We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite hotels EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Spiaggia
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our favorite hotels EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I really can't say enough about the people at this hotel... super friendly and go-completely-out-of-their-way helpful!!!! Ella is 100% as advertised! I've traveled all over the world and stayed in 5-star hotels and she provided the most genuine, thoughtful service I've ever received. The rooms are large and comfortable by European standards and nice and clean, of course. The location can't be beat for the beach and train station but it is about a 10 min walk to the old town if you're concerned about that. We've stayed several places in Europe and this is seriously one of our favorite. If you are having trouble deciding where to stay please support these wonderful people at this great hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    166
    52
    29
    28
See reviews for
130
405
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I'm not going to go into too many details on hotels but basically I can tell you this.

Pros - It was clean, the service was really nice, the overall atmosphere of the hotel was nice, the location was outstanding, the view from our balcony was awesome!

Cons - breakfast was basic but included, internet was pretty horrible and went out in the room when we used it

All in all, I really enjoyed the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggbert34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel La Spiaggia for 5 nights September of 2012. Other than being surprised that only cash was accepted for payment we had a lovely stay! We were greeted by sweet Ella...a true gem who understands the meaning of customer service! I've not met anyone who works harder to ensure you enjoy your stay! From restaurant recommendations to day trips to boating excursions Ella did not disappoint! She truly went above and beyond....THANKS, ELLA!!

The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Love having the beach right outside the front door! As are wonderful bakeries, coffee shops and beachfront dining galore.
We enjoyed a lovely vacation!

Just one tip to US travelers to this area.....there are limited ATMs that accept US CC's with the microchips (to prevent fraud), and most establishments accept only cash along these 5 charming villages. Just plan ahead, take plenty of cash and you'll have a most enjoyable stay!
It's a magical place......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifezegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSpiaggia, Proprietario at Hotel La Spiaggia, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Customer,
we are extremely pleased of the comments that you wrote about our hotel on TripAdvisor.
The only thing I have to object is that you were surprised that we only take cash for payment.
A part from the fact that we also take any currency, personal cheques and travellers' cheques, in the letters that we exchanged at time of booking if you read them properly you'll find that we do specify that we don't accept credit cards as a mean of payment.
The reason why I do no take cc is that I do not consider fair that the banks in Italy charges 2.50 % commissions while our colleagues in Spain they are charged only 0,30 %.
Grateful for what you wrote,
Ciao
A. Poggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a great find! Located a few doors down from the train-- right on the beach. You are in the new part of Monterosso-- I found the maps a bit confusing before I went but it's easy to navigate once you get there. Andrea was an awesome host-- and a personal tour guide too. Just tell him where you want to go and he'll give you the inside tips. Skip the ferry to Portofino-- take Andrea's route to Portofino-- you won't regret it. The advice we got from him and Maria were better than any concierge! The rooms are simple but clean and reasonable for beachfront. Best of all- they exchange money at the front desk at bank rates. VERY convenient! When we come back to Monterosso (and we will), we are staying here!

Room Tip: We booked late and woudl have loved a room in front with a balcony. Our partial seaview had two wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is as much like a home as a hotel. From the moment you walk in you are likely to be greeted by Andrea or Ella with a glass or two of his wine from his vines. You are instantly taken under wing and given any recommendations you need from restaurants to travel, even in other places like Lake Como. Leave no doubt that Andrea runs the show. He even convinced one man that the man's daughter had called and left a message for him after he told Andrea he had no daughters. All his recommendations are good and from the heart and detailed to the point there is little room for error. The staff especially Ella are very gracious and helpful. Rooms are good and clean but not fancy. Showers were barely adequate. AC was poor to non- existent. Location was excellent. Miky resturant next door was the best I have had in all of Europe. To be honest without Andrea and his staff this would be just another hotel. But because of him and his staff it is a great place to stay. Thanks for all the good recommendations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Med view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEX49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August. The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location and is a fun family-run hotel (read cash-only). We were fortunate enough to stay in room 27 which has a large private terrace overlooking the Liguori Sea just a block from the train station. Ella, the receptionist, welcomed us with a glass of chilled white wine while she completed the check-in process. Both she and Signore Poggi were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, Cinque Terre park recommendations and train schedules. The room was small and clean with no A/C (which was okay with the terrace door open and the provided fan), but it was the terrace which was amazing. In the hot afternoons we would retreat to the terrace with a bottle of wine (the hotel provided an opener and glasses) and enjoy the scenery and the breeze. La Dolce Vita!

Room Tip: Opt for the terrace room--don't let the no air-conditioning dissuade you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in early September. We were welcomed with the offer of a glass of wine and taken to our room. We had a small sea view room with no balcony, very clean. Staff were very helpful with directions, train times, eating places - truly fantastic customer service. Hotel is close to the station, right opposite the beach - perfect location. Would highly recommend a stay here, we would definitely return in the future. On departure, we received a bottle of wine and given recommendations of restaurants to eat in Florence and Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Property: Hotel La Spiaggia
Address: Via Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Spiaggia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing