We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pick for Monterosso al Mare”
Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Spiaggia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the place to stay! Family run hotel with great hospitality! Right on the beach which was great. Walking distance to everything in Monterosso. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bed firm, just the way my wife and I like them. Just ask Andrea for suggestions where to visit and eat. He will certainly fill you in. His suggestions will not lead you a stray! With that, a heart felt thank you to Andrea Poggi!!! You made our stay in Cinque Terre very special!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 789 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

What made this stay so enjoyable was our host Poggi Andrea. He poured us a lovely glass of wine upon our arrival. As we were from Napa and enjoyed wine he shared a special bottle of Chardonnay from Israel with us the next day. It was such a kind jesture. He epitomizes the spirit of generous hospitality. He gave us tips for fine dining. The room was nice with a clean tidy bathroom. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast with the best puff pastry that we had on our whole European trip which included France. It could be a little noisy in high season as the Hotel is at sea level on a busy promenade. In that case stay up late, buy a bottle of wine and enjoy the terrace. We drove so it was nice to have parking. In addition, he acceped our American dollars without charging us a change fee. We thought that was very considerate.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a terrace if the weather is warm and in the off season a room with the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our only time to visit the CT was off season in March. This hotel was a good choice for us as it is very close to the train station and in the larger CT village of Monterosso. Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Very clean and much more modern room than was expected. We had a lovely third floor room overlooking the sea and although it was cold to stand outside the views were priceless! In some ways going in March was wonderful , we could truly enjoy the area with very few people. However if you hit an extremely cold windy rainy day as we did you are pretty limited on what to do! We even had no trains as there were mudslides in the tunnels. Because the hotel is meant for nicer weather we found the room to be pretty cold on those rainy days. Sleeping was fine as we had lots of blankets but showers...........................as fast as possible!
We ate at local spots recommended by the hotel which were good. Laundry service around the corner was inexpensive and delivered back to hotel the same day.
It would be nice to see this hotel in the summer ,but I think the area could be ruined with too many people.
We spent a lovely sunny day exploring Corniglia and Vernazza with few other people ( mud slides on the roads too so no one could drive)
Hotel Spiaggia does not accept credit cards so one FYI for any Canadian guests. We had cash to pay for our stay and had planned to use ATM 's to withdraw any other cash we might need. The day we left our train was cancelled to Nice , found out that no ATM's accepted the plus network for our RBC debit card. We would have had to use a visa cash advance which we did not want to do. We met some Americans and their cards worked fine. As it turned out after a 6 hour delay we were able to catch a train to France and our debit card worked fine there.
Staff was very helpful during that time as well. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful location, directly across from the beach and a short walk to the Old Town section of Monterosso. The staff here is so welcoming and friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and tips for seeing the Cinque Terre. Our ocean view room on the top floor was clean and comfortable, with a small balcony (and small bathroom). Breakfast was good and there is a nice little courtyard to sit out in. A wonderful spot to stay when visiting Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hello! This hotel looks great from the reviews and pictures on here but I can't find any way to book it or contact them through email. How did you all book this place? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSpiaggia, Owner at Hotel La Spiaggia, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

You can send us an email to hotellaspiaggia@libero.it and we will get in touch as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot for your interest and hope to have you as a Guest,

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a lovely time in the Cinque Terre and the staff at Hotel La Spiaggia really helped us out during our stay there. On the first night, we arrived and were welcomed by a glass of the house wine. The hotel owner made us a dinner reservation and then helped us determine which of the hiking trails would be most suitable for our short stay in the CT. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was tasty, and the rooms were just what we needed. Since my friend and I were the only "non-couples" on our trip, we opted for the non sea view room, but even it had a lovely view of the hillside. Overall, we had a great experience and they even sent us a Christmas card!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

In addition to the perfect location and great breakfasts, here are some more specific interactions that made our stay at La Spiaggia one of the most outstanding that we've had...
- We walked from the train station with our bags, entered the door of the hotel, and were greeted with, "Welcome! Come in, put your bags down, and have a glass of wine!" Andrea then took the time to tell us about the area, gave us excellent restaurant recommendations in Monterossa, and even ideas for what turned out to be some incredible out-of-way, truly Italian restaurants in Siena and Milan.
- Whenever we asked about ANYTHING, Andrea either told us about it or took the time to find out exactly what we needed. We wondered about the large, citron fruits and he sent his son to his orchard to bring us some to try!

We have stayed here twice and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Andrea and his staff have always proved to be kind, caring, and incredibly knowledgeable hosts.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that face the sea -- very soothing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debora_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
613 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Address: Via Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $153 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Spiaggia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing