We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very well presented”
Review of L'Antica Terrazza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Antica Terrazza
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, very well presented”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our party of 2 couples stayed here in Sept 2011. Dealing with Jon and Raffaella via email was so easy. Jon was standing in the doorway ready to welcome us upon arrival. Very close to the entry to Monterosso town - easy walk. If you have a car, parking is easy to find - just avoid the blue lines (for local or short-stay paying); walk further up the hill and park in white line spaces for free. Bit of a hike but drop your luggage off at the bottom and then go and park the car - quite safe.

Our rooms were up 1 flight of stairs - very clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the street below. A lovely continental breakfast was served onsite for 5 euros but there is no shortage of eateries in the town. Very pretty town - both an old part and new part, with a beautiful harbour.

The B & B had a very pretty terrace on the rooftop - there was a drinks fridge, glasses etc - and enjoying pre-dinner drinks with antipasto was just heaven before venturing out for a seafood dinner - and more wonderful 'house wine' - never had a dodgy drop of this all over northern Italy - and it's so cheap.

Train is very handy to take you up and down the Cinque Terra and even to Pisa. We started our walk from Corniglia - Vernazza - Monterosso; quite steep in parts but spectacularly picturesque - that's why you are there isn't it??!! Going the other way, the initial steep climb from Monterosso we were warned about, and really felt for the folk who struggled up as we were going down - be warned!

Vernazza is a lovely little town with a harbour - best pizza in whole of our trip was eaten, freshly made, from an eatery on the corner of the street where the Corniglia walk crosses over to join the Monterosso walk - look out for it.

Loved our trip to the Cinque Terra and would highly recommend Monterosso - bit bigger, and flatter - and L'Antica Terrazza.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor were great - with balconies overlooking the street and wine bar below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    36
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
155
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed with my husband for two nights in September. L'Antica Terrazza is a small B&B, very centrally located in old town Monterosso, about a ten minute walk from the train station (no steep hills or stairs). I booked through e-mail, received quick responses, and a map showing the location of the B&B. The rooms are one or two flights up - ours was on the lower floor, not large, but very clean and cheerful, and a bathroom with plenty of hot water and shower pressure. The weather was really warm, and the air-conditioning control was in the room and worked perfectly. There was noise from a band playing outdoors in a nearby square during the first evening until about 11pm or a little later, but all was quiet the second night. Breakfast was juice and the usual coffees, cereal, and good pastries, and served on a ground floor room between 8:30 and 10:30am. For us, the biggest positive of this B&B was the lovely terrace, facing a small square. The second night we were there, my husband and I decided to take a break from restaurants, bought a pizza and bottle of local wine, and took them up to the terrace. The owners of the B&B are a young couple and they leave candles and glasses..., and we had one of the most peaceful and relaxing meals of our trip. As we were finishing, a religious procession walked through the square - priests and adults and children, dressed in black, carrying a cross and statues to a nearby church. I felt like we were watching something that had taken place right there for hundreds of years, something that I had not expected to experience in a seaside town where we had come to hike. And I was very happy we had the perfect place to watch it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The B&B is set in a wonderful location tucked between grocers brimming with Italian fare and cafes filling the air with music. We stayed 2 nights and absolutely loved having wine and limoncello on the terrace - the perfect setting for meeting new friends traveling the world. The rooms are small, as to be expected, with good sized bathrooms. The focaccia bread served with breakfast is absolutely delicious! Raffaella & Jon are very hospitable and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this B&B to my closest friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amtuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this B&B last September while on a trip to Italy. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we would have stayed a week. My first advice is if you are visiting Monterosso, stay at least 3 nights, but try to stay more. This region of Italy is so beautiful. From the moment we got off of the train, we were in heaven. It had just rained and was cloudy and misty and so enchanting. The train will drop you off in the new Monterosso and the old Monterosso where the B&B is located is just a short walk. L'Antica Terrazza is a really nice B&B with everything that you need. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the terrace is so nice. Our room had a queen bed and private bathroom. I think there is the option for a shared bathroom, because I saw another bathroom in the hallway that wasn't connected to a guestroom. The breakfast at the B&B is simple, but just what you need in the morning. The shared terrace is really nice. My husband would get wine, cheese, and salami from the market right underneath the B&B and we would enjoy it on the terrace. We met some other travelers vacationing from Norway and Canada that were very nice. The location is great. It's in the middle of the village surrounded by shops, bars, restaurants. There is a fun American Bar right across the street.

When you are in Monterrosso, try to enjoy as much seafood as possible! It was so good there! We had some of our best meals in the Cinque Terre and we traveled all over Italy.

Have fun and enjoy the beauty of Monterosso and the rest of the villages in the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Ask for a private bathroom and pay cash to save more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucktowncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in July 2011. The B and B is located right in the heart of the old part of Monterosso al Mare, which in my opinion is the best spot to stay in Cinque Terre. We stayed in Aria on the first floor. The room is small, but that is to be expected in this town, where real estate is at a premium. Our room had lovely french doors that opened up to overlook the laneway outside. Provided these were closed, noise at night wasn't really an issue.
The terrace is beautiful and I recommend getting a take away pizza and some wine and spending an evening up there relaxing.
The B and B is in a great location, maybe 150m from the beach. The beach was very crowded, but it was peak season so that is to be expected.
Cinque Terre is stunning. We walked to Vernazza and Corniglia on one day and caught the train back. The walk has amazing views, however it is quite steep and our stop for a swim in Vernazza was definitely a good idea.
Breakfast is served downstairs and has the usual cereal, croissant, bread options. The only improvement that could be made is having wifi, however there is an internet place just around the corner. Also, reception is only there during certain hours, which you will need to be aware of for when you try to check in.
The area of Cinque Terre and the great central location and terrace of L'Antica Terrazza made this a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenandBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in September and loved it. The B&B is located right in town and convenient to all attractions and you can walk (about 10-15 min) to the train station. Our room was small but with a balcony that we used. Loved the terrace to have a glass of wine and watch the street below. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at B & B L’Ántica Terrazza in the truly beautiful Monterosso .
We arrived via train from Venice (changing in Milan). Whilst it took about 15 mins walking dragging wheelie suitcases, up an incline, the journey was interrupted constantly due to the spectacular views. So the 15 mins turned into 30 quite quickly.
The B & B is situated right in town. Our room was not large (land is expensive in this area) it was big enough. However the top floor balcony more than compensated for a smaller room. We spent quite some time each evening sitting up here, sipping white wine and watching the sunset and the day tourists visiting and then leaving, and the cafes setting up for dinner.
The only negative for us was no internet. There was an internet cafe just minutes from the B & B. The other small annoyance was the noise. We stayed over a weekend and it was noisy until the late hours and then noisy again when the shop keepers started to clean and set up for the days trading very early. And you wouldn’t believe how noisy those wheelie suitcase wheels are over cobble stones in the early hours of the morning. But that is the price one pays to stay right in the thick of things.
Jon was a complete delight to deal with. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the region. He gave us some great restaurant suggestions too.
We spent 2 full days walking the trails and it was fantastic. We were there in May and struck perfect weather. The first day we walked from Monterrosso (village 1) to the second village. The walk was challenging at times but if a bit fit very achievable. We had a bite to eat at village 2 and a quick look around and then walked to village 3. We caught the local train back to Monterosso in the early afternoon. Both walks were packed with the most spectacular views. Take time to stop and enjoy the views during the walks as often the trails are so narrow you spend all your time and energy just walking, letting people pass or passing groups yourself that have stopped to catch their breath.
After a days walking being able to relax on the patio was just perfect. And knowing there were numerous restaurants to choose for dinner just a short stagger from the B & B patio was very welcome indeed.
The second day we caught the local train to the 5th village and walked the easy board walk to village 4. This was quite crowded but again truly outstanding visually. The trail from village 4 to 3 was closed due to land slides but we were in the walking mood. We tried to find out exactly how difficult and how far the inland route was between village 4 and 3 but could only obtain vague information. As it was a gorgeous day and we had snacks and water we decided to risk it and tackled a very challenging but again visually awesome alternate route to village 3. We did pass a some people on the walk that really should not have tackled it, they looked in a fairly distressed state. Make sure you don’t tackle more than your fitness level allows. But if you are fit and healthy is well worth the effort. This trail was very steep and had many, many steps and we met few people on it. Made us feel like we had this bit of paradise to ourselves. Sometimes the path was not well marked and at the end of the walk there was an outdoor cafe that was doing a very brisk trade, full of very tired and weary walkers all sitting with big glasses of wine or large cool beers. An exhausting but great day. Unfortunately the walk to the train station involved many steps, so save a bit of energy for that.
Of all the places we visited in Italy during our month’s visit this was one of the most beautiful and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Mesco
Hotel Punta Mesco
#11 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antica Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Terrazza

Property: L'Antica Terrazza
Address: Via San Martino 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antica Terrazza is a small and cosy Bed & Breakfast located in the middle of the historic center of Monterosso al Mare in Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'Antica Terrazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Terrazza Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
L'Antica Terrazza Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing