. It has one bedroom, a nice bathroom and a big terrase overlooking the green hills and partly the sea. From the kitchen window there is a fantastic sea view. The kitchen is well ecquiped with basics like olive oil, coffee, tea etc. The place is very quiet and relaxing.

Being an attick flat, the doors and parts ot the ceiling is low and this might be a drawback for some. However, we were informed about this before we booked and it did not ruin the experience for us. We received very good information (including pictures) during the booking process and throughout our stay. Federico provided us with maps, timetables for trains and boats and other useful tips. I will definetely stay in one of Frederico's places next time I am in Monterosso!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingvild77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Travelling on our honeymoon my wife and i had the most fantastic stay at B&B Ulivo. The owners Federico and Laura were lovely people and made us feel so welcome in our cabin overlooking the cinque terra. Nestled in an olive grove above Monterosso you have complete views looking back towards the rest of the cinque terra. Our cabin was very comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom and kitchen. About an 800 metre walk from the centre of town this little gem really gets you in the holiday mood. We cannot wait until we can return to Monterosso and B&B Ulivo the highlight of our Italian and French honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodle1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This place is a bit of a challenge, but we loved it; Federico will pick you up at the station and take you back - after that you're on your own, a stiff hike from downtown Monterrosso with infrequent buses possible: it's quaint, self contained, a reasonable base from which to explore the Cinque Terre, and great value if you're up for it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonC83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

If you want a perfect break away then stay at one of Federico's places. Our cabana was a perfect place for a couple to stay for a romantic break. It is cheap in comparison with other places too.

It is amongst the orange, lemon and olive groves- you can pick and eat your own. The place was a perfect size with an incredible vista at any time of day. It looks out on the bay and is much closer than it seems down to the village and the beach.

Federico is simply charming and very welcoming and will help out as much as you like with ideas of where to go and what to see. The Cinque Terre is a beautiful place but our trip was made all the better for staying with Federico.

100% recommended

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph,Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Nestled in the fragrant olive and lemon grove, perched above the village and overlooking the sea,B and B Ulivo provides an amazing retreat from the world.Once in a lifetime, you must experience such peace and beauty.

The cottage is well appointed with coffee-maker and cooking equipment. The rooms are tastefully and simply decorated.

The most unique feature is the spacious terrasse overlooking the valley, the village and the sea.Spend time there under the umbrella ,sipping wine, contemplating the beauty of the Ligurian coast, and imagining what delicious food awaits you in Monterosso,only a 10 minute walk down the hill into the charming village.

Frederico Rasso is a kind and extremely gracious landlord and host.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggieGuelph_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

Subject: B & B Ulivo, Cinque Terre Italy
Location: Monterrosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Title: Stunning Location above the Sea
ID#: 5316228

Federico Raso has several freestanding places in the hills just behind the waters of Monterosso (the largest of the 5 villages with the best beaches and adorable old town) and just above the Cappucian Monastery.

We stayed in a cabana capable of sleeping 4, with 2 floors, upstairs bedroom, full kitchen, and a terrace with a stunning view of the vineyards and olive trees across the way and the beach of Monterosso. The bathroom has one of the larger showers we've seen in the area and one can even take a sit-down bath.

Federico's property is set amidst lemon groves, and the garden area where one can lunch includes lemon trees, gorgeous rose bushes and cala lillies, an orange tree, rosemary and lavender, etc.
In the evenings, we drank the famous Cinque Terre white wine and ate
olives and pecorino cheese for an appetizer before heading down to town for dinner--the bells of the monastery provide perfect ambiance. The place was simple, clean, and perfect for a very affordable price.

Federico kindly met us when we arrived at the train station and drove us to the cabana. It is a 10-15-minute walk down to the old town or beach and 20-25 minutes back. While the path isn't well lit at night, during the day up until about 8 p.m. it is a nice walk. If you want to stay in town until later and don't want to walk back in the dark, 5 minute taxi rides can be found for very little money.

Overall it was the perfect relaxing vacation we were looking for! Contact Info: B&B Ulivo, Via Molinelli 87, 19016 Monterosso al Mare. email federico at federicoraso@libero.it

Helpful?
10 Thank wiglaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi di Sole
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi ...
#41 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alle 5 Terre
Alle 5 Terre
#20 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B SoleMare
B&B SoleMare
#8 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Caribe
Villa Caribe
#31 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Lo Scoglio
Affittacamere Lo Scoglio
#36 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ulivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ulivo

Property: B&B Ulivo
Address: Via Molinelli 87, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay in our B&B you will have the possibility to spend an awesome vacation among an authentic family of Monterosso.You will have at your disposal a bedroom with double bed, a large living room and a private terrace from which you can enjoy a nice seaview. 300 mt. far from the seaside and 500mt far from the train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Ulivo
b&b Ulivo Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
B&B Ulivo Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing