We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Via Genova 21”
Review of B&B Ulivo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Ulivo
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Via Genova 21”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

B&B Ulivo has several locations. The one we stayed in was centrally located and turned out to be a large spacious room with large ensuite and small kitchen area. The room was nicely decorated and there was some impressive brick work which dated back to the 15th century. However the room was dank,dark, musty and had a strong odour of mildew, this was probably due to the fact that it was a re-converted wine cellar. We both experienced heartburn after breathing the air for several hours. We also had expected breakfast as we had been dealing with a B&B but were told that since there was a kitchen in the room we were responsible for our own breakfast. The kitchen consisted of a hotplate with only one burner working, a sink and was poorly equipped. There was inadequate hot water due to a very small boiler, we timed our showers and in general there was about 3 minutes of hot water. The toilet seat was broken and there was no garbage can in the bathroom. Also the directions we received from Federico were poorly written, instead of saying pass through the tunnel , directions indicated to pass by the tunnel. This resulted in our hauling luggage up/ down a multitude of stairs at night and going up a rather steep treacherous poorly lit incline . When this was brought to the attention of the owners son ( who was there at the room to meet us) the attitude was rather flippant in that there had been no problems before, this was even after literally showing the young man the incorrectly written instructions which we had received from the B&B. We woke up one morning to having no electricity, luckily a neighbour in the building showed us how to access the fuse box. We really felt that once they had received our payment we were on our own, and that the owner was rather inaccessible. Also the owner more or less refused to provide us a receipt of payment , we felt that it could become an unpleasant situation if we insisted on getting a receipt. All in all it was an unpleasant part of our stay in Italy and not worth the 75 euro a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrylee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the apartment at 21 Genova; it was a very nice little studio, except I thought it was a bit dark and sombre. When I first saw it, I thought the darkened room would be improved by opening the shutters, but that didn't help much. It was sunny and beautiful outside, but it felt cold, damp and dark in the apartment.
Also, the whole point of having an apartment (for me) is to be able to have tea or coffee in the morning; we had a small kitchenette, but nothing to cook with. No pot or kettle so it was pointless. I regretted staying there and wished I had gone with one of the sea view rooms, which was my alternative preference (a view of the sea).
The location was nice in the old town, and a short walk to many cafes and happenings in town.
It was a very nice room, but next time I would seek out an accomodation with more light. Also, the hot water in the shower ran out quickly, as was mentioned by one of the other reviewers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First - this review is not for the B&B Ulivo but the studio apartment Federico has at Via Genova 21. We took the train from Florence to Monterosso and walked to the old part of town. Federico had provided us with a map, but a nice older lady helped us find the building. It is in a wonderful location, off a main road and down a quiet cobblestone street behind an old church. We called Federico and he met us to give us the keys and introduce us to the ground floor studio. The building is very nice (locals live in the 2 apartments on the upper floors) and looks very European. The updated studio has a tiny kitchen with table, good size main room with a large bed, and a good size bathroom. Very quiet and we slept well. There is no view, but a nice large window that lets in a lot of light and looks out onto the small private courtyard (no access). I also loved the exposed old brick in the archways. My only complaint is that the hot water would run out after one shower, so you would have to wait a bit for it to heat up more. The location is in the heart of the old part of town, which I found to be the best. Lots of little cobblestone streets with little shops and restaurants. There was a little market just around the corner and the main street (also around the corner) has a farmer's market feel. I loved staying here, giving me the flexibility and independence to come and go and feel a bit like a local. If I come back to the Cinque Terre region, I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here in Monterosso. It is a lovely spot high up on the hill, surrounded by olives, lemons and vineyards..stunning views!
The accomodation was basic but clean & Frederico was helpful.
It is however not a B & B in the true sense of the word. It would best be described as self catering as there was no food as such included in the price and having just left Ireland where Bed & Breakfast consists of a feast, this is simply coffee, sugar, salt, oil & remnants of previous guests pantries.
The walk down to the village is fairly steep, there are 3 paths down but worth the effort & of course one must walk the Cinque Terre trail anyway. Monterosso is the nicest of the 5 Terre villages with Vernazza running a close second. I enjoyed my time here and there are some good restaurants in the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in apartment C1 on top of the hill in the lemon garden. Federico and his family were very accommodating, picking us up from and driving us back to the train station by the sea. The apartment was clean, large, and had a breathtaking view. The hike, however, is not for the faint of heart... But the walk was scenic. The apt. also had a fully equipped kitchen that made dinners-in fun! Great experience overall, thank you Federico!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We'd planned to stay 3 nights and ended up begging for an extra. This home overlooking Monterosso has the most spectacular view of anywhere I've ever stayed. Ever. It has a private patio, garden filled with lemon and orange trees, and a full kitchen if you want to eat in. Monterosso itself is absolutely charming, my favorite village in Cinque Terra.

The proprietors are wonderful (the son discovered we didn't have an Italian cell phone and found us one to borrow).

If I have the good fortune to return to this area, I will do my best to get this house again!

You do need to be able and willing to walk, as it is a fairly strenuous journey on a cobblestone path between the village and the house... the reason for the extraordinary view, as you are on a hilltop well above the city. It's about 10 minutes down and closer to 20 coming up. But the trip itself offers fantastic views (as well as a local winery at about the halfway point... a nice bonus!).

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in the B&B Ulivo attic apartment for one week in September and it was fantastic! The apartment sits on top of a hill, so there are a lot of steps to get there, but we kind of liked that it wasn't on the main strip - and the views from the windows and balcony were amazing! Who are we kidding, that exercise up the stairs was much-needed after days filled with pasta, focaccia & gelato, mmmm! B&B Ulivo had everything we needed and more, a large bedroom, a comfortable living area, a simple kitchen (complete with breakfast table), a clean bathroom, and a beautiful balcony. The apartment was very clean and well taken care of. And all this for a very reasonable price!

But the best part by far was the service. Federico, Laura and family were absolutely amazing hosts from the moment we arrived to the moment we left! Our train arrived into Monterosso in the middle of the night but even so Federico picked us up just outside of the train station so we wouldn't have to climb the stairs with our bags (phew!). Throughout our stay they were always happy to give us local suggestions on where to eat (or where not to), and what to see/do. Federico even shared one of his favorite pasta recipes with us and gave us some of his homemade olive oil to help make it. Over the course of the week we had many great conversations and they were always eager to hear what our day consisted of - it was lovely!

There was no internet access but it was no problem....for the few times we really needed to connect Federico let us use his computer. Overall it was a great place to stay - a local vibe, good value, fantastic hosts. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rozeecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
I Lecci di Soviore
I Lecci di Soviore
#45 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#8 of 158 in Cinque Terre
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Caribe
Villa Caribe
#32 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi di Sole
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi ...
#43 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Verdeacqua
B&B Verdeacqua
#44 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ulivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ulivo

Property: B&B Ulivo
Address: Via Molinelli 87, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay in our B&B you will have the possibility to spend an awesome vacation among an authentic family of Monterosso.You will have at your disposal a bedroom with double bed, a large living room and a private terrace from which you can enjoy a nice seaview. 300 mt. far from the seaside and 500mt far from the train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Ulivo
b&b Ulivo Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
B&B Ulivo Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing