We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Spiaggia: Mostly Very Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Spiaggia
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“La Spiaggia: Mostly Very Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

La Spiaggia…its a charming hotel, right on the bay. I traveled there in April 2013 for just one night with my husband, mother in law and her friend. One of the reasons we chose La Spiaggia was the ease with which we could make a reservation online, via email. Maria answered my email within a day, despite it being their slow season, and when I had to contact her about changing our plans she was very flexible.

We had planned to arrive at about noon so we could do some hiking, but little did we know our action-packed road trip through Italy would have a detour that would delay our arrival to 7:00pm instead. La Spiaggia was indeed a sight for sore eyes. The town of Monterosso al Mare is split into what seemed like a newer section and the old section, connected by a pedestrian tunnel. La Spiaggia is on the newer side of town. After 8 long hours of driving (details of our route snafu to follow), we were so happy to see the cheery building right on the boardwalk lining the sea. Maria greeted us with an offer of a glass of wine, and helped us load our bags onto their lift (which had a strict weight limit). Each room has a keyless entry, but unlike chain hotels, guests must return the key card to their room upon check out. The room was just right- a bit small to leave two suitcases open on the floor at once, but completely adequate. We stayed on the (very high up) third floor, and had a charming balcony overlooking the beach and sea. The little balcony had two small chairs, perfect for sitting and enjoying the scenery. We opened the slats on the doors and listened to the sounds of the ocean as we went to sleep (which was wonderful, but the street below does start stirring quite early). It was a cozy little bathroom that was very functional.

La Spiaggia had an impressive breakfast buffet in the morning. Hard boiled eggs, Prosciutto and salami, different cheeses, cereals, toast/jam, and yogurt. I was most impressed that when I asked for gluten-free items they delivered me a large basket full of Shor brand biscuits, cookies and breads. There was an outdoor courtyard with tables and chairs that would be SO wonderful to relax on if the weather were a bit warmer.

The family of the proprietor, Andrea, has been in the town of Monterosso al Mare for generations, and the family photos are all over the walls of the dining area. It was fun to see what the town looked like 50 80, 100 years ago. I really wanted to like Andrea, and expected to after perusing TripAdvisor prior to our trip, but I found him to be a bit abrupt, not as engaging as other travelers had reported. We only had one night, though, and so I am not sure I would let that deter me from going back. On the other hand, we passed many other bed and breakfasts that looked equally as charming, so when I go back I think I might try something new.

(If you are driving to Monterosso al Mare from La Spezia, be warned that as of a month ago [on 4/19/13] SP370/SP51 was closed just before Vernazza. We thought we'd drive from Monaco to La Spezia and take SP370/SP51 north to see all the towns in the Cinque Terre chain on our way to Monterosso al Mare, but when we were ALMOST THERE we were turned back, because the road was washed out. We went back to La Spezia, but rather than getting back on the Autostrada, we took SP1 to Pian di Barca, and then went east on SP38 to SP370. It was a LOVELY drive, but its a series of windey roads that slow you down).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbindc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    153
    48
    26
    28
See reviews for
119
374
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a room with a view of the coast that was hard to stop looking at, and the location is great if you're traveling/exploring by train - it's a very short walk from the Monterosso station. It's across the street from the beach. The room itself was nothing to get excited over, but it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom is very small. When we checked in we were treated to a glass of white wine while Andrea gave us the low down on everything - he was a wealth of info. He seemed to know the time for every train stopping in Monterosso and gave us several good restaurant recommendations. The only significant negative was the wifi - it was almost nonexistent. When my wife went down to buy another couple hours of time she mentioned that she spent half the time waiting on the wifi, and they didn't charge us anything for the wifi during our 3 night stay. They said it's due to lack of bandwidth coming into the town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just stayed at this very quaint European hotel in a double, (two twin mattresses put together as king bed) with sea view and balcony. This is a great location across from the beach with wonderful views. This hotel is within easy walking distance of train station. It is not in the center of Monterosso which was good with us. Note: this is a European hotel and you should not expect the same size bathroom as a US 4 star. Andrea is the “god father” of Monterosso. He knows all and really likes to suggest places for dinner and make other recommendations for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a room with view of the ocean. Well worth it. Slept with windows open listenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Hotel La Spiaggia is a beautiful hotel in a great location. It is a family owned/run hotel. We were greeted upon check-in by Maria (the daughter of the owner) and offered a complimentary glass of the owner's wine. The views are fantastic and the location is great. The restaurant recommendations were all excellent; even those in other cities we were traveling to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcadia, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was my seventh stay at La Spiaggia and, as usual, it was wonderful. I have truly come to love Andrea Poggi and his interesting family. The hotel has really improved over the years. For example, the towels are now terry cloth instead of the smooth cotton previously seen at European Hotels. All the rooms have been redone to include nicer tv's, refrigerators, and better hair dryers. The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable.
Fortunately, Andrea hasn't changed. Not only does he give us great restaurants in Cingue Terre but terrific restaurants all over Italy. The wine made from grapes from his vineyard was especially good this year. Everyone who stays at the hotel is greeted with a glass.
I would also like to mention a new hike in the area. We love to hike from Monterosso to Vernazza but it is really hard (many, many steps, steep, and crowded.) As we chatted with Maria Poggi at the desk, we learned there is a new hike built on former railroad tracks from Levanto to Bonosola to Framura. We took the train to Levanto and walked toward the sea to the tourist office (it was closed). When facing the sea, the hike begins on your right (North). The hike is paved all the way with asphalt. If you choose less hike, just stop at the lovely town of Bonosola and for more exercise, lovely views, and cool tunnels just stay on the path to Framura. I strongly recommend you get a train schedule for your return. You can also do the hike in the other direction. Ciao

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCADIA, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just completing another wonderful stay at La Spiaggia in Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre. This is a lovely beachfront hotel in a beautiful town, a real gem of a place. The biggest asset is the proprietor, Andrea Poggi, who is not only a wonderful man, but is also an inexhaustible font of information about Monterosso, Cinque Terre, Liguria and Italy, as well as the world in general. He can give you a great restaurant to go to in almost every city and town in Italy, knowns much about the history and culture of all regions and has personally visited them all in his long and eventful life. Service is very good and very friendly. All modern conveniences. All-in all, a perfect place to stay and a perfect base for our hikes of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDOPHTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the place to stay! Family run hotel with great hospitality! Right on the beach which was great. Walking distance to everything in Monterosso. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bed firm, just the way my wife and I like them. Just ask Andrea for suggestions where to visit and eat. He will certainly fill you in. His suggestions will not lead you a stray! With that, a heart felt thank you to Andrea Poggi!!! You made our stay in Cinque Terre very special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#17 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Property: Hotel La Spiaggia
Address: Lungomare Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing